Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,690件の評価
487件のレビュー

コースについて

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

人気のレビュー

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS

Mar 22, 2019

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

フィルター:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics: 226 - 250 / 479 レビュー

by Mario A L G

Jun 24, 2016

It is a very good Introduction for those of Us that know nothing of Linguistics. I was very happy to take it.

by Shaun M P

May 26, 2016

great enthusiasm and thought provoking, I look forward to more linguistics courses from Universiteit Leiden!

by Kian T

Jun 16, 2020

that was amazing! i really enjoyed this course and i love linguistics more than before. thank you. good job

by Lukasz D

Jan 22, 2018

It was a pure pleasure to study linguistics in Leiden University. I recommend the course to all and sundry.

by Ron A

Feb 08, 2020

Fantastic course! very good explanations, mind-opening. discovering new fields, ideas, and methodologies.

by Diana F

Feb 25, 2020

An interesting course with a good learning environment. I miss already the teacher, and Martin and Inge!

by Akhilesh S

Aug 09, 2018

This is a wonderful and fun course. A must for anyone interested to know about the study of linguistics.

by bokyeong k

Aug 17, 2017

Week 3 test was quite complicated, so I spent a lot of time, but it was worthy. Thanks for nice videos.

by Jose C

Jul 03, 2017

Excepcional. Aprendí muchísimo. Una gran guía al mundo de la lingüística con actividades muy dinámicas.

by Isabelle K

Apr 11, 2020

Energetic, engaging and thorough presentation of the topic and sub-topics by Professor van Oostendorp.

by Hogenishi

Mar 08, 2020

The course was so interesting and beneficial.

I can recommend this course to every linguistic beginner!

by Saleh A

Sep 08, 2019

It was my 1st course in couesera and it was very helpful course. It taught me a lot about languages.

by Shaoyun H

Sep 09, 2017

Love this fabulous course! Although sometimes the discussion questions are a bit hard to comprehend.

by Sebastian R B

Jul 08, 2020

An excellent course for anyone who loves languages and wants to learn more about how do they work.

by Georgina W

Nov 11, 2019

Full of interesting information. I learned a lot in this course and was challenged by the quizzes.

by Pallavi K

Jul 08, 2017

Brilliant Course! I wish it had an advanced level or Masters level, I would really want to join!

by Margaret F

Sep 22, 2020

This course was totally fascinating. I want to do more! Thanks so much for making it available.

by Mustapha E A

Jun 03, 2020

It is a useful course for linguistic students or for whom are interested in learning languages.

by Adams O M A

Jul 30, 2019

this course was awesome, very illustrative and constructing, congratulations to the instructors

by Wessam O A

Jul 03, 2020

Informative course, I really enjoyed learning about linguistics since it's a new topic to me.

by Leon E V A

Jun 12, 2017

Great course, I learned a lot and now I'm very interested in learning more about linguistics.

by Diana S

Feb 28, 2017

Exceeded all my expectations! This is a wonderful MOOC for anyone interested in Linguistics.

by Xinyao Z

Apr 22, 2019

it's really helpful even for those who already have some basic knowledge of Linguistics! :D

by Dorian G

Aug 28, 2016

I shall say it's a perfect introduction course for one who's interested in linguistic : )))

by Kaia L

Jun 05, 2018

This was a fantastic intro to linguistics. The interviews particularly were exceptional.