Chevron Left
Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
447件の評価

コースについて

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 4, 2021, and will conclude on November 15, 2021. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 4 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org . We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

人気のレビュー

WC

2017年3月20日

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

MF

2016年12月29日

Enriching, wide reaching in scope. The Prof. Al Filreis lets ideas, not necessarily his own, in for debate and comment. The TAs are simply brilliant both in form and content. Bravo!

フィルター:

Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”): 101 - 125 / 164 レビュー

by Maeve O

2016年11月17日

I did most of this on my commute and it was so much fun. It has impacted my perception of modern poetry - the difference is spreading.

by Ar

2020年10月23日

Awesome course. This course made me fall in love with poetry even more and realise its endless scope and implications.

by Xinshu A X

2016年11月20日

Tons of thanks and appreciation to Al, TAs, and everyone who has enjoyed Modpo as much as I do in the past two months!

by Treva S

2016年9月14日

More than a course. More than poetry. More than it's international community. More than edifying. More than inspiring.

by Steven S

2021年2月16日

Awesome class! I learned so much and never once felt talked down to. I recommend to anyone interested in learning.

by La T

2019年3月20日

Oh, where to start??? The community!!! Thank you just for being there.

If you wander far enough

you will come to it

by KayCee K

2016年11月21日

Any one who loves poetry or reading, as in what you think about the words your reading will enjoy this class!

by Niels M S

2017年5月29日

Mind blowing and life-changing. Some of the best teaching I have ever received, in class or in the internet.

by Shabab N K

2016年11月22日

Simply the best course you will ever participate in. Online or in real.

Modpo is like a family to me now.

by Tia L

2022年5月17日

For all those who enjoy a good poem, this is the perfect course to explore all those poets in the past.

by Lily

2021年5月6日

Amazing, stimulating course! Well presented and thought provoking! Al and the TA's are the best!

by Yaron A

2016年10月24日

Wonderful course! Very enlightening. It taught me a lot about reading poetry that I didn't know.

by Jeeva M

2021年2月22日

Its enrich the skill of analyzing the poem. Thank You Filreis for different interpretation.

by roya n

2020年9月13日

this course gave me a whole new perspective on how to read and most importantly feel POETRY

by Christopher F

2016年11月27日

In both its content and its pedagogy, this is the best MOOC I've taken. Highly recommended.

by AHENDRILA G

2020年9月20日

Best. Thing. Ever. Thank you for making me fall in love with poetry, in ten weeks time!

by Brian S

2020年1月30日

This class was challenging, enriching and it was worth every moment that I put into it.

by Karen M

2020年12月6日

Inspiring in every way. Opened up my brain cells and made me think again. SO grateful.

by Udeshika I D S K

2021年11月13日

A really nice course. I really enjoyed the course. Very descriptive and informative.

by dina h

2016年11月22日

If there were more stars, I would have selected them. Highly recommend this course!

by Bin L

2017年10月10日

Wonderful course. I love all the discussions and interpretations of modern poetry.

by Shwetha H

2021年11月4日

A wonderful course. My love for poetry in English increased due to this course.

by Kathleen C

2020年10月11日

Exceptional class, carefully crafted to give the learner an optimal experience.

by Juliana L B

2020年5月9日

I LOVED THIS COURSE AND IN MY OPINION IT IS A COMPLETE COURSE ABOUT LITERATURE

by Laura R

2020年12月9日

I have enjoyed this immeasurably

With my utmost gratitude to all

Laura