Chevron Left
Old Norse Mythology in the Sources に戻る

コロラド大学ボルダー校(University of Colorado Boulder) による Old Norse Mythology in the Sources の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
62件の評価
28件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is an introduction to the religion of the Vikings as it is recorded in Old Norse and Scandinavian literature from the medieval period. You will learn about the different written sources and what they can teach us about pre-Christian religion in northern Europe in the Viking Age. The course surveys the primary collection of Old Norse poetry about the pre-Christian Scandinavian gods, the Poetic Edda. We will also work with the main collections of stories about the Old Norse gods in prose: Snorri Sturluson's Edda and Saxo's History of the Danes....

人気のレビュー

JH

2021年11月23日

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

TG

2022年4月6日

Excellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

フィルター:

Old Norse Mythology in the Sources: 1 - 25 / 30 レビュー

by Ramon v O

2022年2月24日

​While the topic is highly interesting, and the teacher clearly knows his stuff. The course itself is hardly interactive, and only a powerpoint presentation with a voice reading the exact text of the slides. I stopped the course.

by Steven S

2021年11月30日

D​r. Nordvig presents interesting information. It is not just the dates and places, it is the who and the why. I took everything I thought I knew, and flipped it on its head. I am glad I took the class and look forward to further classes presented by Dr. Nordvig.

by Paul G

2021年12月2日

Useful intro with good course content, spoilt by errors in test questions and lack of responce from coursera to reported issues.

by Rafael M C

2022年2月1日

I didn't like this course. I stopped after the first module (first week) because I checked and the rest of the course follows the same structure. T​he videos are monotonous and the instructor could be easily subtituted by a list of bullet points. He rarely makes any observations and the tests are atrocious quizzes wanting people to remember specific dates from an infinity of dates provided. After teh first week, I felt that I didn't teh information I had hoped to learn. The quality of this course is really poor and I don't hink this is a good introduction to the topic. A suggestion is for the videos to be a little more dynamic and interactive. Another thing that could be different is teh presence of the instructor in some of the videos. Finally, I would like to suggest you don;t foucs the quizzes into a bunch of dates only scholars would know by heart.

by Thomas W

2022年3月7日

I​ really do want to offer my thanks to Dr. Nordvig for offering such an in-depth course for free, and greatly admire his philosophy behind doing so. I was trying to prepare for a Masters degree in Medieval Studies, and already had some experience with medieval Icelandic sagas, but this course hugely informed me about Eddic poetry and Old Norse mythology as an academic study.

F​rom this course I have learned, amongst many other subjects, about gods, monsters, and heroes; about the structure of pre-Christian Scandinavian society and religious groups, and the consequent influence of Christianity on medieval authors; finally about the concept of euhemerism, which was both new and intriguing for me.

F​or anyone considering taking this course, whether for academic purposes or simply to learn more about a mythology that has permeated Western culture for centuries, I cannot recommend it enough. Dr. Nordvig is clearly an expert in his field, though his presentations are easy to follow and to understand, and I encourage anyone who finishes the course to read his own publications and to read more into the subject matter.

1​0/10.

by Elizabeth G

2022年1月29日

This course gives a brief but fairly comprehensive introduction to Old Norse Mythology as found in the early sources, around the 12th to 14th centuries. The lectures are concise and interesting. The instructor has chosen the topics well and also has done a good job condensing the stories for students. I wish there was more explanation about Skaldic and Eddic poetry (meter, rhyme, structure??) but maybe that is best left to another course.

by Viking G R

2021年12月4日

Good Introduction to Norse Mythology, definitely learned some interesting details especially regarding historical evidence of runic inscriptions, age of written records and how written compositions were influenced by the author and the dominant religious dogma of the time.

by Linda B

2022年3月8日

Through this course I was able to become acquainted with the foundations of Old Norse Mythology-- the terminologies, important texts, important dates, and the historical contexts. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to get a quick intensive on this subject.

by Rheged-armer T

2022年1月31日

A really good overview for anyone wanting to have an objective academic approach to Old Norse Mythology. It would be a real help to all those discovering Norse mythology so that they could be objective and not take things out of context.

by ad k

2022年3月28日

An amazing course indeed, and I'd say the most user-friendly course from Colorado system I have taken so far. I have taken a bunch of history and mythology courses, this course taught me a lot though, I gotta admit

by Justin H

2021年11月24日

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

by Shawn T

2022年5月10日

Just finished 'The Last Kingdom' and found the Saxon/Danish world so fascinating. This further deepened my knowlegde of the history of the broader Scandanavian world. Loved it!

by Tomasz G

2022年4月7日

E​xcellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

by Victor R

2021年11月22日

This was a most fascinating and interesting course that I completed on Coursera so far! Looking forward to complete it with honours as well! Skål and may Odin be with you! :)

by Gregory J

2022年5月5日

Incredibly insightful and well put together; highly recommended for anyone intersted in learning more about this fascinating culture!

by Mary R S L

2022年5月6日

I really love it. I enjoyed this course so far. It made me learn more about Old Norse Mythology and learn more about history.

by David H

2022年2月5日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, well presented and easy to follow. Now I've got a much better understanding of this topic.

by JUAN C O C

2022年1月1日

It's been fantastic to take this course, I can't wait for the next one of this compilation of courses

by Ragnar L

2022年4月24日

Great course. Fun course. I learned a lot and am inspired to learn much more about Norse Mythology.

by Julie T

2021年12月2日

A​ great way to get an overall view of Nordic Mythology. Good content!! Easy to understand.

by Sarah F

2022年1月12日

Learned the real history of the Norse myths and the people behind them.

by Daniel D

2022年5月9日

Super Imformative on Norse Culture and Poems

by Juliette F

2022年2月21日

​superb course, well written and presented

by Francisco O C F

2022年1月31日

E​xcelente curso introductorio.

by Michael H

2022年2月24日

thorough