Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada に戻る

アルバータ大学(University of Alberta) による Indigenous Canada の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
18,744件の評価

コースについて

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

人気のレビュー

JS

2020年10月21日

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

EG

2021年5月27日

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

フィルター:

Indigenous Canada: 6776 - 6800 / 6,909 レビュー

by Debbie B

2021年3月21日

I learned so much.

by cory

2021年4月4日

Very informative.

by Janelle R

2021年1月2日

Very informative!

by Dawn K

2020年12月5日

Very informative!

by Wendy H

2020年11月14日

Excellent course!

by shyla f

2020年10月4日

Very informative.

by Barb S

2018年4月4日

Very informative!

by Jeff B

2022年1月25日

very informative

by Marguerite S

2021年3月14日

Very informative

by Michelle A

2022年8月13日

well presented

by BEER B S G

2022年1月10日

Best Learnings

by Sanatan D G

2022年7月26日

Great course!

by Hannah B

2020年3月25日

Great content

by Chris A

2022年4月27日

great course

by Colin M

2018年8月18日

Informative

by Alice H

2020年9月5日

Very good.

by Lesley B

2020年8月10日

Thank you!

by Breana P

2022年6月19日

good info

by Michael A O

2020年10月26日

Engaging.

by Melissa K

2022年4月11日

by Dean T

2020年12月13日

T

by Ernie G

2021年11月2日

Course was very informative and full of information.

It became a course of how the victim's were exploited and continue to be and how they suffer today, without offering solutions to the problems.

Given today October 2021, with all the news of the atrocities of the Residential Schools, this course would take a graver view of the indigenous peoples position, without offering solutions.

Solutions are what allow errors and mistakes to be dealt with and for societies to move forward. Continuation of the past solves nothing. What can be done to allow the healing to to commence?

I took this course hoping to gain an understanding of what is wrong, at the very beginning of it that information was provided, and throughout the course examples of how indigenous people are treated and segregated was given. What is the solution from the indigenous point of view?

I am very thankful that the indigenous community is gravely concerned about the land and the environment, their stories hold get truths and meanings, this course showed that and reenforced my thoughts.

However what I gather from this is that the indigenous community want to have special compensations and exemptions. In a society it does not work it becomes chaos. Tradition and culture are very important to all, but granting individual groups special exemptions benefits no one. What I got from this course is that indigenous people want exemptions and compensation for past errors. But in what form?

A society must agree to work together as a unit or like paddling a canoe, if both people are not paddling in the same direction nothing is accomplished. Most definitely traditions and culture need to be maintained (the error of residential schools) but we must work together, we must all contribute equally in some manner, much like a marriage we all need to perform the role and tasks of what we are good at.

Thank you for the course I enjoyed the information and knowledge.

by Keith S

2020年11月10日

The course is a good overview but needs some polishing to be great.

Several questions in the quizes were confusing and did not match with the readings. Some quiz questions asked something like "What was THE issue..." but when you looked at the readings there might be two or three issues raised and the answer options included versions of more than one. When you get a quiz question wrong, suggesting that you go back and look things up is not very helpful. A better quiz would have a specific reference (either for the correct answer or for the wrong options) that could then direct the student to the information. This cross linking would also ensure that quiz questions and choices matched with material in the course.

There was no clear way to go back and redo a quiz but it says we can do re-takes.

Some data is wrong, e.g., Calgary Olympics were not in 1986 they were in 1988. I didn't keep track of everything but between grammatical errors and factual errors, I suggest that someone go through the course and make corrections.

I live in Treaty 6 and 7 areas and the course was heavily weighted to Eastern Canada and not particularly strong in Western Canadian experiences.

The sections referencing the case law were probably the strongest pieces of the course in both material and clarity.

by Mark S

2021年9月15日

I enrolled in this course to better understand the history and contemporary issues of Canada's indigenous peoples so that I can be better informed and more supportive.  When the course stuck with discussing facts (versus pointed opinions),  I felt that I was gaining a greater appreciation of our sad history; I enjoyed the content and I was supportive of what was being discussed. 

What was truly distracting and irritating was the ongoing victim versus oppressor theme.  I can sympathize with that theme -- and I get it -- but  to repeat it over and over without offering any ideas on how to move forward is a great disservice to what this course could have been and I was hoping for.  I would ask how you expect a person that voluntarily devotes the time and to learn to feel welcome when I am referred to as a settler, a colonialist, a racist, a misogynist, a paternalist, a heteropatriarch, a capitalist, a subsummator, and a genocidal instrument over and over throughout the classes? 

Sadder still is that over the twelve sections very little was conveyed in terms of how WE can move forward in the future to make our country a better place to live for ALL of us.  Maybe that's irrelevant to a primer course?