Chevron Left
The Science of Well-Being に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による The Science of Well-Being の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
10,580件の評価
3,878件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

人気のレビュー

BT

Nov 27, 2019

Loved the practical "rewiring" assignments that helped me with understanding what really makes us happy. Not only this course changed my life perspective but enriched the lives of the people around me

MV

Jan 31, 2019

This is an outstanding course! I was able to change into a more positive and productive mindset as taught in this course. I highly recommend it to everyone regardless of your profession or background.

フィルター:

The Science of Well-Being: 226 - 250 / 4,000 レビュー

by Courtney H

May 28, 2020

So glad I took this course. I had been eyeing it out for over a year and decided to finally take it once I was home all the time due to the pandemic. I learned a lot from this course, much more than I expected, and I have been telling everyone I know to take it as well. Dr. Santos is warm and engaging which makes the course content easy to learn and understand. My happiness levels have increased significantly since completing the course and I honestly can't recommend this course enough. If you even have a slight inclination toward taking this course, just go for it!

by Kirsten M

Jun 02, 2020

I enjoyed this short course as a dive into what makes us happy and to challenge what we *think* makes us happy. The interesting lectures and assignments to work through flow well and give you just the right amount of work without feeling too overwhelmed, making it suitable for someone in a full-time position or those not working at all. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to check in with your own thoughts on the issue, to make adjustments and to really make lasting changes that can help make your personal well-being journey attainable on a daily basis.

by Merza I

May 23, 2020

I’ve learned more about myself. I am very grateful for the Rewirement Challenges, because Dr. Santos showed, which activities can be done to make us happier. These activities are very effective, they are for free and can be done in all kind of circumstances – it’s hard to say any excuse why someone can’t do the Gratitude Rewirement, as it can be done during traveling or if someone is sick. Lot of times we think we need to buy something to be happy, and after the course I am more aware of the advertisings which refer to this – “Buy me to be happier/more beautiful!”.

by Kimberley F

Apr 30, 2018

Great course, very practical suggestions that have easy to use suggestions to guide you. I like simple changes you can make with daily habits that are not hard to work in. I Like the supported science behind it, for clarity and answering the why's. It is encourages positive daily reflection time that directs and re-redirects you look at problem solving for yourself and As a high school teacher, I like that I can take this information and use it with my students, who are finding it useful to accomplish their goals. They especially like using the WOOP strategies.

by Claire L

May 17, 2020

Personally, I am quite grateful, that I stepped out of my comfort zone to register and successfully complete this Well-Being course. The modern use of technology to provide this course has been an outstanding educational delivery format. The course flow, lectures, videos and content have been pivotal during this time, and I truly learned self-improvement skills and techniques. Moreover, this course has brought me a much better understanding of how I can implement changes in my life to improve my own ‘authentic’ happiness. Thank you, Claire Lang/student.

by Rebecca L

Jun 11, 2018

This course gives a lot of practical and easily applicable advice and scientifically-proven techniques on how to improve well-being. It has the potential to give life-changing insight to just about anyone - from those who are just looking for ways to appreciate the little things to those who are trying to shift their entire paradigm of happiness. It is a course that requires self-dedication, self-searching, and a healthy dose of honesty in regards to changing the habits that we practice everyday that are detrimental to true happiness. I highly recommend!

by Paulien v D - v D

Jun 05, 2020

My compliments! Thank you so much!

I am a radiologist, mother of 2 kids, living in the citycentre of Amsterdam, lots of stimuli all the time. A wonderful life but it felt like I was racing through life. Your course makes me step out of the ratrace and appreciate my life and therefore does make me a lot happier, truly amazing, thank you!

There are 2 subject I was surprised not to hear about in this course. The first is sex, the second are psychedelics (microdose). My apologies if I am to upfront, but well, I am Dutch .

Again, thank you so very much!

Pien

by Jenny F

Jan 01, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. It also woke me to a realization of how I’ve been perceiving my level of well being, my happiness, and really a better realistic way I should be looking at it. It has been fascinating.

I also appreciated the layout of how the class was taught, the ease of being self paced and the personal satisfaction of completing the assignments and by default of the nature of the class, my personal goals. I think many people could benefit not only from this specific course, but from the less traditional way of taking the class.

by Linda L

Jul 05, 2018

Don't let Dr. Santos's laid back style fool you. There is a lot to be learned from this course and taking the rewirement challenges seriously can be life changing. Learning about numerous studies each week that back up the validity of activities that lead to happiness was the affirmation I needed to push myself to adopt some new behaviors and emphasize others with gusto. There is much to gain from the course, and it's not just for youngsters. I retired a few months ago and have found that improving my well-being is an energizing, achievable goal.

by Thomas M

May 16, 2020

It was very easy to follow the content. What needs to be learned at this level got covered beautifully, without bringing in any complications. But at the same time, references were provided for those interested.

Interviews from external experts whose work that were covered in the course was another good thought.

Above all the practical focus and the need to implement the learning from the course and then completing the final assignment. This helped me bringing in some good practices in life and I am able to continue the same so far. Thanks a lot.

by Asha T S

Jun 01, 2020

The science of well being course run by Ms. Santos and team at Yale University was a life saver for me during this COVID lockdown phase in Mumbai with my family in the UK.It kept me on an even keel and I enjoyed every moment of the lectures, the reading and the recommended TED talks. I enjoyed doing 1 rewirement every week. For my final rewirement I chose meditation which is going to be my lifelong companion now and this has increased my happiness quotient significantly. Heartfelt thanks to Yale University, Coursera and Ms Santos and her team.

by Lisette P

Jun 02, 2020

The overall experience of taking the Science of Wellbeing was fantastic. Albeit it was definitely a weird time in history to be studying wellbeing, but it definitely helped me step back from my daily life which was upended by the pandemic and truly channel my energy into things I knew from our lectures would benefit me even when I didn’t necessarily buy into it at first. I really enjoyed the lectures and additional reading resources. The assignments were helpful in applying the lesson material and actually did increase my happiness over time!

by Eva S M

May 30, 2020

I have enjoyed doing this course. During these hectic times of online teaching primary school children (because of quarentine), I couldn't wait to have some time to continue with this course. It was very informative and inspiring. I've recommended the course to a couple of friends. I've also encouraged my students (5th graders) to start practicing gratitude and savoring, many of them are really enjoying it. Wether you are not feeling your best or just like reflecting on how different factors affect our happiness, I truly recommend the course.

by Jakub G

Sep 06, 2018

its amazing how small things adds up to bigger things. once you know that for instance social connection makes your day brighter, you will think twice before ditching possible short conversation with stranger or neighbor.

I liked that there were assignments, not validated, but something that you can do. if you cheat you cheat yourself. If you will do everything as assignment and will not fall into a trap of "measuring everything" (more likely comparing like "I did not do enough good things today..."), your happiness level will go up. try it!

by Carole j

May 12, 2020

A pleasure to get to know a little about you. Thank you for offering the course for free, especially during the corona virus. In the begninng- I needed something to do- as I am not able to go to work (teacher). I really looked forward to the lessons and found a new skill: mediation- something that had been on my bucket list for a long time, but through avoidance and procrastination- never completed. Today, four weeks later, I mediate daily for 20 minutes and it has completely reset my morning in the best way possible. Thank you.

by Joe N

Jun 02, 2020

This class was great. It has given me more confidence and sure-sightedness in moving towards the things in life that will really make me happier. It has also helped me quiet and ignore some of the things that we so often mistakenly think will make us happy. The connections this class helped me to begin making consistently turned out to be more positive than I could have ever expected. If you are looking to really take action towards creating a happier life and perspective, this is a great course and will help you do just that!

Joe

by Hulya A

Jun 03, 2020

Thank you, this was such a great course. It was precise but detailed, full of facts but not boring, educating but not exhausting. I wish I had teachers at University like the Laurie Santos. I think I am happy with myself for completing this course and have recommended it to my friends whom I think will benefit from learning how to become happier. I also think that its a great course for uni students ( although I did my bachelor degree 10 years ago) as it helps you figure out what you want to get out of life and university as well.

by Mirela

Nov 03, 2019

It's been brilliant. I love the mixed approach. It is the first course on Coursera that I'm actually going to finish and that is because I can see the applicability of what I am learning in my day-to-day life. That being said, it mixes up with academic rigour and it opened up a whole new area of psychology which speaks to me much more than the clinical one. I'm following this up with the Positive psychology specialisation and let's see where this takes me. Have recommended it to friends who are also taking the course :) Thank you!

by Katherine C

May 26, 2020

I love everything this course taught me. It has really helped rewire my thinking and I find myself often taking the time to be grateful for little things like the bird singing outside right now and the beauty in nature. If you knew me at all, you'd know this is crazy talk coming from me. I needed this course before the lockdown because I had moved to a foreign country a year ago and have not been able to find my footing here. This course has helped me ease up on myself and appreciate what I do have. Where's the master's class?!?!

by Philip H

Jul 23, 2019

This course was an excellent reminder to focus on what counts. I feel I had a slight advantage in knowing what makes me happy because I am likely older than most of the students and clearly a couple decades older than the Professor! It was nice to see the science and study behind everything I felt I had learned from my nearly six decades on this planet. At best this course will make you look at life with a much better perspective, at worst, you might be able to appreciate and savor more that which is truly important to you.

by Daniel L Y

May 28, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I was a good blend of lecture and planned work. I believe there were several key areas that a person could learn from and implement in their daily lives, to help them live happier ones. Dr. Santos is great. I like how she committed to some of the challenges herself, and was honest enough to admit they are not always easy to complete. I really liked the continue to learn sections, with additional resources. Because, even if the course is ending, our ability to learn doesn't necessarily have to.

by Rowena J S

May 16, 2019

Super informative and super inspiring. Plus, Prof. Laurie Santos explains everything in a really relatable way. Through this course, I've become more sensitive and conscious about my purchases, about how I spend my time, and how I take care of myself and the people around me. It helped me realize that being happy means being intentional in your goals and in your actions. I'd love to review over and over the lessons here because I know there is still so much I can take from them. Thank you, Prof. Laurie, Yale, and Coursera!!!

by Aluashka I

May 05, 2020

Probably the best course I've taken in my life, both online and offline. The charming teacher explains the basics of how our brains are wired and provides tools to rewire them for our own good in an easy and digestible way.

Thank you so much for the course and the opportunity to finally believe I am capable of change :) Finally adopted all the habits I wanted to have for years. Certainly feeling myself way happier.

Good luck to all the students! And remember that knowing theory is one thing, but practise makes it all real <3

by james c

May 27, 2020

Content: Wonderful, insightful material, very competently presented.

On communication: the instructor needs to do a careful assessment of her speech habits. They are thoroughly cliched in intonation and words, e.g., the word "like" is used ad nauseaum. A critically-minded professor should not be a mirror of all the cliches, verbal intonations and fill words used in her current social context. Divest yourself, as much as possible, of all contemporary speech habits that detract from clear, concise and effective communication.

by Katarzyna H

May 31, 2020

This was my first online course like that, I really enjoyed combination of theory and practical rewirements. It made such a huge difference! Even forums, peer review and grading was a nice surprise, as it created this whole community and the feeling that we are all human and struggle sometimes and want to get better. It definitely created a lot of support structure.

I liked the format of the course and videos with some notes. I could do it when doing other things, like cooking, which made it easier to complete the course.