Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part Two に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part Two の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
426件の評価

コースについて

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

人気のレビュー

SH

2020年9月29日

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

AP

2021年2月12日

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part Two: 26 - 50 / 109 レビュー

by Carrie F

2017年7月3日

So much fun! I grew up in the 80s, so this second half of the class has been like memory lane for me. I'm a teacher on summer vacation, and I can't think of a better way to spend it than learning about rock and roll!

by Patrick W

2022年2月14日

Really interesting course especially if you have done part 1. Puts the different styles of popular music into perspective and shows links between styles that you may not have thought of. Presented really engagingly.

by susan.hayday@btinternet.com

2020年9月30日

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

by Gustavo N S

2019年12月26日

I really enjoy with this course, the topics were very informative and interesting, with a lot of good examples and information about bands, styles and ages. I recommend the course 100%.

by Adithya P

2021年2月13日

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

by Ammar M H

2015年12月19日

Amazing course, very academic and objective and yet extremely enjoyable. I'm very grateful for coursera an Prof Covach who made it available and easily accessible.

by Ray W

2018年8月16日

Love these two courses.I new alot of the topics but was suprised with a few of the topics.very well organized and understandible.Thanks for a fun course.

by JR L

2020年6月2日

This was a fun course and motivates to seek out Part One of the History of Rock. The instructor did a great job to take us on this historical journey.

by Ferdinand P

2018年3月18日

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

by Randall L

2015年10月7日

Very interesting information. I lived through a lot of this material so it was doubly interesting. Very thorough, unbiased and informative.

by jim t

2020年4月21日

this is a great course. i learned a great deal about the history and gained a better understanding of the music i enjoy.

thank you

by Gregg H

2016年6月24日

A great course especially if you follow along with the book and use the extra videos and music links from the book's website.

by Christos N

2020年7月7日

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

by Saeideh A

2017年3月10日

Loved and truly enjoyed this course! I kind of feel sad it ended. Huge thanks to John Covach for his great enthusiasm.

by Shirley K

2020年7月13日

what a fun course! brought me back to the birth of metal and hair bands . thank you so much for doing this course!!

by Carlos

2021年9月24日

It was really fun to know all the faces of Rock and Roll, very interesting and amazing

by Koos J

2017年9月20日

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

by Melanie L

2020年12月1日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned so much. The professor is excellent.

by Andrew G

2015年8月29日

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed the content and the teachers style in delivery.

by Travis W

2017年7月24日

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

by 동현 김

2017年12月23日

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

by Fear A

2017年5月5日

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!

by Joy S

2016年3月9日

Love this instructor. Want more. Wish he could play music clips.

by Emilio V

2019年2月3日

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

by Riffka S

2021年10月17日

This was perfect, I strongly recommend this course to everyone!