Chevron Left
Online Games: Literature, New Media, and Narrative に戻る

ヴァンダービルト大学(Vanderbilt University) による Online Games: Literature, New Media, and Narrative の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
163件の評価

コースについて

Intended for both newcomers who are curious about video games and experienced gamers who want to reflect on their passion, this course will explore what happens to stories, paintings, and films when they become the basis of massively multiplayer online games. The Lord of the Rings trilogy—the novels, films, and video game—are our central example of how “remediation” transforms familiar stories as they move across media. The course is designed as a university-level English literature class—a multi-genre, multimedia tour of how literature, film, and games engage in the basic human activity of storytelling. Our journey will enable us to learn something about narrative theory, introduce us to some key topics in media studies and cover some of the history and theory of video games. It will also take us to some landmarks of romance literature, the neverending story that lies behind most fantasy games: J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Fellowship of the Ring, a bit of Edmund Spenser’s Faerie Queene, and poems by Keats, Tennyson, Browning, and others. Drawing on centuries of romance narrative conventions, the twenty-first century gaming industry has become a creative and economic powerhouse. It engages the talents of some of our brightest writers, artists, composers, computer engineers, game theorists, video producers, and marketing professionals, and in 2012, it generated an estimated $64 billion in revenue. Anyone interested in today’s culture needs to be conversant with the ways this new medium is altering our understanding of stories. Join me as we set out on an intellectual adventure, the quest to discover the cultural heritage of online games....

人気のレビュー

GD

2016年6月16日

An interesting course for anyone who likes lord of the rings online, fantasy (modern and presents), literature, video games, and/or movies! It's the ultimate combination for maximum nerddom!

AM

2018年2月19日

It was very interesting and fun. I liked the literature and examples of the workshop, it was very interesting and It did awaken a much slept passion for poetry and romance.

フィルター:

Online Games: Literature, New Media, and Narrative: 26 - 47 / 47 レビュー

by Nathan G

2017年9月28日

This was challenging and rewarding. I loved it. Very well done! Thank you!

by Liva K

2017年10月17日

An excellent insight in Literature through the modern medium of gaming.

by Andrea G P

2021年8月22日

Great course. I will never forget this wonderful experience!

by Danial S

2020年5月7日

It was an awesome experience!!! The course is great!!!

by Stiles W

2018年3月18日

I loved the fusion of literature, movies, and games

by Perizota

2016年6月17日

Excellent, informative, and fun!

by Kamen P

2020年12月8日

That is one great course!

by Atheena H

2020年9月23日

Great learning experience

by Caio T O P d C

2017年7月14日

A great experience!

by RIHA G

2020年9月17日

Loved the course!!

by Дмитрий Ф

2022年3月12日

G​reat cource!

by Paolo M V

2021年7月5日

love it

by Siebren T

2018年1月5日

As a long-time LotR fan and LotRO player, I enjoyed this course immensely. I had not read many of the great texts that are discussed in the course but I really enjoyed learning about the connections between the different media discussed, and also making my own connections in the various assignments!

by RIVI J

2020年9月21日

This was a wonderful course which I enjoyed. As someone who did not play video games I was completely unware of the rich narrative video games were capable offering. The course gave me new insights into the world of video and gave me a border view of how intertwined different media types are today.

by PEDRO H B

2017年5月21日

Quite an interesting course for those interested in the literature of Tolkien, especially for understanding how it was and can be translated to other mediums.

Come expecting an introductory course on literature and not a course about game design and narrative.

by Joris v B

2020年11月9日

Like a hobbit, this course may seem small and unassuming yet covers much more literary ground than one would expect. As someone with a game design background this has enriched me and I can fully recommend it.

by Karole-Anne C

2021年4月13日

Comprehensive, interesting course. Doesn’t rely heavily on gaming, so those who are more comfortable with literature are engaged. The video format added to the experience.

by Juan I O

2022年6月25日

Te explicna muy bien todos los puntos del la literatura adentro de los videojuegos, peliculas y poemas.

Muy buena descripcion en cada uno de los videos

by Renzo L P R

2022年5月22日

Buen curso

by Matt

2016年12月6日

The Course itself is fun. The videos are enjoyable. The subject matter is great. However the quizzes are way to hard. They ask to many questions with multiple answers and the online student is expected to know so much more materials that is probably taught in the actual class, and does not have access to. For that it becomes frustrating. Especially that the material is not easy to digest.

by João F D d S

2016年11月14日

.

by Israel P T B

2021年5月30日

no explica en que fallas y no tienen sentido las preguntas opciones múltiple