Chevron Left
Programming Languages, Part B に戻る

ワシントン大学(University of Washington) による Programming Languages, Part B の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
611件の評価
140件のレビュー

コースについて

[As described below, this is Part B of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Part A first -- Part B "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

人気のレビュー

AZ
2018年3月23日

Great course with really interesting and challenging assignments that allow to get more precise vision on programming languages (especially on PL's typing systems) and get experience with modern LISP

VA
2018年3月18日

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!\n\nWarning - you might end up loving FP :)

フィルター:

Programming Languages, Part B: 26 - 50 / 139 レビュー

by Juliano P

2020年6月28日

Great! A complement to Part A and it really uses things we've learned in Part A with the Standard ML language and does lots of comparisons, so you should probably take Part A if you have never used SML. Learned a lot with this course. Thanks!

by John S

2016年9月14日

An absolutely high quality class. The instruction is superb, the assignment is on par with top programs at Stanford, MIT, and CMU. Dr. Grossman's lecture is just so clear and energetic that makes learning this hard topic fun.

by Lorenzo B

2020年7月2日

I didn't terribly care about racket because of some previous common lisp/scheme experience; I wish the static/dynamic typing comparison had more space, but that's just because to ME that was the most interesting part.

by Vaidas A

2018年3月19日

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!

Warning - you might end up loving FP :)

by Jan H

2016年12月27日

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

by Yuji S

2016年9月25日

Great course! Learned more about PL, what is interpreter/ compiler language, what is statically typed/ dynamically typed. The homework is very rewarding! Looking forward to Part C.

by Sam S

2020年4月1日

A strong follow-up to Part A. The second week's homework assignment is quite difficult, but very rewarding. This course has greatly helped shape my views on programming.

by Jose J

2020年8月16日

Excelent course.! Wished contained more material. Also I think changing the editor from Emacs to Dr Racket was not really necessary... all in all excellent course!

by Jacob K

2018年7月5日

Just as good as the first segment of the course. Learned a lot of good material about dynamically vs statically typed languages and how languages are interpreted.

by Pedro d S Q

2020年8月12日

Very enjoyable course, follow-up to Part A. Building an interpreter really solidifies what we saw, a really nice exercise. I'll definitely move on to part C!

by Gabriel A S

2020年7月17日

I'll learn many things in this course with the enthusiasm and hard work of a very knowledgeable professor on the field. Great course 10/10 would do it again.

by Kevin X

2016年12月17日

This series is really the course you need to take if you feel not comfortable and want to know why(or describe the feelings) when you code in school or work.

by Paramjot S

2020年10月18日

T

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

w

a

s

f

a

n

t

a

s

t

i

c

.

G

i

v

e

s a very good introduction to functional programming in dynamic language by focusing on the fundamentals. Highly recommended!!

by Yuchong P

2017年6月1日

The course is really fantastic! It leads me to the world of Racket programming and guides me to many concepts in programming language theory (PLT).

by Peter B

2017年3月12日

Suitable even for experienced programmers.

Excellent presentation of fundamental programming concepts.

Exercises are challenging but rewarding.

by Xiang-Yu G

2017年7月27日

The programming assignments are carefully designed such that without so much coding you can capture the essence of the idea. Highly recommend.

by Anran

2020年3月7日

It's challenging as much as it is rewarding, and the peer review is a very nice arrangement for people to see how others are doing things!

by Iris H

2019年11月22日

Great follow-up to Part A, really builds on the concepts introduced there and tackles some quite complex topics (writing an interpreter)!

by Yuxing C

2021年2月10日

Really good course, hope I can get content of this high quality in my own university. Programming language Theory is really beautiful.

by Maximilian P

2021年1月10日

If you really wanna get what programming languages are about, give this one a whirl! Great homework assignments and solid videos.

by David X

2021年2月3日

The latter half of this course is much harder than the former, but there are still knowledge I can understand. Next step, Part C

by Kyle K

2020年7月13日

Awesome course, a lot of fun with really interesting exercises. The interpreter homework was both difficult and super rewarding.

by syoya

2020年5月19日

A good introduction to dynamically typed language. I really the discussion about the static checking and dynamic checking.

by Sunil B

2018年3月19日

Awesome course for programmer's interested in learning programming idioms or otherwise interested in language design

by Stanislav K

2017年7月7日

It's hard not to see how much time and energy is spent on this course by the instructor and the team!