Chevron Left
Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
191件の評価
44件のレビュー

コースについて

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Philosophy and Religion’, is the second of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series, and in this course we will ask important questions about the age-old debate between science and religion, such as: • What kind of conflicts are there between religion and science? • Does current cognitive science of religion effectively explain away God? • If there is a God who has made us so that we can know him, why do some people not believe? • Is belief in science also a kind of fundamentalism? • What makes us good at getting, giving, or sharing, knowledge? Is this different when it is religious knowledge? The first course in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series, 'Science and Philosophy' was launched early in 2017 and you can sign up to it at any time. The third course —‘Religion and Science’—will be launched early in 2018. Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion I: Science and Philosophy https://www.coursera.org/learn/philosophy-science-religion-1/ • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Upon successful completion of all three courses, students will: (1) Understand the main parameters at stake in the current debate between science and religion. (2) Have some familiarity with the relevant areas of science that feature in the debate—including cosmology, evolution, and the neurosciences—and will have begun to engage with them conceptually. (3) Have encountered key philosophical approaches to the interface between science and religion, and will have had the opportunity to engage them in practice. (4) Have embarked constructively in cross-disciplinary conversations. (5) Have demonstrated an openness to personal growth through a commitment to dialogue across intellectual and spiritual boundaries. You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

人気のレビュー

CW

Jun 10, 2018

This was a first class course in all respects. The calibre of the lecturers was very high indeed and they all made the material very accessible.

EM

Dec 08, 2017

Refreshing to be updated with the latest developments in epistemology and philosophy of religion among others.

フィルター:

Philosophy, Science and Religion: Philosophy and Religion: 26 - 44 / 44 レビュー

by Sidney C

Sep 13, 2017

As a Theist I think that the class was very evenly presented with methods of being a skeptic and asking relevant questions of our own thinking as well as the thinking of others. I suggested in the forum to be an open minded skeptic and not a closed minded skeptic, that applies to both the

by Maxx G

Feb 23, 2018

Very informative and easy to follow and keep up with.

by Eugen M

Jan 26, 2018

As a sort of Coursera veteran, I have to say that this is the course to attend if you want to master, or, at least, understand more, complex and complicated issues of philosophy, science, and religion.

by Ahmer J K

Oct 21, 2017

Interesting course

by Gaurav P

Apr 04, 2018

Thanks Coursera for providing this wonderful course

by Pablo G A

Jun 21, 2018

I find this course very interesting and well structured. I reckon that these three courses about Philosophy, Science and Religion conform a very complete approach to the topic. I would recommend these three courses to anyone interested in our role as human-beings in the existence. I feel very grateful to the instructors of the courses and Coursera's platform.

by Jann J ( D

Dec 23, 2017

All I can say is....it got me thinking!!

by Rita d C A G O

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent! Very interesting and useful.

by Joy S

Feb 22, 2018

kind of liked the format. Only a few questions at a time: not too much gets thrown at a person on a quiz. The instructors seemed also to impart info so that I could understand, as demonstrated by an immediate short quiz. It's interesting stuff.

by Daniel T

May 06, 2018

great topic, great professors, had a great time and have accrued further understanding

by Ramon N

Jul 25, 2018

I learned a lot and it gave me perspectives that I never had before.

by Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

by Dana S

Aug 05, 2019

The course I loved it so much. Easy to acces, to understand and to follow what teachers says. I am so happy that I improved my knowledges through Coursera course. Thank you very much for your effort to help us.

by Horacio M C

Jul 11, 2019

Curso muy recomendable de alto nivel.

by Звездная Е С

Oct 21, 2019

хороший

by Daniel S

Feb 05, 2018

Super course, brings some clarity to the issues at hand. In my opinion, it does "dance" around the convergence of truth (small t) as something that can be derived form one, the other , or both routes: Science and Religion. However, does not distinguish enough (IMHO) between the cultural/social/political footing of "religion" and the core belief aspect of "god" (small g) in personal psychology: these are mutually reaffirming factors treated as a single "faith".

by Gariyasi G

Dec 22, 2017

It was an amazing course, filled with philosophical debates, with a balanced point of view most of the time. Most of all, it certainly got me thinking!

The course covers a myriad range of content, and brings together knowledge from various experts belonging to different countries and disciplines. It is easy for anyone to find their particular expected information. Content is organised excellently; is easy to follow, along with extremely interesting discussion forums. Had an amazing ride, and this course is definitely one you need to do with other people who share common interests, because there is so much to discuss, debate and share. Would have enjoyed more passionate instructor experiences, and am looking forward to more.

by Lisa B

Mar 10, 2019

Interesting topics but it may have been helpful to focus the course a bit more.

by Julio C N P

Mar 07, 2018

GOOD