Chevron Left
Synapses, Neurons and Brains に戻る

ヘブライ大学(Hebrew University of Jerusalem) による Synapses, Neurons and Brains の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
stars
800件の評価
215件のレビュー

コースについて

These are very unique times for brain research. The aperitif for the course will thus highlight the present “brain-excitements” worldwide. You will then become intimately acquainted with the operational principles of neuronal “life-ware” (synapses, neurons and the networks that they form) and consequently, on how neurons behave as computational microchips and how they plastically and constantly change - a process that underlies learning and memory. Recent heroic attempts to realistically simulate large cortical networks in the computer will be highlighted (e.g., “the Blue Brain Project”) and processes related to perception, cognition and emotions in the brain will be discussed. For dessert we will deliberate on the future of brain research, including the questions of “brain and art”, consciousness and free will. For more information see the course promo below and read “About the course.”...

人気のレビュー

A

Aug 14, 2017

Excellent teaching by Sir. He has created one more enthusiast in the journey of decoding Human Brain. Thank you Sir, getting my basics clear and this will help me to be better Neuro/AI researcher.

DD

Sep 18, 2015

It is a very interesting and well-done course about neurobiology. Prof. Sedev has many interactive tasks and he tries to explain details as easy as possible. All in all it is understandable.

フィルター:

Synapses, Neurons and Brains : 1 - 25 / 209 レビュー

by Cem B

Jan 13, 2019

The reason why I started this course was because the other course "Medical Neuroscience" from Duke University seemed heavy at first, so I wanted to have an introductory course to neuroscience. In my opinion this course taught me a lot of things despite its short duration which can be completed in less than a week and it made me more curious about neuroscience in general, so it was a great introduction.

by Lev D

Sep 17, 2018

up to date with current developments.

makes you think, and not just memorize some abstract ideas / equations.

I enjoyed it, highly recommend to others.

Thanks for the Course!

by Essam M

Dec 08, 2016

This course is about computational neuroscience, it is not easy, and it requires knowledge and passion of mathematics and biophysics of neurons. If you are just interested in neuroscience but it is not your specialty (like me, a medical student), then this course is not beneficial for you.

Prof. Segev is so knowledgeable and I think he tried his best to make easier but as I said it is difficult if you are just interested.

by Siyi S

Jun 19, 2019

Nothing beats an enthusiastic teacher! Non technical lessons serve as motivators for the more mathematical/technical materials. The course is well organised in the sense that the light dose of maths here never becomes dry and the thought-provoking broad topics never get too sci-fi :-)

It certainly will inspire me to dig a bit deeper into this fascinating field of computational neuroscience. Thank you very much, Professor Segev!

by 李熹

May 15, 2019

This course broaden my understanding of brains.I learnt much from it.And the professor used vivid and explicit ways to make me grasp some elusive concepts.It is so much helpful and amazing!!! I totally enjoy the course!

by Eric T

May 16, 2017

Mind-boggling, mind-expanding, and endlessly fascinating. Hard-going, too, and requiring a fair amount of additional research inorder to answer the quizzes. But definitely worth it!

by M.R. B

Sep 28, 2015

I didn't expect all that math and equations in a course about the brain. But it was quite informative nontheless.

by Denis O

Oct 12, 2017

This was an outstanding course! So good that I decided to pay for the certificate even though it will serve me no purpose, just because it was worth it and deserves to be rewarded.

What was so good? The teacher has found a way to teach the physics/chemistry/anatomy of brain chemistry in a way that I can understand, and has pitched the technical level just right (IMHO!) to the point where a non-expert goes from just having heard terms to truly understanding how nerve cells work, and to understanding the challenges we face to develop a deeper understanding.

Since the subject matter is not trivial, I really like that he has not over-simplified it. Where an equation was needed, he's put an equation, and via his explanations and examples, and then via the really well-designed (and tough!) quizzes, he's made sure I understand it.

This is a course that I will be recommending to all my technically-curious friends.

by Hamood A

Oct 11, 2017

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it and have learnt a lot. I had to take few exams more than once to be able to successfully pass them but the concepts learnt and the insight gained into this cutting edge development in neural networks is amazing. This is truly a breakthrough that I am able to learn all this at my own pace and time sitting exactly on the opposite side of the world without free of charge. I really want to thank the entire team of Coursera, Hebrew University and above all Prof. Idan Segev for his time and efforts in imparting this wealth of knowledge and making these concepts easy to grasp. Thank you!

by Abuzar M

Sep 05, 2015

Prof. Idan Segev taught the course with an understanding that he will have an audience from a variety of backgrounds and hence the course was balanced between mathematical and biological concepts. His enthusiasm regarding the topics he taught was what got me gripped and as a Physics major thinking about a career in biophysics, the biophysical concepts he taught (Hodkin-Huxley model, Rall's model, concepts in computational neuroscience) made me ever more interested in my career choice.

Thumbs up to Prof. Segev and his team for a truly inspiring and enjoyable course! Hope you do other courses in the future.

by roi s

Nov 22, 2017

Amazing course!

I have done many MOOCs, definitely one of the top 3.

I have also taken several courses in psychology and deep learning and I have a computer science background, interesting to relate these topics to the functioning of the brain and see where some of the inspiration is taken from.

Great to see a very ethic lecturer with so much passion for the topic.

One advice, the lecturer talks a little slow, so I suggest watching with higher speed 1.5X or above.

In the end he said there will be another course I hope there will be, but this course is from 2013 so I'm not sure about that:)

by 张凌祺

Mar 21, 2016

Really a great course! Covering a lot of details, but the most important point is that this course gives a big picture of different levels of understanding of the brain and minds. From the basic neural circuits to network models of computation, and high level cognitive tasks such as emotion, and the instructor even extended the course a little bit to cover some philosophical implications of brain research. By the way, Idan Segev is REALLY A GOOD INSTRUCTOR ! ! ! Thanks for this great course. Hope there may be something like a extended (advanced) version of it later on.

by Shannon M

Jun 17, 2017

This course goes beyond basic anatomy and physiology of neurons (so it helps if you already have that background). It talks about the theoretical aspects (read: math!) of how neurons work, how scientists figured out what we already know, and how scientists are currently working to figure out what we don't know. If the math part scares you, know that you don't need to DO the math, you just need to understand the logic - which the instructor lays out for you. This class works your brain, and it's worth it!

by Idil G

Sep 19, 2015

I have always enjoyed learning about the brain - yet I've never thought I could learn so much through this course. Hebrew University of Jerusalem gave me the chance to dig deeper in the brain, and I have gained so much about the brain, neurons and synapses through the course. It was challenging, yet really fulfilling experience for me and I am so glad that I have taken this course. Thanks everyone who made this course possible, and because of their hard work and patience. Thank you!

by FRANCK R S

Mar 12, 2018

Whether you are interested in Neurosciences , or you are simply curious about the advances of brain understanding and the soon coming amazing Neurotechnologies I highly recommend this course: Professor Idan Segev has the talent to easily transmit and facilitate the understanding of the Mathematical, electrical, and physiological concepts related to brain neural circuit and brain related high technologies! A great teacher in a fascinating field!

by Mark A

Jun 23, 2017

This is a great way to get up to date on recent developments in understanding synaptic processes, neurophysiology related to modeling neurons and current efforts in modeling cognitive neural networks. The professor did a great job in describing complex models, while keeping mathematical complexities to a minimum. This is probably best for someone who has had some prior exposure to the physiology of neurons, but it is by no means essential.

by Juan P G

Jul 19, 2017

Increíble experiencia de aprendizaje. Totalmente recomendado. Si eres un profesional de la salud enfocado a cuestiones neurológicas y de procesos de aprendizaje, este curso es para ti. Aplicable en todo momento en la experiencia con mis pacientes y con la relación sobre el continuo estudio que hago cada día en le rehabilitación neurológica y terapia física 'cognitiva' en procesos de 'lesiones' o condiciones neurológicas. Estoy muy feliz.

by Samarin I

Nov 03, 2016

Приводятся интересные примеры современных исследовательских проектов, рассматриваются вопросы "есть ли свобода выбора", обучение зрению, что есть зрение и прочее.

Оказывается мозг это плоских (2мм толщиной из 6-ти условных слоёв) лист однородных элементов, а не клубок связей всех со всеми вокруг.

Рассматриваются модели нейрон, как RC-цепочка, как шлюз для ионов Na и K.

Очень захотелось заниматься исследованием мозга. Спасибо авторам.

by Denis V

Oct 05, 2015

I've enjoyed this course a lot. The host is very entertaining and expains everything in great detail. The course itself encompasses a tremendous amount of useful and relevant information on how brain works. I've got a lot out of this course.

The only drawback I came across is some ambiguity of quiz-questions. Not always clear what is asked, apart from that everything is perfect. Thanks a lot for enlightening me!

by Maayan B

Mar 12, 2017

extremely interesting course. aside from the lesson about electrical circuits which was a bit difficult for me to follow, the flow of the course was just amazing, i know so much more interesting things about the brain now than i knew before. kudos to Idan Segev for his astonishing lecturing skills, you have really inspired me to one day join you in the attempt to uncover the mysteries of the brain!

by Xinyao Z

Jul 01, 2019

Thank you so much for this absolutely amazing course! Idan is the coolest teacher I've ever had on Coursera, his broad knowledge crossing science and also humanities can be seen throughout the whole course. Highly recommended also for non-science students (maybe especially philosophy students haha) to take this course, it can be somehow hard, but definitely mind-blowing.

by Shanta N R

Apr 05, 2016

Professor seemed patient as he carefully explained in extremely fine details which aided in lucid comprehension of the construction of the brain and neurons and the activities generated by synapses. I am extremely honored to be taught by Prof him and HUJ. Highly recommended for students who have an interest in Neuroscience and need to begin with the fundmentals.

by HERAIZ-BEKKIS D

Feb 27, 2017

Idan Segev, the professor, is a really good teacher. His explanations are clear even for non english-speakers, he is a pedagog. The subject is well-presented, understandable and interesting. Pr.Segev makes your interest growing at every lesson.

I really recommand this course even for those, like me, who have never done any bio or neuro- science in their life.

by Lucy I D L R T

Apr 05, 2017

Teacher I must say that I love your hairstyle, has a very gestural way of expressing everything you feel and know about the brain, I am not very good in English, but with you, what is not understood by language, is achieved with His gesture. Knowing that we have an inner universe, which colors the brain and sees how sipnasis is performed.

by sweyshenchen

Nov 27, 2015

concise and integrated organization, complex concepts wrapped up in short direct sentences, no reasoning is needed for the students because everything makes sense directly. Startling slide show in the background very content rich and a lot of work to put it together, he can make a 15 min material easily digested in 5 min for the students.