Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada に戻る

アルバータ大学(University of Alberta) による Indigenous Canada の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
18,715件の評価

コースについて

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

人気のレビュー

SW

2021年6月23日

Very informative, I really enjoyed this course. The perspectives presented were eye-opening, and it was nice to be able to learn more about Indigenous peoples and what they have endured on their land.

LH

2021年6月29日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course in the the way it is presented and the information given. It expanded my knowledge and insights of indigenous history, culture, and knowledge, as well as so much more.

フィルター:

Indigenous Canada: 226 - 250 / 6,900 レビュー

by Adina L

2021年8月15日

Fabulous course! It's eye opening to hear the history of indigenous people from indigenous people......the differences in values- collective rights and wellness vs individual rights in European, the difference between the holistic views of the indigenous peoples and of interrelationship between people land, animals and spirits and the material, power and money perspective of the colonizers.......they couldn't have understood one another from the get go....it wasn't just a question of language.....they were coming from totally different worlds, values, systems of organizing, ways of being, beliefs, traditions ..., And yet from the time colonizers showed upon this soil indigenous people helped them - find food, dress, survive in this climate ..showing a more caring, sharing way of being and wisdom that is so badly needed these days .....now in 2021, we have a new Indigenous GG, a new Female head of the indigenous First Nations Council in Ottawa and hopefully the wisdom and leadership of these indigenous leaders as well as other indigenous leaders speaking across the country about the path of the "Truth and Reconciliation" journey led by indigenous peoples and their allies will usher in a new era of interdependence, sharing and caring which is much needed in Canadian society today.

by Darlene S

2021年7月25日

I​ simply cannot tell you how greatful I am to have taken this instruction. I now know that the information exisits and I just didn't know what I didn't know. I highly recommend that this become part of the high school cirric. across Canada.

T​hank you to the instructors and the artist of engaging my learning in a subject that I knew next to nothing about and I consider myself a more educated allie to the indigenous community. I have a lot more learnin to do, more of a mind to open and the responsibility to speak with purpose to those that simply do not have the understand, knowledge or open mind and heart about the horrific history of past, and present. Changing the future in in my mind, in my heart and that is what I can offer now and forever. Seeking the knowldege feels like I am digging up history and that should not be. It is so hidden in this colonized world. I appreciate the resourses that I have been guided to use in my further education.

I​ am not pleased with my mark as it means that I made mistakes understanding and that cannot happen going forward. Being an adult student in a busy house is NO excuse at all.

K​nowledge is Power. Heart and Mind open,

D​arlene Anne Spray

by Darin J A

2021年9月12日

I​ already came to this course with an idea of the many dark effects that colonization has had on the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island, but I have learned so much more. I think all Canadians should take the opportunity to learn this history. As a 6th generation Canadian with British and European ancestry, I don't know what part any of my ancestors might have played in the negative impacts on Indigenous peoples, but I do not assume that they did not. My next step is to familiar myself with the action items of the Truth and Reconciliation Commision to see how I can help all of us move closer to reconciliation...we still have a long way to go. As a music promoter/former festival programmer, I have had the honour of presenting Buffy Sainte Marie, Susan Aglukark, Elisapie, Digging Roots, Amanda Rheaume, and many other contemporary Indigenous musicians. It was also important to include more traditional forms of singing, drumming and dancing in a summer festival that celebrates Canadian Music & Art. Chi miigwech to all at the U of Alberta who have made this course happen.

by Rickey H

2021年8月31日

This course is fundamental in my overall understanding of Indigenous history, and contemporary issues and lives of Indigenous people living in Canada. I am particularly overjoyed at the addition of the artwork segments to tie in topics in a sometimes lighthearted way. By providing interviews and transcripts of Indigenous people (Kim Tallbear for example) has allowed me to explore resources beyond this course offering. Often times I asked myself as a settler in Canada, what am I suppose to do with all of this information? Do I need to regurgitate facts to colleagues and family members for this to be effective? And I am sure many people ask themselves the same thing prior to taking this course. I would remind them that useful information doesn't always need to fit into a toolbelt, and that simply providing yourself with the awareness of the Indigenous experience in Canada is enough. I am thankful to all of the instructors and participants in this course, it has been a wonderful experience. I implore Coursera to retain this course for all Canadians, and beyond.

by Diane C

2021年9月11日

Thank you for preparing and presenting this course. I learned a lot and it opens doors to learning more about First Nations in Canada, and also the world.

I am from French descent, and have lived in Ontario nearly all my life. I always felt like a minority, as we were surrounded by English villages. But always proud of my culture and language.

Growing up on a farm, we did not live close to Indigenous peoples and sadly were only taught what was in the textbooks at school.

I sincerely enjoyed learning about the Indigenous cultures in this course, and absolutely love and admire your world views especially on your relationship to the land and water, and how you are stewards of the land. Also about education, and how you teach your young, and how each is to be responsible, and the value of the Elders and Knowledge keepers. We (Europeans descendants) have so much to learn from Indigenous peoples.

I hope and pray that reconciliation will continue moving forward, and that we can live in respect and harmony.

Respectfully,

Diane Clément

by Elizabeth K

2021年12月20日

Very informative for me and I would guess a majority of Canadians who are not deeply involved in Indigenous experiences in a professional or personal capacity. Yes, there were lectures but the people speaking were all Indigenous and the interactive paintings were a unique, informative and enjoyable component. As a Canadian who is wanting to take action related to the Truth and Reconciliation Report, I highly vaue the information contained in the course. It is a beginning and provides many events and people whom I can further investigate. It has also motivated me to look around for what is happening in my own area. Many, many thanks to all of the people who pulled together this information and organized it in one accessible place. I highly recommend the course - no it is not perfect but it is certainly a welcome change to decades of my government silencing Indigenous voices and keeping most Canadians completely ignorant about Indigenous history in Canada and the appalling actions of government towards Indigenous people.

I

by Yvonne M D

2021年4月8日

I really enjoyed this course. I grew up in the Urban setting and was disconnected from my Native Roots, but always wanted to learn about this part of my heritage, even though it is a Canada program and I am an American, I felt at home, learning about the customs and tradition, I was never taught since my people passed as white and never practiced the old way of life, really helped me to understand more about my origins. I felt more connected to my heritage than I ever have, I just wish here in America was more like Canada, in how there is value in ones heritage in Canada, unlike here in America, where there is such a disconnect if you aren't living on the Res. The support outside the Res, like Neechi Commons, (Now Closed) friendship centers etc.... could really be beneficial in America, where there are Native Families who have never lived on a res and know so little about their culture, Great Program will recommend to anyone, even white folks, who seek a greater understanding of true history.

by Scott R

2021年1月4日

Really enjoyed this course. It explored a range of topics that I knew very little about, many of which should be included in basic school curriculums in Canada. I'm so happy to have gained a better understanding of indigenous people in Canada, both in historical context and contemporary issues. Thanks so much.

One perspective I felt could have been included in the course was the integral role of indigenous peoples in Canadian resource development and extraction. Despite many challenges, there have also been many success stories, particularly in the mining industry, in the form of collaboration agreements, aboriginal employment opportunities (often in isolated northern communities with high unemployment) and successful consultation/collaboration. Many mining projects have been beneficial to both indigenous communities and the Canadian economy as a whole, and I believe those success stories should be told as a "path forward" for all Canadians working in a resource-driven economy.

by Ryan B

2021年2月10日

This is and edit on my previous review (hopefully this is better) and pardon my terrible grammar .

I'm still a little late on this review in general since finishing this course. What do I say as someone who needed to learn more? I think I had to take it all in and truly think about it.

I thought because I had worked in a field where I worked with indigenous youth before that I had a decent idea about the dynamics of a culture that has been undermined. No I did not. I realized I had been ignorant at times. I think its something some people need to start acknowledging more about their privileged life. Many of us can be so much better.

Any "Canadian" should learn this course . Its so difficult to type anything about a whole course in a few sentences. If you're interested in learning and have an open mind.... which apparently is still needed... then take this course.

I'm going to be better, and I think we can all do that. Seems indigenous people knew that right from the start.

by Jan

2020年5月1日

I loved this course. I learned so much about Inidgenous history both past and recent and ongoing. I have a much better sense of the impact that colonialism had and is still having on Indigenous peoples . I also realize how my education in the Canadian education system is so onesideed so heavily influenced by colonialism . I know sadly that it has not changed very much ..This course should be a mandatory part of our current curriculum in schools across Canada,

I am so grateful for the all the participants in the lectures especially Billy Ray Belcourt , what a speaker!!!!!!!

I am so grateful for this clearer understanding of the Indigenous experience throughout Canadian history and what is still ongoing today. About Inidgenous Ar tI do have to say that I have always seen it as art. I have loved Inuit sculpture since I was a kid . I have read several Indigenous authors listened to Indigenous music just because, but I will understand more the place where it comes from within now.

by Lily A

2021年12月9日

This course is essential for all Canadians in order to understand indigenous history and culture as it relates to Canada. I am even more humbled by the richness, diversity and beauty of indigenous cultures and will continue to do my work on understanding more about where I live and who was here before us.

This course in beautifully crafted and organized. It has taught me that in order to live in Canada, everyone needs to face the facts about this great country. We need to face the ugliest parts of Canadian history as well as understand the incredible depth and diversity of the cultures that resided here long before settlers arrived.

Thank you to the facilitators who spoke and taught throughout the course and to all that put this amazing piece of education together. Also to the incredible artist we see in each section, whose work will have a lasting impression on me. It taught me so much. I know there is more to learn but this is an incredible start!

With love and gratitude....

by Jean-Francois P

2020年11月9日

Today I completed this program, and throughout each module, I was totally involved and learned so much about Indigenous cultures in Canada. To my total disappointment, I realized during the first few modules that our Federal and Provincial Governments and the educational system have lied and hidden so much from us, and I would even say purposely misinformed Canadians and the world about the abuse and the horrible treatments of Indigenous people.

I would suggest that this program be mandatory in all schools across the country from grade 4 or 5 up to grade 12 to properly educate and inform the young generations before their probably already racist entourage wrongly indoctrinates them.

Thank you to all who participated in researching, preparing, and delivering this seminal program that sheds an accurate perspective on Indigenous populations from 1534 to today.

Thank you to the three hosts for a wonderful experience. I am now a more aware, knowledgeable and thankful person.

by Sylvie B

2021年3月18日

Très intéressant. Ce cours m'a aidé à mettre ensemble plusieurs pièces du casse-tête et m'a permis d'approfondir mes connaissances sur les peuples autochtones au-delà des préjugés et des stéréotypes véhiculés par la société. J'ai aimé être exposée à l’histoire, la culture, la philosophie, l'art, les valeurs et l'éducation des peuples autochtones d'un point de vue autochtone. Je comprends mieux l’impact de la colonisation sur la population des premières nations et comment le racisme systémique continue à créer des préjudices. Face à la crise climatique à laquelle nous sommes tous confrontés, nous aurions beaucoup d’enseignements à tirer de la sagesse transmise par la parole des aîné-e-s. Je recommande ce cours à tous, et en particulier aux canadiens et canadiennes ne serait-ce que par devoir et respect envers les premiers habitants de notre terre d’accueil. La parole autochtone est pour moi une force émergente qui ne peut qu’enrichir nos vies si on y prête oreille.

by Mari L P

2021年6月11日

I thought I knew much about Indigenous Canada. The Treaties section was and eye-opener and mind blowing as to how the Canadian Government are still have control and suppresses the people with the creations of various Laws, Acts and other roadblocks so they remain dependant on them.

The entire course was very informative. It should be a recommendations for high school students. There are to many negative images of the Indigenous Peoples so it would be wonderful if Newcomers to Turtle Island should have to learn about Canada an then when they take their Canadian Citizenship test their should be questions on the country and peoples they choose to become citizens. Being an Indigenous person that is non-Canadian, I can identify with the stereotypes and negative lenses we are viewed.

I got sick after completing Week 9, but I was happy that I was able to extend my completion date. Highly recommend the course to anyone wanting to learn about Canada Indigenous History.

by Jason G

2020年9月9日

As someone who grew up, denied of his heritage and culture. I am grateful for this course, it's knowledge, understanding and inspiration. The lesson on art and it's ability to raise awareness, understanding, while inspiring, touched my soul and encouraged me even more to continue with my public art sculpture, The Missing Rose. The Missing Rose, funded through the Original Peoples Investment Program by Calgary Arts Development and the City of Calgary. Is a contemporary metal sculpture of 11 enlarged polished steel roses, set in a broken heart shaped vase, centered on a Medicine Wheel base. 11 Roses as one is missing to honor and commemorate our lost sisters. This project is focused on raising awareness and donations, while honoring and commemorating the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls of Canada. Thank you Tracy Bear, Alannah Mandamin-Shawanda, Isaac Twinn and everyone involved in making this course possible. All my Relations,

Jason Gordon

by Kathy M

2021年12月5日

I can't say enough good things about this course. It's enriching, well delivered, well structured, the course notes are an incredible and comprehensive resource for further study. As a settler immigrant to Canada with over 35 years in the country, I wish I had access to this information decades ago. I came into the course thinking that I knew quite a bit about Indigenous people's history and contemporary issues and I'm leaving the course with the humble realization that I've barely scratched the surface. I am inspired to continue to learn the truth and to impact positive change through my personal journey of education and understanding which guides me through my own experience of sadness and rage, determination and courage and ultimately, humility and love to stand together with Indigenous peoples in the spirit of reconciling and healing, for the benefit of all people, all tribes. I highly recommend this course. I truly can't believe it's free!

by Doug O

2020年6月30日

Very well-delivered and presented. The trio of educators worked well together, each delivering a distinct style of teaching. I was frequently shocked (and saddened) to realize the misinterpretations of Indigenous history that I was exposed to during my secondary and post-secondary education. The selectivity with which our textbooks and teaching materials were produced years ago. And the biases that we non-Indigenous were and often continue to be exposed to. Excellent balance of video, quizzes, interactive art and reading. (There were a few hiccups with the transcription of the interviews and lectures as some speakers words were transcribed inaccurately so their spoken words were contradicted by the transcription notes. I found this in the last third of the course. THUMBS UP for the variety of interviewee subjects and experts. I highly recommend this course, especially to anyone in media or communications and, of course, for educators. Many thanks.

by Dechen Y

2022年4月9日

T​his course opened my eyes to the rich history of the Indigenous peoples in Canada, the centuries of injustices suffered post contact and the inter-generational trauma that runs deep beneath continuing struggles being faced today. First Nations people's close relationship with the land and nature resonates with my personal belief that we are closely connected with the earth and must treat her with respect in order to keep the soil, water and air clean for future generations. Doing this course has made me even more aware that where I live (Mississauga), is located on the Traditional Territory and Treaty Lands of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation.​ I love how the course also hi-lights the resilience, leadership and creativity of First Nations peoples. Highly recommend this course for anyone who calls Canada home. Kudos to the team that put together and narrated the content and the fabulous artwork that accompanied the course. Thank you!

by David M W

2020年11月16日

It is very difficult to offer a course that tries to cover the breadth of material that this course covers and to present it to people with a wide range of learning backgrounds, but I was very impressed with how good the course was. Overall, it was excellent and I would highly recommend it to others. If there was one thing I would have liked to have seen more about in the course it would be the historical relationship between Indigenous people and European settlers in the Maritimes (and southern Ontario and Quebec) prior to 1850. In that time period much of the focus of the course was on the fur trade and areas in the western and northern parts of Canada. It was mentioned that relationships changed in the west after 1850 when farming and more permanent communities were established, but there was not much about how the permanent settler communities of the east (and lack of fur trade in that region) defined Indigenous / settler relationships.

by Laurie J B

2022年1月14日

Course Content and all Presenters were excellent! I had some limited knowledge of the real history of our Aboriginal Peoples and learned so much more in the course. I was filled with sorrow, heartache , and shame ; as well as hope and promise that we as a country and community we will Do Better moving forward. I will carry with me , what I have learned to share with family ,friends and neighbours . I am interested in more courses on our Indigenous Peoples. Thank you to all involved in the presentation and course study and for the free access.

Thank you to the tech staff , as I was committed to several on line learning situations and had to send 2 emails to connect me back into the course. It was almost immediate and so appreciated. Enabling me to complete this incredible learning experience. I suggest this course be in public and private schools across our country!

sincerely and with appreciation of everyone

Laurie Boyd

Fergus ON

by Gervin A A

2021年3月23日

This is an interesting and very insightful course on Indigenous issues in Canada. I have learned a lot about how Indigenous peoples have been marginalized and discriminated against on their own land. I have also learned and gained knowledge about the history, culture and traditions of Indigenous people. Although settles have tried in diverse ways to change the culture and traditions of the people, they are not yielding to settle pressure and oppression but findings ways and means to maintain and conserve their traditions and cultures through social movements and activism. It is my pleasure signing up for this course and I give credit to the organizers for organizing this course for people to learn about Indigenous people's issues, especially the discrimination, subordination and marginalization they experiencing. I will recommend this course to anyone interested in studying and understanding Indigenous issues in Canada.

by Monique N

2021年4月1日

This course is excellent, moving, and inspiring. I have studied the colonial history of Canada and the experiences of Indigenous Peoples in Canada before, however taking this course has reminded me and inspired me to continue learning and engaging with this history and these experiences. I am currently working on a second Masters and I am preparing a paper on intergenerational trauma and the ongoing impact of colonialism in Canada. As I write this paper, I will remember the many ways that this course has demonstrated Indigenous voice and agency and strength. It is not just about understanding the devastating impacts of ongoing colonial patterns and practices, but also seeing the strength and empowerment and leadership of Indigenous Peoples. I agree with the TRC report recommendations that non-Indigenous Canadians have an accountability to learn about our colonial past, not to passively wait for someone to teach us.

by Mary M

2021年4月11日

This was an excellent, well-paced and engagingly delivered course. As a non-Canadian, but an anthropologist long interested in indigenous peoples, I found it very informative and logically organised. It is also to be commended for its thought provoking treatment of understanding wider issues of colonisation, patriarchy, racism, genocide, extractive exploitative economics, ecosystem degradation, and respect for different ways of knowing and world views, all so much needed by all peoples everywhere. I liked the combination of delivered lectures, art narratives, testimonials and videos. The notes will be very useful for further exploration of issues, events, places and people in more depth. I am grateful for this being made available free, and for the professionalism, commitment and authenticity of the three presenters, and the indigenous artist who "accompanied" the student at every lesson. Thank you all so much.

by Gail M

2020年12月4日

I was glad to have had the opportunity to take this course. History texts,books need to be corrected and this course would be very useful for Grade 7, 8 and above. With regards to a specific ongoing battle out in the East Coast between the Miqmaq and the commercial fishermen - I am thinking that anyone who applies for a commercial liscence re fishing, hunting, logging, and any kind of resource extraction should HAVE to take a similiar kind of course as part of the liscensing process BEFORE they get their liscence. Hopefully something like this might deter events escalating to the point that they have out East. Gchii-miigwetch to all the intsructors, elders, artists and others who contributed to this course. I quickly caught the word indoctrination in one review and yeah if you have to see it that way - it might seem to be the only way to correct and move forward from the harm done by colonization.

by Karena M

2021年4月19日

I'm so thankful for this excellent course. Since about 13 yrs old, I had a sneaking suspicion that there was WAY MORE to the history of Canada - that it really wasn't mainly about Christopher Columbus. Well, now we have a much better and clearer and realistic picture of what really happened. Thank you to the whole team at U of Alberta, your faculty and all the people who helped put this course together. I shall spread the word to encourage others to take this course. I've gotta say, having Dan Levy suggest it put a lot of wind in the sail - which is sometimes what is needed. I also enjoy the APTN tv station which has been discussing some of the topics I have learned about - getting more informed is pretty well a responsibility, wherever you live. And we happen to live in Canada, so...... Thanks again and wishing you the best of luck, courage and continued determination and successes going forward.