Chevron Left
Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
568件の評価
147件のレビュー

コースについて

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

人気のレビュー

TT

May 17, 2020

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

フィルター:

Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why: 51 - 75 / 143 レビュー

by Aoyu Z

May 21, 2017

that's useful, intriguing and fantastic!

by Alan d J G R

Jan 13, 2018

De los mejores cursos que he tomado.

by Bart S

Mar 01, 2016

do this course again, great course!

by Ekaterina K

Aug 03, 2017

Very good and interesting course

by Hanwen D

Sep 22, 2017

Very nice scheduled course!

by Tamara L

Jun 18, 2017

Amazing Course! Thank You!

by Claire G

Jun 17, 2020

very interesting course

by Stephanie T

May 20, 2017

Incredibly good :)

by Valeria S

Aug 09, 2016

Excellent course!

by David A M

Sep 04, 2020

Excelente curso.

by Harini

Jul 02, 2020

It's very useful

by Julio C G L

Aug 09, 2017

Excelente curso.

by Praveen K

Jul 27, 2017

A great Course !

by HERNAN S L

May 06, 2020

Great for me.

by Alfonso B A

Mar 06, 2020

very helpful

by Natouchka M F

Feb 26, 2020

Excellent 🤩

by Sarah G d S

Oct 03, 2018

Fantastic!

by Krisztian H

Jun 13, 2017

Very good!

by Juanjo R C

Dec 06, 2017

Genial :)

by Juan A C B

Nov 30, 2017

Excellent

by Hooman S

Mar 24, 2016

Fantastic

by Camila P

Sep 08, 2020

Accurate

by Miguel Á T

Jun 24, 2018

Great.

by Yana Y

Apr 28, 2020

The course was very interesting and created for me a new way of thinking about music. However some subjects were very difficult for me to understand. In simple words - things which I didn't know before (biology) I could hardly follow. And also the music theory - if I wasn't a professional musician, I couldn't have understood the explanations. I understood them, because I knew them.

by David B

Aug 03, 2016

Interesting and well presented. I completed the entire course, all lectures and assignments. However, week 1 is persistently listed as "overdue" even though it was actually completed ahead of time. Please remove from the "overdue" status which incessantly prompts me to join an upcoming new session. I enjoyed the course but this technical snafu is annoying.