Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
37,273件の評価
6,694件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM

Dec 03, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 5326 - 5350 / 6,556 レビュー

by Abdur R

Feb 07, 2016

I found it to be a very useful class on important topics in web analytics. The homework assignments are not very difficult and encourage learning instead of grade-seeking. Plus, Dr. Chuck is an engaging instructor!

P.s. I gave it 4 starts because the assignments were a bit too easy at times. My feedback is to include advanced but optional assignments in future sessions.

by Sebastián G P

Feb 26, 2019

A very good course explaining the fundamentals of data analysis using python. The course is a little dense, and goes a little to fast if you are a beginner, but it will let you explore the most important elements for accessign web data. The teacher is one of the bests that I have seen in Coursera, and the bonus materials are incredible.

The previous courses are a must.

by Benjamin W

Dec 03, 2015

Dr Chuck - a computing professor with a sense of humour - won me over in the end. This doesn't ask too much. It's clearly set out and you get to have a little go at programming at the end of each session. This course highlights how easy Python is more than anything and that's a good thing. Good coding language for beginners. Good course for beginners or novices.

by Alan W

Nov 30, 2015

Great course and even though the topic was more interesting then the previous 3 courses (interesting as in fun) I didn't like the new format where Dr. Chuck wasn't in a picture-in-picture frame so that we could always see the slides and him at the same time. Many times the slides would cut out to him and it was very distracting as I'd have to pause and go back.

by Vijay P R

Jan 15, 2017

The lectures are well explained. But the programming exercises are too basic . Expected the programming assignments to be more challenging . Good course but each week could be completed by 2-3 hours . And the 6 week course can be completed within 1 week by casual work . But its a good introduction to access web data using python . Recommended for beginners .

by David T

Mar 22, 2016

I did the whole course over about 1 day. I was already familiar with Perl, Regex, HTTP, XML, JASON and web scraping, but totally unfamiliar with Python. Fortunately it did not rely on having done earlier Python programming basic parts too much. Will I do the other parts of Python for everyone? No, I think I would rather work and learn on my own problems.

by Sophia M

Aug 11, 2020

This course felt a lot harder to understand than the previous Python Data Structures course, probably because there is a lot more specialist vocabulary and terminology relating to the world wide web and data transmission which students are unfamiliar with. The concepts are sort of confusing but the instructor's explanation was relatively helpful.

by Sean H

Jun 16, 2020

This class helps you write programs that talk to the world. It's a good introduction to how the Internet works and how data is shared and processed.

The instructor is helpful, but I advise taking good notes and taking the time to re-read previous chapters of the textbook to understand the techniques you need to use to complete the assignments.

by Anshul k

May 08, 2020

Firstly loads of thanks and regards for making such a wonderful course. The course content and quality is undoubtedly very good but specifically for me i felt i didn't understood the that last API part that very efficiently as i did the whole course so i request you please update that part i.e. week 6 and have us get it through more clearly.

by Judy W

Aug 22, 2018

As with the prerequisite courses, I really appreciated the fact that the video lectures were easy to follow. The worked example videos were also super helpful. I would say I wish there are some terms that were better explained / more in depth. For example, the underlying reasons for importing urllib.request, urllib.parse, urllib.error, etc.

by KRISTOFFER H

May 08, 2020

Very good course. However, some things are a bit confusing. Especially around the use of try/except and error handling which sometimes are in place and sometimes not. And also, it would be great to dive a little more into use of dicts when they are in use. Show the different ways to loop and print out for dicts in the last assignments.

by Rajesh C

Jun 05, 2020

First of all, it's a great honor to be part of this special course. I learned a lot, really. The course assignments are a bit difficult than the previous but, I appreciate the efforts made by the instructor. Thank you once again to be part of this ride of knowledge. I feel more confident in python after getting through this stuff.

by Derek A

Feb 09, 2017

Was well structure until the part about accessing parsed data in JSON; this was a little rough as the example provided in the lecture accessed data like: parsedjsondata['person']['age']. In the actual assignment this does not work and I had to use a work-around by using range(len(dictionary)) which is not covered in this course.

by Adriano R P

Apr 21, 2016

Very good material and instructor; just lacked on two things (under my point of view):

1) Development of a simple webapplication to make the communication between webserver and client;

2) Implementation of a socket and actually make the capture of a "stream" and translate (maybe opening the packets accordingly with the protocol);

by Zaheen A S

May 08, 2020

The assignments were pretty challenging and interesting for me.I did not even think at first I could solve the problems. But when I solved it I was very happy . It also boosted my confidence.The teaching stuff was so helpful.With the assistance of discussion forum it would take me more time to solve this course .So,thank you.

by Dean H

Jun 28, 2020

It got a bit tougher in this third course but we were warned at the beginning. Gaps were left in our knowledge that we had to fill in in order to complete the assignments but that OK. The TA's are quick to respond to questions in the forum... you will get a hint but not an answer but that's usually enough to nudge you along.

by Enrico B

Jun 06, 2020

A little tougher for me - sometimes I struggled to get from the content of the book, to the solutions of the assignments. I guess it's part of the learning curve - made me want to learn more.

Only criticism is the SSL library which appears in all codes, but is no longer available in 2020 and has caused me numerous headaches.

by Rahul P

Jul 10, 2020

Awesome content , learned a lot and is etched in the memory for a very long time. One star deducted for i felt the course was rushed in the end while covering the topic of APIs (week 5 & week 6) , i feel it can be part of a separate course in much detailed context. Love Dr. Chuck and his style , became a great fan of his !

by Akshat A

May 18, 2018

Awesome course, Although the professor had to rush through less significant portions due to the time constraint and also to NOT wander away from the main course, And hence, he even has a separate course entirely in the direction of Networking. AWESOME Professor, and the syllabus and course material are equally brilliant.

by Devashish V

Jul 03, 2020

good course, would have loved it better if Dr. Chuck would have dived deeper on OAuth and the Authenticate dunction he used. But maybe because I'm a Comp. sciece grad, it would've been easy for me to comprehend and not the people who are just starting out ( beginners: for who, this course is made in the first place).

by Santiago G B

Aug 05, 2020

This course is an excellent intro to web data. It's a good start to then get interested in the topic and take more courses about it, so you can fully understand everything.

It will take some more effort from your part to complete all the assignments, than the two previous courses, and maybe look for more references.

by Stanislau H

Oct 17, 2017

I expected a lot more about scraping: its caveats and workarounds. The course is good for people, who are new to Python, networking, serialization formats. For a person who is more or less familiar with mentioned topics, the course will be rather boring. Nevertheless, I've learned some new information, thank you!

by Griffin W

Jan 12, 2020

Overall I enjoyed this course. At times it seemed like Dr. Chuck could have slowed the content of the videos to better explain what was happening on a step by step basis. I often felt Chuck wanting to race through the material because it was so 'easy' and maybe forgetting he was instructing a beginners course.

by Srj S

Oct 01, 2020

This is the this course of the specialization course and compared to the first two this one was a bit fast paced in my opinion. Some topics which are not about Python but are still needed to understand what we actually do with our codes could be explained a little bit more in detail (f.i. protocols, APIs, etc)

by Yintao L

Jul 18, 2018

Overall the course is really great. And is really suitable for those green hands who has no previous Web Data knowledge like me. However, the assignment is almost the same with the example which means it's only about copy and paste. But I still learned a lot from this course. Thanks for sharing the knowledge.