Chevron Left
Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace に戻る

ピッツバーグ大学(University of Pittsburgh) による Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
442件の評価
123件のレビュー

コースについて

What is sex? What is gender? What is sexuality? What do we mean by LGBTQIA? How are these concepts related to the workplace? How have our understandings of these terms changed over time, and how have these changes impacted work and culture? To help you answer these important questions, this course will introduce you to the exciting field of gender, sexuality, and women's studies, and to LGBTQIA identities. We will use a range of interdisciplinary concepts, tools, and methods to understand and analyze how identity shapes our experiences in culture and in the workplace. Because we all live with gender expectations, this course is crucial for any profession, and for understanding the world around us. Also, you will learn key concepts that will help you to interpret and understand the world we share....

人気のレビュー

J

May 04, 2020

That was an excellent course. The video lectures and the reading materials were really good and I could learn a lot of new things from this course. Thank you very much for this eyeopening course.

AD

Jan 26, 2018

Short but a beautifully concise course on understanding gender and sexuality. It also gives one tools to make the workplace an inclusive environment for LGBTQIA, and eradicate discrimination.

フィルター:

Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace: 1 - 25 / 122 レビュー

by Valeriy T

Dec 23, 2018

Even though this course is in the Social Sciences section there is more art than science in it. Most of the statements made in this course don't provide relevant research proving their validity. For example, one of the linked articles in the course mentions that homophobia at workplace decreases productivity, but no link to proof is provided. It would be great to have the link to this research, so that we can, for example, compare the cost of productivity decline caused by homophobia with cost of anti-homophobia training. Without this proof the rest of the course loses its value and the whole existence of this course feels redundant - why should I spend a lot of my resources on getting opinions of random people about this topic if I can get it for free by googling relevant keywords? It being a course implies a higher level of scientific research done and linked than the one provided.

by ammar a

Dec 28, 2018

The course is a rights movement rather than an academic approach towards the topic.The instructors use a nice language to discuss the issues but present them in a bias way which is the reason I don't feel like it's an academic course.

by Marvin H

May 10, 2020

I'm studying Social Work in Germany and was always interested in LGBTQIA* topics regarding the workplace. I have chosen this course in times of COVID-19, because I had enough time between my regular classes, and because I'm absolving an internship, in which people of the LGBTQIA* community are the clients with the main focus us. Due to the fact that almost all employees at the company are LGBTQIA*, it felt important to me to learn, especially now, more about the topic and was happy to find a course like this here on coursera. I absolutely recommend this course to everyone, who wants to increase the knowledge about the importance of Gender and Sexuality in life with a special focus on Diversity and Inclusion in the workplace, and for those who want to widen their horizon to look our Gender and Sexuality is differently seen in various cultures. I already miss both teachers. They did a totally good job and keep my motivation to fulfill this course alive. Thank you for everything.

by Edward G

Sep 15, 2020

This course and the two instructors have provided me such a wonderful education into the seriousness of the LGBTQIA people in which I am a proud member. We often do not realize the plight of our peers if it does not directly impact us, this course and the content covered is a must for everyone. We have a responsibility to ensure we are educated and understanding of our roles and responsibilities within the community. I highly recommend this course not only to the LGBTQIA people but to everyone who can stand for some self improvement.

by Paulo H B

May 20, 2020

This course was amazing!!

I really loved since the beginning. The language was simple and clear.

It was really good to increase and improve more my knowledge about Gender and Sexuality and also knowing that we still have a lot or work to be done around the world! It added a lot of value to my personal and professional life. Specially because I'm a member of Diversity team in the company that I work at.

Congratulation to Julie and Susan for preparing this awesome material in order to share to the world!

by Kim N C

Jun 21, 2017

This course is helpful especially if you are passionate in Gender Development and Women Studies. It will heighten your awareness and knowledge on various sexual orientation, gender identity, and expression issues and cases. For others, it might be an "easy A" course, but if you will start learning the program, you will realize sooner that your level of understanding is still in the surface. This is a good start in having in-depth study on Gender and Development.

by Carlos C

Sep 11, 2017

A course that gave me a lot of information regarding the classification and resources about LGBTQIA.

The work associated to the course is very appealing since it is composed, aside from the easy quizes, of commentaries to workplace situations simulating a regular company that is confronting LGBT issues and you have to give your opinion and write memos as to how to solve these situations.

Great teachers

by Anmol K

Mar 11, 2020

This course really changed my perspective of sex, gender and sexuality.

I now know a great deal of information about sex and gender and sexual orientations and preferences. I also came to know about LGBTQIA people and how we can make our workplaces more inclusive and free from discrimination.

Thank you very much to the two great educators of this course.

by alankrita s

Sep 18, 2017

VERY WELL DESIGNED COURSE, EACH LECTURE WELL RESEARCHED AND FOCUSSED...

BOTH FACULTY DELIVERED THEIR RESPECTIVE SESSIONS IN AN ARTICULATE MANNER, FORCING ONE TO THINK AND DEBATE. PRESENTED VERY PROVOCATIVE IDEAS IN A BALANCED MANNER WITH EVIDENCE AND REASONING.

SOME MORE READINGS WOULD HAVE BEEN GOOD

by sapna

May 10, 2020

absolutely amazing course. it was enriching, gave me a lot of new information and assignments don't only test your knowledge but test how you can apply the information you have learnt in different scenarios. would 100% recommend even if you just want to gain more information about the topic.

by Rodrigo F M C

Apr 08, 2020

This course is the best and most current on the subject of "genders and sexualities". The teachers are excellent, and the content is very chosen. My understanding of the subject has been expanded and it will certainly help me in the future in my clinical-psychological care.

by Ekata L

Aug 09, 2017

I am rating this after my first week and I must comment that this is an informative, interesting, and eye-opening course which I personally will highly recommend. As a student of social sciences with an inclination towards gender studies, this course is of great help to me.

by Priya K

May 02, 2020

A big Thank You. An excellent course, if you want happiness in learning and knowing more, this course can provide you more by excellent presentations, videos, case studies and much more. It is worth to spend your valuable time in learning this course.

by Varnika D

Aug 29, 2020

This course is a must do for not only students and learners but for everyone living i the contemporary world. This course has been my best companion and has helped me to gain quality knowledge with fun lectures and great assessments.

by Jeremy M

Jan 15, 2019

Wonderful course would easily recommend it to colleagues and students entering any fields of study. Took a lot from this course and again would recommend it to anyone whose looking to improve there ability to be human in this world.

by Alissa A C

Sep 14, 2017

Very informative course! I learned a lot about LGBTQIA individuals, how they are discriminated in the workplace, and how to create a better, more productive workspace that includes all types of different people!

by DEVI S

Apr 08, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. It wasa great learning experience. All the sessions were well structured.

The course assignments were also thought provoking. Thanks for offering such an interstingc ourse

by Joji J P

May 04, 2020

That was an excellent course. The video lectures and the reading materials were really good and I could learn a lot of new things from this course. Thank you very much for this eyeopening course.

by Abhishek D

Jan 26, 2018

Short but a beautifully concise course on understanding gender and sexuality. It also gives one tools to make the workplace an inclusive environment for LGBTQIA, and eradicate discrimination.

by Clifford C A

Jun 18, 2019

Loved the course. Every term was explained in a detailed manner. It was an eye opener for someone who lived his entire life in a heterosexual setup. Learned a lot of things then I expected.

by Bryant S

Feb 05, 2018

Get to hear about LGBTQIA* community and how they are critical in the workforce. You learn about resources to use in the workforce and ways to make the workforce more diverse and inclusive.

by Amanda L d S B

Jul 03, 2020

The course has an extremely important theme and well trained teachers who brought an unforgettable learning experience. Thanks for the subtitles in Portuguese and for the experience!

by Colt N

May 08, 2020

Really loved the lectureers and the content provided. Even though I thought I knew a lot about this topic I really gained a better sense of Gender and Sexuality from this course.

by Tan B A

Sep 18, 2017

A very nice lecture with small brief informations everything about gender and sexuality issues while providing good supplimentary readings to make the topics more comprehensible.

by Azalea R A

Jun 17, 2020

Muchas gracias por compartir esta información en el curso!

Me parece que es un curso introductorio a la diversidad en género y sexualidad que invita a profundizar en el tema