Chevron Left
A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
226件の評価
75件のレビュー

コースについて

This course follows the extraordinary development of Western Christianity from its early persecution under the Roman Empire in the third century to its global expansion with the Jesuits of the early modern world. We explore the dynamic and diverse character of a religion with an enormous cast characters. We will meet men and women who tell stories of faith as well as of violence, suppression, and division. Along the way, we encounter Perpetua and her martyrdom in Carthage; the struggles of Augustine the bishop in North Africa; the zeal of Celtic monks and missionaries; the viciousness of the Crusades; the visions of Brigit of Sweden; and the fracturing of Christianity by Martin Luther’s protest. We hear the voices of great theologians as well as of those branded heretics by the Church, a powerful reminder that the growth of Christianity is a story with many narratives of competing visions of reform and ideals, powerful critiques of corruption and venality, and exclusion of the vanquished. The troubled history of Christian engagement with Jews and Muslims is found in pogroms and expulsions, but also in the astonishing ways in which the culture of the West was transformed by Jewish and Islamic learning. We shall explore the stunning beauty of the Book of Kells, exquisitely prepared by monks as the Vikings terrorized the coast of England. We will experience the blue light of the windows of Chartres, and ponder the opening questions of Thomas Aquinas’ great Summa. We will read from the Gutenberg Bible of the fifteenth century, which heralded the revolution brought by the printing press. We will travel from Calvin’s Geneva to Elizabeth’s England to Trent, where a Catholic Council met to inaugurate a modern, missionary Catholic church. We will walk through the great Escorial of Philip II of Spain, hear the poetry of John of the Cross, and follow the Jesuits to Brazil and China. Christianity in the West was forged in the fires of conflict and tumult, and it brought forth both creativity and violence. It echoed with calls for God’s world to be transformed, it inspired the most sublime art and architecture, yet it also revealed the power of the union of cross and sword to destroy. The course is a journey through the formation of the West as one strand of Christianity, as one chapter in a global story. It is a journey that has shaped our world....

人気のレビュー

ES

Mar 23, 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback

SN

May 27, 2019

I enjoyed this course so much!! I learned a lot about history and the church. It has kept me looking for more courses and books to learn more!!!!!\n\nThank you so much for offering this!

フィルター:

A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) : 26 - 50 / 74 レビュー

by Walter C U

Jul 29, 2017

This course provided a good overview of the development of Christianity, warts and all, from the 3rd century to the middle of the 17th century. It provided a good outline for further specialized reading. One piece of specialized reading, The Romance of the Rose, probably should be eliminated from the course. To little was said about the shoddy behavior of Christians, especially by Theodosius in the late 4th century, by Charlemagne, by the Crusaders and by the Inquisitors. Was the deep faith held by medieval Christians a cause or effect of such great violence? Or both? While taking this course, I supplemented the required lectures and reading with the following books: Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years, by Diarmaid MacCulloch; Thomas Aquinas: A Portrait, by Denys Turner; God's Crucible: Islam and the Making of Europe, 570-1215; and Erasmus and the Age of Reformation, by Johan Huizinga.

by wei l

Nov 09, 2017

Great Course. Learned a lot from this course. Thank you!

by Eduardo J M S

Sep 25, 2017

Beautiful course as a Christian missionary in Spain it open my mind of the rich tradition of christianity in arts and other disciplines, i will try to pursuit graduates studies in medieval mediterranean history and specialize in church history. Thank you and hope to see you Profesor bring some other related themes.

by Linda B

Aug 13, 2017

This was the most interesting course on early Christianity, followed with beautiful pictures of religious art from the time period we were discussing. The lectures were very easy to understand and I felt this course was a "real eye opener" for me. We hear words like Reformation, Jesuits, monks, etc but usually do not know any history behind the words. This course was very enlightening.

by Neil K

Apr 17, 2018

Just superb. Engaging lucid speakers, vast scope of subject matter, lucidly spoken about.

by John C

Oct 31, 2017

I really enjoyed following this well-presented course. Despite the limitations of the format, the instructors came over very well. I had some knowledge of the subject from a particular viewpoint but I found I gained a broader understanding and more complete perspective on the development of Western Christianity through this course. Unfortunately the discussion forums really are not working well, with limited participation and virtually no responses from learners or instructors.

by Adriana A

Oct 02, 2017

It was a great course! I enjoyed it a lot, it helps me to understand many things.

by Fernando G

Aug 13, 2017

As a christian I learned the roots of my faith. Also the role of christianity in international relations, other cultures and religions. I recommend highly. Fernando González Davison

by Omacel

Jun 14, 2017

Excellent! Really worthy.

by Paul H

Apr 11, 2017

Excellent course. Very informative. Great survey of a lot of information. Excellent production quality.

by Neelam P

Mar 26, 2018

Great course to get you introduced to the first Millenia of Christianity in the west!

by Evgeniia S

Mar 23, 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback

by Sophie

Sep 28, 2017

Wonderful course! I enjoy it very much and would highly recommend it.

by Yeap K P

Apr 26, 2017

A very good course! Thank you so much for putting the rich contents all together!

by Giusi F

Mar 24, 2018

Thank you for this course. I appreciated in particular the teaching of Prof. Gordon. Very clear also for a non English mother tongue and very expert of the theme.

by Christy L

Jun 18, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course and the in-depth look at various Christian personalities throughout history.

by Alma W

Jun 20, 2017

Well developed and presented course.. It'll be good to have it continued from 1650 to where the Christian faith is today. I'll be very interested to be part of it if it is developed.

by barton f

May 16, 2017

Not only an excellent survey, but ties the "threads" together, making Christianit

by Ruth

Mar 12, 2018

This is a really good course. While the readings were occasionally overwhelming (and dull), the content was generally interesting. I found the main lecturer to be particularly engaging.

by alice

Oct 15, 2017

very insightful

by Jack B

Feb 21, 2018

As someone who has grown up going to church, but not knowing anything about this subject, I found it an extremely useful and insightful introduction. The course covers the wide scope of Christian history in Europe and is very revealing. Thoroughly enjoyable and easy to follow.

by Yannis K

Jun 21, 2017

The course was very good. I understand that describing the history of Christianity from the first century until the 16th is a great task. However as a theologian I would like to learn more facts about the recent history of christianity and especially the modern period Enlightenment and the 20th century. I understand that something like this requires even more work,but it would be great to learn about the modern history of Christianity too! Thank you for the graet course!

by Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

Everthing

by Luz M

Oct 23, 2017

i

R

E

A

L

L

Y

E

N

J

O

Y

E

D

I

T

by Mary C

Sep 10, 2017

This was an excellent course. The material was presented well and I learned so much about the subject matter.