Chevron Left
Industrial Biotechnology に戻る

マンチェスター大学(University of Manchester) による Industrial Biotechnology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,521件の評価
592件のレビュー

コースについて

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

人気のレビュー

MK

2021年3月5日

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

2020年4月28日

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

フィルター:

Industrial Biotechnology: 576 - 600 / 603 レビュー

by Karthika R N

2021年6月13日

by Zuhayr M

2020年6月9日

This is my 2nd online course so I will be comparing with that.

This felt more like lecturers were given to talk straight out of notes, didn't feel like natural.

1 week has only 1 tests with massive amount of info for only 12 questions. 2-3 normal test after a few modules in the middle of week would be better (this tests don't count in graded section but only to flesh out more question opportunity) (this was the structure in my earlier MOOC)

by Bedros B

2020年11月8日

I wouldn't say this is a beginner course. It is quite challenging for beginners. I do like the educational material itself. It is very insightful. The lectures are a little dull (instructors are mostly reading off of slides which isn't too engaging). Overall, I struggled and learned a lot.

by Erik W

2021年3月22日

Lot of different info was presented, making it informative but less suited to my interests than expected.

Main drawback, however, was that the course material was sometimes quite advanced (i.m.h.o.) while the assessment was really, really easy.

by Tomas T

2021年5月16日

Nice introduction to industrial biotech. The last part focused a bit too much on the therapeutically part "what do the things produced do", when I personally am interested in the production part "how products are produced at scale"

by Paul R N

2020年4月20日

The course gives an good overview - the first weeks were not as good as the last part of the course. The presenting style (especially in the first weeks) is quite old fashion. Nevertheless I am happy that I attended this course.

by ZAKIE A

2020年9月16日

Se hicieron un poco densos los módulos del medio, como que mucha fórmula química, ejemplos y no mucho más. Está bueno en sí el curso pero podría ser bastante más dinámico

by Omika S

2022年2月9日

It is a good course but lacks many aspects!

Such as sense of interaction....N presentative-ness of the content and does amphasises on providing more explaination....

by Anik B

2020年9月19日

I think the lecture slides had too much information at the same time. If only the respective line or figure can be shown one at a time, it might be better.

Thank you

by Adrita S T

2020年5月17日

very informative & technical course...course material can be limited..& i did not get certificate after completing the course

by Emma K

2022年2月15日

Very nice materials but can be a little bit too technical to fast at some point. Overall a good course

by arev

2020年5月29日

Great opportunity to learn biotechnology ,it shifted my perspective on biology and chemical science.

by Manisha G

2020年8月14日

Some parts are really boring and exhaustive. The narration in some videos is too fast.

by Bhaskar Y

2020年11月27日

Interesting content but delivery of content was not engaging and lacked lustre

by adeshina A

2021年9月23日

Great!

by Siyang S

2022年2月25日

As a new graduate of biochemical engineering, I learn a lot of stuff in two weeks studys, but I have to give a low rate for this course. Not because this course is low quality, this course provide very informative content for the industrial biotechnologies, but most of the contents are not consistent. I assume this course mainly causes multiple professors and speakers to teach the divergence. Every lecturer has expertise in specific areas, and all of them provided a similar introduction to biotechnology and suddenly jumped into their expertise. And I have difficulty following some of the content even though my major is in biotechnology and system biology. This course is certainly not prepared for a beginner.

by Ganeshraj B

2020年8月22日

Pursue the course only if it is absolutely critical to your career. The professors have a high level of knowledge doubtlessly, but so many of them just ramble about, stutter continuously, have external disturbances in their audio, use lots of industrial lingo without explaining, or just plainly reading from the presentations.

There is a lot of knowledge to be obtained from this course, but the teaching experience of all but a few professors (Week 3, Week 5) is not up to par with rest of the courses on this platform.

by Осинкин В С

2022年3月26日

Курс даёт основу для понимания биотехнологии, как деятельности человека, но мне не понравилось, что мне не дают получить сертифиат о прохождении курса, из-за того, что я из России, я не могу оплатить, не могу обучаться, меня ущемляют как народ, как нацию, очень жаль, что приходится сталкиваться с таким, а в чём моя вина?! Я обычный человек, студент, желающий обучаться, быть конкурентноспособным, а для этого мне необходимо подтверждать свои заслуги, что я не могу сделать теперь.

by Antonio T Q

2020年7月15日

this course presents a difficulty to be followed in a closer way. I may have a good chemical description of the chemichal process, but as long as this description is not with the draung or picture it is hard to be understood.

We need slides information to be printed along the explanation on the video. That is missing

by 121922301007 g

2020年6月19日

Very good course .but after completing the course I am unable to download my certificate tried out in many ways but couldn't download my certificate .

by Kishan K

2021年6月16日

little outdated

by Pouria R

2021年2月6日

Performance regarding the certificates has been abysmal. The university even cannot show their logos correctly on their certificate and you would see "MANCH" instead of the University of Manchester. After three months of finishing the course, the problem still persists due to the fact that the course organiser doesn't even bother themselves to correct the certificates.

by Mohamad H

2020年5月18日

I'm a chemical engineer and I felt it is not to follow the course. Details are not explained as it is specified for a certain category of students. I'm interested in the field of bioprocess engineering but this course did not satisfy my expectations.

by Chakka S

2020年5月22日

I completed my course but not getting certificate

by Prachi D

2020年9月27日

I didn't receive my certificate yet