Chevron Left
Introduction to the Arctic: Climate に戻る

アルバータ大学(University of Alberta) による Introduction to the Arctic: Climate の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
297件の評価
80件のレビュー

コースについて

The University of Alberta, the University of Tromso and the University of the Arctic invite you to explore this four week course that examines the environment and climate of the circumpolar North. This course is the result of an international collaboration and provides you with an insight into our planet's North. Following an overview of regional geography, we will focus on the cryosphere (ice), as well as the atmosphere and ocean of the region. We will learn why the Arctic is cold and ice covered, and how that impacts its climate and ecosystems. We will also consider how the Arctic is connected to the rest of the world. Finally, we will examine present day climate change, the processes driving it, and evidence for it in the Arctic, before looking at the implications in the rapidly evolving North. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/arctic-climate...

人気のレビュー

DM

May 13, 2020

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

TO

Jun 16, 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

フィルター:

Introduction to the Arctic: Climate: 1 - 25 / 79 レビュー

by Alice D P

Jan 28, 2016

The course is good but it could be improved. For example, I don't think the images on the background (even if they are stunning) are particularly important and I think they could be substituted by plots and schemes referring to the topics (all the presented schemes where helpful, but there would have been more things that would have been good to see visually).

by Cheuk W T Y

May 15, 2018

not well supported by the use of graphs, particularly when theory / ideas involve with progression

by Deborah G

Feb 18, 2018

Very good course. No previous Arctic knowledge, and now thanks to this course I can understand things much better. Looking forward to more Arctic related courses. Thank you.

by Kimberly K

Aug 09, 2016

I was really excited about this course. I thought the information was of high quality and well presented. However, I did have trouble staying focused. I would have liked more graphics depicting concepts. The presenter had a very monotone voice with a very active face. It was hard to sit through someone just talking at me even if the subject matter is interesting. I look forward to the other Arctic courses and hope they are just are well thought out but a bit more lively. You guys did a great job, keep it up!

by Anastasiia E

May 19, 2020

Bad things first and good things last.

The forum, unfortunately, isn't very active. I never got a response for my question posted there and I saw that there are many more unanswered questions.

The lectures really need more figures, schemes, maps and so on. When a lector is mentioning some toponyms I'd love to look at a map at the same time. It is hard to understand just while listening how the steams go, for example. Similarly, when a term is introduced it should be written on the screen for longer than 3 seconds and be accompanied with an illustration. There were a lot of new words for me and I can't say that I understand all this ice-terminology even after finishing the course.

There were illustrations, animations and maps in video lectures, just in my opinion far not enough. Instead, I could enjoy beautiful photographs of Arctic landscapes. The photos were indeed amazing =)

The material is interesting and wholesome. The chapters are well-connected to each other and it feels like the basic knowledge on the subject is covered very well.

What I liked the most were the questions appearing inside the video lectures. They were not just a formality, they made me think. I think it is a good feature.

Anyway, thank you.

by Victoria C L

Sep 15, 2016

The class isn't over but I'm suffering through it, not enjoying it, like I did the dino Uof A classes. Problems: the presenter is HORRIBLE. He's sing-songy, trying to be interesting. Can't you get the dino guy? Or me -I'll do it for free. PAINFUL. Also - you need more graphics. Charging along with Mr. Boring and a map of Alaska behind him as concept after concept - difficult ones for folks who aren't like me with lots of background - is a perfect recipe for lack of comprehension. Even inept and cheesy graphics would be better than nothing. Yes, I noticed that the earth is spinning the wrong way in the "sun at an angle around the sun" graphic but who cares? It's something. And yes, I know it's free, and I know you have budgets, but 3 universities can't rustle up a graphics undergrad to help out and call it an internship?? The content is probably better than my perception - and I'm perceiving high! - because I need an aspirin after 20 minutes of Mr. Please Get A Professional Presenter [or at least competent.] I create online education that is nothing better than Powerpoint and a talking head, lack of budget, but at least the head doesn't make people want to drown themselves in a melting glacier.

by Nynke v D

Mar 12, 2016

Interesting subject, the presenter is hard to listen to though.

by N.M. E K

May 22, 2020

I was really excited about this course. I thought the information was of high quality and well presented. However, I did have trouble staying focused. I would have liked more graphics depicting concepts. The presenter had a very monotone voice with a very active face. It was hard to sit through someone just talking at me even if the subject matter is interesting. I look forward to the other Arctic courses and hope they are just are well thought out but a bit more lively. You guys did a great job, keep it up!

by Maulik H

Aug 06, 2018

This course has enhanced my knowledge base and has deepened my perspective of the phenomenon of Global warming. As an Urban Planner, I now understand the Arctic Climate, Global climate, Climate change, its impact on the life of living species in the Arctic and elsewhere. The fundamental terminologies of Ice Sheets, Sea Ice, Glaciers, Ice berg, Ice caps, Albedo, Layers of the Earth's atmosphere, etc. were explained very well and in a simplified manner.

by Md. I M

Jun 13, 2020

What a fantastic course it was!....very enjoyable but there is a little bit trouble in week 3 quiz question 3 & 4..I hope authority will clearly mentioned that how much answer will be picked for correct answer.Then,all student can understand about the overall view to what to do.

by Jenna V D

Jul 13, 2020

I was just curious about the Arctic and wanted a fun, easy course. This is it! You learn mainly about how the ecosystem and ocean circulation work and how they affect the rest of the world. You focus a lot on climate change and its effects, which I really enjoyed.

by MIRINSING A

Jun 17, 2020

Thank you so much for introducing such a course on this platform. I have learnt a lot from this MOOCs. All of those notes and lectures would be of immense help in my works and dreams.

thank you, TEAM.

Regards,

Mirinsing Angkang,

IIT,Dhanbad.

by Irina D

Apr 23, 2019

Loved the course! It is so important. Everyone today should learn about global warming and how Arctic affects the climate change. There are so many people that just don't believe that the climate is changing...Thank you for this course!

by Haritha L G

Jan 21, 2018

Excellent course, enjoyed taking it thoroughly. Basics to concepts in depth explained very clearly and the maps and graphs displayed add to clarity and break monotony. Would recommend it to anyone who is interested in environment.

by Julia G

Feb 16, 2016

An interesting, very well instructed MOOC! Very good lectures and excellent scripts. I also liked the many questions/quizzes that were embedded in the video lectures. If another MOOC was offered by the instructor, I would take it.

by Jennifer L

Oct 21, 2017

I have learned some very valuable information in regards to our climate. I now have a better understanding of how humans are having an adverse effect on the weather, impacts on animal populations and the northern culture.

by Suzanne C

Jan 22, 2020

Engaging and well formatted, and filled with information that honestly everyone should know. Also, the fact I could actually complete the entire course without having to pay for the certificate is very much appreciated!

by Dina L

Apr 21, 2019

Me parece muy buena la selección del material que tiene el curso, da una idea concreta de la necesidad de evaluar nuestras acciones para evitar las acciones antropogénicas que favorecen el calentamiento global.

by Siana C

Jan 22, 2018

This course successfully expanded my understanding of the impacts of human-caused climate change on the Arctic, and the world as a whole. I highly recommend this course for increasing your Geo-Literacy.

by Dhruv M

May 13, 2020

It was a really amazing and an informative course. If you are interested to know how things work in the Arctic region and how the climate varies in the Arctic, this is a must do course.

by Turlea O

Jun 16, 2016

Great! I love the fact that it is a very simple course and information is easy to understand! I also adore the professionalism that is present in every lecture. Absolutely fantastic!

by Suzan H

Feb 03, 2016

Very nicely put together and presented into a down to earth course about the Arctic and how climate change is affecting all species of life in the surrounding area.

by Redvers F C

Jun 19, 2020

An absolutely fantastic course to study with great lecturers giving very interesting lectures that will have a profound effect. on all of our thought processes

by Julio P O

Apr 06, 2020

Quite multidisciplinary and holistic vision of the Arctic: I truly recommend it !

PD: It would be great making more about other biomes/climatic areas/landscapes

by Varun K S

Jul 01, 2019

Learnt the nuances of climate change and how human induced pollution can substantially alter the climate of a region that may have not contributed in it.