Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
20,851件の評価
3,825件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

JM

Dec 03, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 1 - 25 / 3,694 レビュー

by Anthony S

Apr 01, 2018

So far courses 1 and 2 have been great with excellent explanations. I have no idea why, but that all changes for this course. The explanations are lacking and I'm left super confused. I ended up passing this class, but I feel I didn't get a good grasp and would need to take another "access web data" like class to actually have a grasp, even a basic grasp at that. This course should be revisited with better explanations.

by Christian W

Jul 22, 2016

Unfortunately on the whole I was very disappointed with this class. I took the first two Python courses and found them manageable, but this third one was an unrealistic increase in difficulty from the previous two. I reached out for help on the discussion board a number of times and saw many others were struggling as well. Mentors who responded to some of the other students were clearly getting defensive when those students were getting nowhere on the assignments. I think this program should reevaluate itself so students such as me can keep up with the assignments. On average I was spending about 10 hours per week just on the syntax for building the programs.

A little about my background: I have 20 years of experience in the private sector and am currently an analyst in cyber security. I have an undergraduate degree in finance, an MBA, and another master’s degree in Data Analytics. This 5 course program has been described and sold as beginner level, and given my background I should have handily been able to complete it, but that was definitely not the case. Normally I don’t leave feedback unless I feel strongly about something, so I hope you take it seriously. Thanks.

by Alan M R

Jan 10, 2018

As an experienced programmer, I am unimpressed. The assignments cover a good set of tools; web i/o. I would introduce classes before getting into web i/o; this would emphasize critical coding habits of productive programmers: modularity and reusability. Also, variables and files are poorly named. Comments are lacking. The exercises don't ask students to program; they ask students to tweak (at most) the example programs. Students are instructed to disable security features without sufficient discussion of the risks involved. Overall, the presentation looks rushed and unpolished. Code looks like it was hobbled together until it worked and never edited for clarity. If someone I cared about wanted examples of good programming, I would tell them to avoid this.

by Greg C

Apr 08, 2019

Great material, but it feels a bit rushed, covering as many topics as it does, in such a short amount of time.

by Daniel H

Jun 15, 2019

The assignments often go way beyond what is taught in the lectures or book. There was not a single assignment that I did not have to rely on reading tons of extra info from Overstack or other coding sites. I don't mind if the course is challenging, but it's challenging not because it's extremely difficult, but rather because it is testing things that weren't taught.

by Karunamoorthy M

May 14, 2019

One of the Great Course on web Data Accessing through Python.

Thank you for your friendly teaching method.

by 赵泽民

Jul 05, 2019

The course materials provided are very clear and useful.

by Ichiro H

Jul 08, 2019

Great course for introduction to parse Web Data. However, google map and twitter API seems to be changed a lot, so those examples won't work any more. It took me a few days to figure that out and felt a bit stressful. Hope re-recording take place soon so that many other students would not stuck there.

by Piyush J

Jul 13, 2019

well this was a good course though but I didn't feel very connected with web services i.e. I couldn't understand each line of code written for APIs. I didn't understand the concepts used in geojson api and twitter api completely. I would recommend to add basic explanation about these as I was not able to write codes myself that are illustrated in the course. So that's the place where I lost connection with the course as these concepts are not explained at beginner level programmers who are listening terms like API, SOA, JSON, XML, Web Scraping etc first time. So please elaborate these topics more simply and in detail so that we can understand each line of code.

by Raquel R G

Dec 11, 2018

Doing this course is not so much related to Python but to other computer engineering topics.

Network concepts are required, as well as knowing other programming languages such as HTML, XML or JSON, API or WebServices. Assignments require parsing webpages in HTML, XML or JSON, so knowledge of the same is needed. I would not pursue this course unless having strong knowledge about those topics

It is offered as part of a certification for people that know nothing about programming, so between course 2 and 3 there is a huge conceptual gap (going from loops, if-else and defining variables to HTTPS protocols, JSON and Service Layers). Keep your expectations right

by Sumit K

Jul 22, 2019

This course was horribly explained. The XML and JSON chapters just went over my head. I had to go to youtube for better and logical explanations. Feels like the instructor is in a hurry to finish the course content and do something else in his life

by Shivam I

Nov 19, 2018

This course introduces to the Json, XML and other python modules which are very fundamental to Web programming. Professor has nicely covered all important topics and the course gives a start that one needs to take interest and learn more about different modules.

by Sherman s

Nov 18, 2018

Love it!! Learn at your own pace, plus interactive examples to learn form.

by Sandeep R M

Dec 04, 2018

Superb

by Ahmed M

Dec 03, 2018

this is awesome course , thank you dr chuck

by Mina H

Dec 20, 2018

awsommmmmmmmmm thank u

by Gerardo V

Dec 18, 2018

Muy bueno, aplica los conocimientos con ejemplos claros y sencillos.

by Ruchit R P

Dec 20, 2018

Very good exposure on unicodes and html parsing.. really enjoyed it.. yet to complete week4 and week5 (xml and JSON)

by SRIRAMANENI M

Dec 18, 2018

we are learning advance python concepts in this certification thanks to coursera

by zhiyong w

Dec 07, 2018

Wish I can finish this serial very soon

by BOYU K

Dec 23, 2018

It's really useful to learn how to manage with database, thank you very much!

by Michael C

Dec 08, 2018

Great course for beginner programmer or someone that has been away from it for awhile.

by Oh K C ( O

Dec 09, 2018

Dr Chuck made a complex topic so easy to follow and understand. And making the codes and books accessible are just of enormous help! Thank you Dr Chuck!

by venkata A k

Dec 10, 2018

This course will be completely helpful to the people who are learning web-development with Python .This will not be specific to Django or Flask framework .The target is to read the data from the API calls through Xml and Json data . ALso it will tell you the basic URL Encoding and decoding to send the data over the server . Regualr expressoins are universal and this course will help you to teach how to implement it in python.

by Kevin W

Dec 25, 2018

Very good learning experience