Chevron Left
Differential Equations for Engineers に戻る

香港科技大学(The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) による Differential Equations for Engineers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
897件の評価
249件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is about differential equations and covers material that all engineers should know. Both basic theory and applications are taught. In the first five weeks we will learn about ordinary differential equations, and in the final week, partial differential equations. The course is composed of 56 short lecture videos, with a few simple problems to solve following each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of six weeks in the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Lecture notes can be downloaded from http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/differential-equations-for-engineers.pdf...

人気のレビュー

AA

Feb 07, 2020

Very good course if you want to start using differential equations without any rigorous details. Thanks to professor`s explanation everything is very clear. Good basis to continue to dive deeper.

FK

Jun 28, 2020

Best course. have explained the theoratical and practical aspects of differential equations and at the same time covered a substantial chunk of the subject in a very easy and didactic manner.

フィルター:

Differential Equations for Engineers: 1 - 25 / 250 レビュー

by 舒佩文

May 15, 2019

excellent! this is a very introduction to differential equations, and every point is divided properly so it is easy to follow and the instructor is very patient to illustrate all the material, by the way , the handout could be printed, extremely convenient.

by Arthur Z

Feb 12, 2020

The instructor and materials were excellent. The quizzes at the end of each section were non-trivial and it's a great course to jumpstart your ability to work with ODEs and PDEs.

by Noyan Ü

Apr 03, 2020

This is how a refresher course must be executed. Simple yet informative lectures coupled with sufficiently challenging exercises.

Thank you for this.

by Seyed I A F

May 23, 2019

I can't be thankful enough for this course. It was a life changing for me. Thank you VERY much!

by P Y R

Aug 03, 2019

good experience

by Chi L L

Jun 15, 2019

This is the third maths course offer by HKUST. The course itself is very well structured as the flow of how the maths concepts relate to reach other to how useful differential equation is for modelling different system are well presented by Prof. Jeff and the course framework. The course makes maths very relatable and visual which is important then just practicing maths skills over and over. Looking forward if there are another maths courses by Prof. Jeff any time soon.

by Dr. A K

May 13, 2020

my name is Dr Adnan Khan I'm from Pakistan. I want say that i have learn a lot from this course it was really very interesting course and it will help me in future when i will teach to my students again thanks a lot to Professor Jeffrey and The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology to manage such a great course and great professor. Hope so you will continue this struggle in future.

Best Regards

Dr Adnan Khan

0092-321-4769811

adnankhantariq@ncbae.edu.pk

by Magdalena D

Sep 05, 2019

I recommend this course to anyone no matter if you are a beginner or already had some first experiences with differential equations, there are suplemental videos where one can alsolearn some basics of algebra if needed, everything is easly explained with interesting application in physics as examples. I would only like the course to have more theoretical background at the beginning of the videos.

by 程铁杰

May 13, 2020

This course is really great and it is worth my time to study it.Of course, we have made a preliminary introduction to partial differential equations in the course. In practical engineering fields, such as hydrodynamics, partial differential equations are very complex and require more knowledge and skills to solve partial differential equations. Perhaps more courses can be offered in this field.

by Chirag D M

Apr 12, 2020

This was a brilliant course to learn and was easy to understand by the way Mr. Chasnov was teaching. I was able to take a lot of knowledge from this and new methods of solving the differential equations. Thank you very much, sir, for making it worth learning.

by Mr. P D

May 05, 2020

Great course on differential equations. Starting from basic to the solution of PDE. The delivery of lecture and the notes provided are excellent. Also, the quizzes are absolute beauty. I thank you very much sir from deepest of my heat.

by Samanyu R K

Apr 07, 2019

This a very helpful course. Very well designed. It is very helpful to have the instructor actively responding to queries. Learned a lot and in detail about the differential equations and its applications.

by Michael O

Mar 16, 2019

This course is on the whole very well explained by the tutor. He explains very well how equations arise in physical situations, much better than you would find in a textbook. The course is very well structured and the videos are are of a convenient length, about 10 minutes each, so that we are not overloaded with material. I am not an engineer and it is only now that I have an understanding of resonance and realise that it is the amplitude of the vibration that increases with time that causes the breaking of a glass or the destruction of a bridge. Although I scored highly in all the module quizzes I found the course very tough. It is essential to do all the practice questions and the intermediate quizzes along the way. I also found it useful to pause the video and work out derivations either before or after the tutor had done so. The only quibble I have is that the tutor sometimes worked out too much in his head. Now this is fine for someone who is already proficient but is not fine for learners who are meeting the material for the first time. In my experience small little things can often block a learner's progress. In addition to the video material there is also a pdf document of the lectures which contains worked solutions to the problems. Thus is useful for checking your own solutions against.

by Michal K

Nov 29, 2019

Def not enough explanations, sometimes really hard to follow what the professor is doing if you do not have lots of Calculus background as professor skipped huge amounts of calculations as he can do it in his head. Towards the end of the course I was doing more educated guessing and understanding kinda what is happening than actually being able to do it myself as opposed to the beginning of the course!

by Frank B

Jun 14, 2020

This is a great course. Prof. Chasnov has the super power of explaining. Although differential equations are a complex topic, he manages to break down the whole subject into small, comprehensible units which match together at the end and that way gives you a toolbox for a large number of differential equation related problems. I studied engineering some years a ago and took this course as a refresher, but I was stunned by the fact how systematically one can explain these things compared to the time of my studies. I indeed had fun listening to the explanations and, when at the end of each session, Prof. Chasnov said "I'm Jeff Chasnov, thanks for watching, and I see you in the next video !" I was really looking forward to watch this next video, like with a good Netflix series when you are curious to learn how the story will continue. I will not only take some more mathematical knowledge with me here, but although some inspirations ins teaching style etc. "Thanks for explaining, and I hope to see you again in some next video !".

by Zhiwei H

Dec 24, 2019

As a finance student who has basic knowledge of calculus and linear algebras, I really really enjoy the course, it helped me to combine my math knowledge together while obtain a deeper insight into the applications in life. Professor Jeffrey is awesome, really enjoy his teaching, everything is progressive, clear and beautiful. Just one tip: maybe because of my finance background, I found some cases are too engineering for me to follow-up, such as the diffusion function. That said, the quiz is not very challenging and you could still work out even if you're not attending the engineering school. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to study differential equations.

by Zhibai L

Jan 13, 2020

This course is very useful in my career. I am entering into an MFE program, and since I did not take PDE in my undergraduate, my program set this course as a prerequiste of PDE. This course is very interesting and easy understand. It took me 1 week to complete when I just concentrate on this course and set everything aside. Now I could take some advanced PDE application course in field of finance. Before this course, I really could not understand what is going on in terms like non-linear solver in my finance book. Great adventure!

by Zimei X

Feb 14, 2020

This course is an excellent introduction for anyone wants to study Diff Eq. It is clearly elaborated with exact practice problems. All the math techniques you need could be found in the appendix or supplemental videos. This course is highly recommended for any engineering student with a good command of physics as you need to deal with physical problems in the application part, even though Prof has explained it as clearly as possible. (Maybe it is bc I'm an econ student) All in all, I have learned a lot. Thanks Prof Chasnov!

by Peter d B

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent introduction to differential equations (odes and pdes) with modeling applications. The explanations are very clear. The instructional design and the videos are the best I have ever seen, and the coverage of solution techniques is very full (numerical methods will be covered in another course in 2021, Prof Chasnov says.) The quizzes are so well designed that they will actually increase your understanding of the material. Definitely a five-star course and a top instructor. Thank you

by Hariprasad

Jun 11, 2020

I have gone the matrix algebra course 34 years ago. The level of comfort with the subject now is the best. The professor made both the concepts and the applications really interesting and enjoying. The lecture note and the transcript were very useful. Of course, the time I have placed in practicing the problems made lot of difference to my learning. I wish the foundation I got from this course makes my learning of the follow-on courses comfortable.

by Chintan S

Dec 23, 2019

Brilliant course with sufficient problems to practice and learn and very well explained concepts throughout. Especially liked (1) the illustrations in the physical world to show differential equations in action (2) Well organized lecture notes to refer and learn from (3) Professor Chasnov summarizing each lecture video at the end.

Professor Jeff. Chasnov, please make a subsequent course on partial differential equations.

by Sebastian R

Dec 08, 2019

Definitly one of the best courses I've taken so far. The large number of problems was really helping in understanding the material more deeply. After each newly introduced topic there is a short problem to solve, by which one can test his understandig of the topic. Also there are plenty of applications to real world problems and how to model these, by which the Diff Eq. topic is further motivated.

by Debrup S

May 05, 2020

After the completion of this course, my confidence in dealing with differential equations is increase by a lot of steps. Prof. Chasnov has made has made it simple and interesting.

I am feeling really empowered after the completion of this course as an undergraduate student in mechanical engineering. I would recommend this course to everyone who want to have a strong grasp of ODEs and PDEs.

by Andrew D

May 24, 2020

Really enjoyed this course. Jeff's a very clear presenter and the explanations are great. Unlike some other courses, I haven't needed to do so much reading around (although I plan to do some afterwards - Strang's DEs and linear algebra book for a start - I'm doing all this for fun). I'm now signed up Jeff's vector calculus course - really looking forward to this one too.

by Diogo J V A

Jul 06, 2020

This course gives a pretty good overview of the topics and is very complete. I liked the physical examples motivating the study, and the videos are well interspersed with examples and DIY exercises. I would like to recommend that a few more videos with examples on solving equations, particularly on the topic of Fourier Series, which is very interesting.