Chevron Left
After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure に戻る

コペンハーゲン大学(University of Copenhagen) による After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
483件の評価
136件のレビュー

コースについて

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

人気のレビュー

JY

2020年4月14日

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK

2018年10月12日

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

フィルター:

After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure: 76 - 100 / 137 レビュー

by C.Winkel

2018年9月29日

Very interesting and enlightening course. The instructor is excellent and very well informed and engaging.

by Elizabeth B

2017年9月20日

Excellent and very informative course, makes you think critically about the situation in the Middle East.

by Zeeshan I C

2017年7月29日

quite unique in features and highly informative to those who have an interest in this part of the world.

by Khalaf M I

2020年5月25日

one of the best ever courses I have done so far. deep knowledge especially for Middle East students.

by Samah A J

2020年8月20日

Deep and productive course. Although the language is difficult, the information deserves the time.

by Wendy M

2017年9月22日

Superb course that gave me lots to think about. Very grateful to the Professor and all concerned.

by Joanna S

2017年8月21日

Very interesting and follows on nicely from Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World.

by Elina V

2022年5月3日

U​tterly inspiring and insightful course that helps you to understand a complex issue.

by Bruno V E

2020年8月4日

A complete course, that made me want to study the middle east conflicts in my masters!

by Ilaria C

2017年12月20日

I've liked this course because it has been displayed in a very scientific way. Thanks!

by Kalanyoo A

2021年8月28日

this is great, this course extended my background in Arab Studies from my BA (Arabic)

by Radha M P

2020年5月23日

This course gives valuable insights into complex problems in society. I enjoyed it.

by Manuel F G

2017年12月8日

Excellent course, full of information,

Academic reflections and useful bibliography.

by Manole M

2020年4月27日

knowledgeable, comprehensive, gave me a new perspective on the matter discussed.

by Andrés R

2020年8月7日

It is a great course, which answers many questions about the Arab Middle East.

by allexandraach

2020年6月22日

Excellent; as a minus I'd say the long, complex and information-rich sentences

by Ingmar S

2018年11月11日

pacing of this course was manageable with the tests coming after each video.

by Ozge T

2020年12月26日

I am glad to have this wonderful course. instructor is great. Thanks a lot

by Richard M

2017年8月7日

Another excellent and insightful course, very well delivered by Dr Afsah.

by Jan S

2017年11月27日

Gives a great insight into the problems of the failing muslim states

by Aline A A G

2020年8月7日

Nice course and great information. I really liked this course

by Bernadette L

2018年1月27日

Outstanding lesson with profound knowledge of the lecturer.

by María N T

2021年8月30日

Very accurate, interesting and stimulating. thank you.

by Najmussaman P

2020年9月1日

REALLY VERY GOOD AND HARD EXPERIENCE. BUT ENJOYED.

by Bryan A

2021年9月10日

Amazing, and a Wonderful teacher, thanks for all