Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,217件の評価
337件のレビュー

コースについて

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

人気のレビュー

MN
2017年9月23日

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

SK
2020年11月20日

The Professor was really passionate and took you throug the miniscule details of modern history that made the world the way they are. this is truly a global history course and i enjoyed it very much

フィルター:

The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910: 51 - 75 / 336 レビュー

by Oriol G E

2019年8月3日

It has been an incredible journey, very interesting about the interactions between states, not only at the political level, but also cultural and economic. Explaining situations from the point of view of people and leaders of the time... Really worthwhile. Thank you so much for making this course available!

by Rob H

2018年1月27日

Basically everything from 20th century history that they should have taught us in Canadian Elementary and high school. Much better than learning about Canadian fur trade with natives for 12 years of education! This history is relevant to today and should be a staple of the Canadian education system!

by Jane B

2020年6月7日

Excellent course. Professor Philip Zelikow has an excellent presentation style, congenial with an even pace and tone. He successfully explains complex issues in a manner that is easy to understand. This course really helped me to better understand today's world based on a historical context.

by Maria F

2017年2月13日

Superb course on world history. I've just finished watching all the videos in this and the previous course. Twice.

The pace is wonderful. The blend of facts, anecdotes, notes, photographs, graphics, etc. keeps you hooked till the end.

Thanks for making this great course available to the world.

by WMChen

2019年11月9日

This course is excellent to provide analysis of situation, problems, choices made at the time of the world events. I have learned a great deal. As many other students in the forum responded, I do hope that some reading lists can be provided to support further reading on relevant topics.

by Ryan N

2017年9月23日

The professor is excellent. He is incredibly knowledgable, and was able to articulate specific moments in history through much wider lenses, describing broad trends that were happening, and other choices that key people in history could have made. I enjoyed this class tremendously.

by Andrew O

2018年4月18日

Like the first part this was outstanding. Even if you know a lot about history this will help you put more of it together and understand how international and local forces work to influence events. Rather than the usual focus on the what, there is an intense focus on the why.

by Chandrashekhar G

2020年7月31日

This is long course but compared to the vast amount time of history it covers, it can be considered short. I absolutely loved. It is not like traditional history course the approach is more analytical and it made it so much enjoyable and helped me understand more thoroughly.

by Saiprasad C

2021年3月24日

Thank you Professor Zelikow. It was an honour to be part of the course "The Modern World, Part Two".

The way you brought together Economics, Literature, Popular culture and of course History to help us make sense of the direction/s in which the world moved in this period.

by Helena K

2019年1月9日

Great information, engaging unbiased tutor (with the talent of a gifted storyteller) and at last one course that really talks about modern world history as a whole without just remaining and focusing on the WWI and II from only our western world's perspective. Thank you!

by Bryan C

2018年3月4日

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.

by Albana B

2020年5月5日

It was a real pleasure to participate in the course. Professor Zelikow has all the skills of an excellent teacher. He is not just demonstrating what he knows, he also guides our attention to sensitive and key points that clarify complex situations. A wonderful course!

by Parthiban N

2020年7月21日

suggest to issues a single unified certification for those who passed both parts or don't print the word Part One and two as both are covering different period of history. having printed part 1 and 2, almost suggests that ,there might be more parts than indicated.

by Neil H

2019年1月16日

An exceptional experience. I did it first back in 2014, with all the tests. I have since downloaded it and been through the videos for parts 1 and 2 several times. If you want a broad understanding of the last 250 years of history you will find this hard to beat.

by Brian J

2016年1月10日

This is an excellent course. It provides a very good overview of world history since 1910, highlighting key events and providing the context in which decisions affecting those events were made. It whets my appetite for a more detailed treatment of this period.

by Linda

2016年1月9日

It is a wonderful course. I highly recommend taking it soon after completing part one because of the way it builds on information described in part I. Information about money systems and thoughts the key world leaders thought at crossroads in history were fa

by Adriana A

2016年1月5日

Excellent course, professor Zelikow is an excellent teacher-speaker who not only explain the history but also helps us to understand why things happen, the situation, the choices made and it effects. I took the two parts, I highly recommend both of them.

by Steven C

2017年12月21日

A great, encompassing course on the global history of the past century. Professor Zelikow is a fantastic lecturer and has plenty of experience from his time as a diplomatic and government official. Highly recommended if you're interested in history.

by Owen W

2017年8月13日

Prof. Zelikow gave a thorough analysis of 20th century history up til 2013, sticking to analysis of causes, decisions, and consequences of people and states. This course gave me the context to understand, not just spectate, our current events today,

by Yvonne N

2020年6月2日

An excellent overview of 250 years of history by an engaging tutor that kept encouraging us to ask the reasons why things happen, the context that shapes events, and the choices countries take at a certain moment in history to solve their problems.

by Heike R

2019年12月9日

I'm really enjoying this course. There are so many new aspects and perspectives presented that challenge my understanding of the historical facts I have learnt so far. It's been an eyeopening experience. The presentation is also great.

Thanks you.

by RISHAV K

2020年8月21日

The second part, of course, was no less enlightening or engaging than part one. My sincere thanks to the University of Virginia and Professor Philip Zelikow. I shall recommend this course to anyone remotely interested in the history of the world.

by Raju G

2017年11月11日

Excellent Course. Recommended for everyone interested in international relations, public policy and of course any student of history. Unlike most history courses which try to recount events, this course puts emphasis on global historical trends.

by ahmed h

2015年9月29日

Great Instructor/Course from great University as great as the rest of Virginia university courses. Well respected Universities in addition to Duke, San Diego and Michigan Compared to the very short courses from other reputable Universities

by Dimitris S

2019年5月11日

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.