Chevron Left
Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression に戻る

メルボルン大学(The University of Melbourne) による Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
447件の評価
113件のレビュー

コースについて

While the human genome sequence has transformed our understanding of human biology, it isn’t just the sequence of your DNA that matters, but also how you use it! How are some genes activated and others are silenced? How is this controlled? The answer is epigenetics. Epigenetics has been a hot topic for research over the past decade as it has become clear that aberrant epigenetic control contributes to disease (particularly to cancer). Epigenetic alterations are heritable through cell division, and in some instances are able to behave similarly to mutations in terms of their stability. Importantly, unlike genetic mutations, epigenetic modifications are reversible and therefore have the potential to be manipulated therapeutically. It has also become clear in recent years that epigenetic modifications are sensitive to the environment (for example diet), which has sparked a large amount of public debate and research. This course will give an introduction to the fundamentals of epigenetic control. We will examine epigenetic phenomena that are manifestations of epigenetic control in several organisms, with a focus on mammals. We will examine the interplay between epigenetic control and the environment and finally the role of aberrant epigenetic control in disease. All necessary information will be covered in the lectures, and recommended and required readings will be provided. There are no additional required texts for this course. For those interested, additional information can be obtained in the following textbook. Epigenetics. Allis, Jenuwein, Reinberg and Caparros. Cold Spring Harbour Laboratory Press. ISBN-13: 978-0879697242 | Edition: 1...

人気のレビュー

MM

Oct 02, 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

DS

Aug 25, 2018

This is an excellent course that introduces you to fundamental knowledge of several hot topics in the field of epigenetics. Dr. Blewitt herself studies X inactivation, and I learned so much!

フィルター:

Epigenetic Control of Gene Expression: 1 - 25 / 109 レビュー

by BHASKAR C M R

Jul 08, 2019

This is one of the best courses in terms of science. The depth and breadth of epigenetics are well illustrated and explained.

by Simona B

May 20, 2019

This course is certainly a perfect way how to learn about this exciting field of Biology. Very interesting and useful examples of epigenetic control across the species. I especially value Dr. Marnie Blewitt and her way to explain these phenomena in a clear and understandable way.

by John W

May 17, 2019

Great course with a good survey of epigenetics.

by Talha I

May 16, 2019

This course is wonderful: Quality of contents, level/depth and instructor's experience/way of teaching. I saw this course first time in 2016 and its couple of lectures were enough to give me a direction for my Masters thesis. This time, I wanted to complete it all the way and Alhamdulillah a dream came true: I have learnt a lot of things which I had no idea about (mere couple of months ago). In terms of quality and rarity of available material on this subject, I have no qualms about rating it as the Best Course ever on MOOC!

by Aya E S

May 02, 2019

great

by Fatima N

Apr 30, 2019

Very comprehensive and full of knowledge course .helped me alot

by Paul S

Mar 30, 2019

Well organized and thought out. Developed the concepts well with clear examples from literature. Gave an understanding of the state of the field and where there are things that still need to be worked out.

by Donald B

Mar 20, 2019

Best cousera I have taken. Extremely well done.

by Afolake A

Mar 19, 2019

A very good course.

by Neelam F

Mar 01, 2019

it was an excellent course and worth spending time on.

by Mohammad K

Feb 27, 2019

Great and Very informative Course

by Narendra v

Feb 23, 2019

Its really a fascinating course to learn epigenetics, all classes and materials were really helpful

by NieHu

Feb 16, 2019

nice

by manoj

Nov 25, 2018

Very good and useful

by Hina K

Nov 17, 2018

This course is well taught and some important concepts are repeated over and over again during the course so the concept lingers in the brain as if it was there already.

by Gloria J C R

Oct 08, 2018

Excellent course

by Mary M

Oct 02, 2018

This was an excellent course. All the material was well presented and the explanation of the sometimes complex subject matter was clear and understandable. Thank you for an great learning experience.

by Santiago T

Sep 27, 2018

I enjoyed and learnt a lot about epigenetics by taking part in this great course. The content is clear and very well explained. The Professor is outstanding! Thanks

by Nzubechi D E

Sep 27, 2018

This was a very interesting and informative course.

by Ignacio S

Sep 17, 2018

If somebody bilieves tis course is gonna be an easy one, is wrong. Very detailed, well organized, clever questions. It makes you think.

by Didi-Morgan

Aug 30, 2018

Great course on a very interesting subject. Well constructed, with clear explanations, nice supports, wonderful contents. I love it. The level of difficulty increases with each chapters but regurlarly, so it's relatively easy. Great teacher, she seems passionate about what she does even though it is difficult to be passionate alone in front of a camera… She sometimes end on a little opening on the researches on the subject, especially the ones done in her own lab, which I think is very interesting. Thank you for this amazing course! I recommend it to everyone interested in genetics, epigenetics or who wants to know the relatively new discoveries in the field.

by Dan S

Aug 25, 2018

This is an excellent course that introduces you to fundamental knowledge of several hot topics in the field of epigenetics. Dr. Blewitt herself studies X inactivation, and I learned so much!

by Vasisht V S

Aug 08, 2018

A very informative course which starts from the basics and goes up all the way and the pace of the course is also perfectly set for anyone from professionals to first-timers.

by VIVEK G

Jul 04, 2018

One of the best courses I have been through. I have only one suggestion to include retrotransposons in cancer in details.

by Heba H

Jul 01, 2018

A very simplified, informative, and interesting course.