Chevron Left
Introduction to Search Engine Optimization に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Introduction to Search Engine Optimization の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
6,898件の評価
1,872件のレビュー

コースについて

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO with some fun practices to get seen in Google. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how the most popular search engine, Google, works, how the SEO landscape is constantly changing and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from Google. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization!...

人気のレビュー

SS
2016年8月9日

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

AP
2020年7月10日

The way of explaining the terms is excellent and content is very good . I leant many new things from this course. Going to do all the courses of this specialization. Thanks for the wonderful content.

フィルター:

Introduction to Search Engine Optimization: 1726 - 1750 / 1,843 レビュー

by Yogesh G

2020年7月20日

.

by Tobin D

2020年5月2日

/

by Savinay K S

2019年8月10日

.

by Laura M

2019年7月14日

I

by Jonas S

2020年12月4日

Overall, I was satisfied with the content of the course, but have some remarks to the pedagogical aspects of the course and structure.

Content really met, if not exceeded, my expectations. It puts Search Engine Optimisation in a easy to grasp perspective and really indicates the various trends that SEO school of thought underwent over time. It also makes it clear that it is not so much an academic discipline as it is practice oriented course. The course has for me (especially in the times of massive shifting of communication and outreach strategies online) become a huge benefit and a teaser to follow more courses on SEO &co. from UC DAVIS.

However, coming from a social science background with experience in online course design and pedagogy, I almost got put off by most of the content of week 1. I have ambitions in and passion for SEO, as well as science and communication, for which I regard the content of this course very, very, very useful!!

However, according to the profiling of an 'ideal SEO professional', I got a feeling I should not even try entering this domain. In many ways I do not identify myself with the 'ideal profile' of a potential SEO professional candidate that Rebekah May or Dave Lloyd would hire. Which I honestly think is a pity.

My commentary might be, therefore, coming from a slightly biased feeling of being excluded, true. I do not intend or desire to (at least in this moment) to work for or with any of them, however, as a valuable feedback from a social science oriented learner: There might be a lot of qualities, ways of thinking and ideas that by hiring the ideal archetype candidate would be lost. Perhaps I am not the most ideal audience for the course, however, my keyword research on what I need brought me to it.

Not to mention, if I had not truly had the desire to learn about SEO anyways, week 1 would have most likely been the last for me. This would have left the SEO professional domain in its static, solely pro-business oriented thinking.

Lesson learnt for me (and perhaps should be for the course instructors too): There's a lot to learn from other disciplines out there. Be it often the elitist social science way of critical thinking or pragmatic orientation of many business profit oriented activities. Not only online.

Anyways, thank you for this course. Although I perhaps was not intended to be your audience, I made it to the end and since week 2 have been really enjoying the content!

by Miriam F

2017年9月7日

This was somewhat helpful. In general, I didn't find really useful information until course 2 began. However, it may be that I simply am not skilled enough in SEO yet to recognize the importance of finding out so much about its history.

One good thing about this course was helpful background on SEO that enabled one to immediately spot some old SEO practices that some sites still use, but quickly see these are no longer relevant. It may be helpful to understand why some poorly-managed sites are still doing them, however.

One thing I found unhelpful was lots of reading about, and attempts to get me into the discussion of the monetization of the Internet. For one thing, I'm hardly advanced enough in SEO to have any useful opinion on this matter, so it was both a waste of time and an encouragement to develop a largely ignorant opinion. (And once people develop opinions, they tend to fight over them, especially online, in utterly unhelpful ways). Second, for someone who wishes to get into SEO, this debate is irrelevant. It may have interesting philosophical value outside of your job, but the reality is the Internet IS optimized; like it or not. If you don't accept this, don't go into SEO.

Although history is one of my passions, and I found the long historical youtube video very interesting indeed, it was not actually relevant or valuable. As a professional educator coming to this course, I can spot make-work and filler gunk from a mile away.

by Kari M

2016年6月19日

Good information presented, but I can't get past the outdated teaching method of using the first 45 to 60 seconds of each video to talk about what the video is going to cover, then spending 30 seconds repeating those bullet points at the end of each video. Some videos are 4 minutes long, so more than half of the content is not actually content, it is essentially the instructor reading the outline for the upcoming content. It's a waste of both instructor and learner time. There are errors in the materials, and since there is no instructor feedback/interaction, there is no way to find out what was meant (including in reading assignments). All you can do is submit a ticket to get it fixed and hope that it gets corrected for the next people who take this course.

by Andrew C T

2018年8月22日

Positives

A good place to start in relation to SEO. It gives you a basic overview of the history and development of the field as well the range strategies used in modern SEO. The video presentations are informative, clear and well-paced. If you have no real great understanding of how modern SEO works then it certainly delves deep enough to give you a better idea of whether it would be a career path you might want to follow.

Negative

Some of the supplementary reading material and videos can be a bit hit and miss in relation to their quality as educational or informational materials.

by Maximilian P

2020年5月18日

Don't get me wrong. The course is a nice broad introduction. Rebekah May has a lovely way of teaching. However, the first "two weeks" are more of an HR commercial, advertising the SEO career than actually teaching relevant topics. Also "week two" with the co-professor is more than unnecessary and can be left out completely. The rest is (though it is very basic and starts from the very beginning) nicely explained and interesting. I am looking forward to watching the deeper modules and will continue to give this a chance!

by Laura S

2020年7月29日

Videos are pretty informative, especially in weeks 3 and 4. The first two weeks covered history of SEO and job market info, which I found less useful, although it gave me a more comprehensive picture of SEO in general. There's no technical info in this course. The additional readings are not useful (outdated, not well written, many ads on the blogs). The quizzes are okay, but some questions are poorly constructed. The course could be improved with much more interactivity and reinforcement of the concepts.

by Hannes H

2020年6月27日

For me personally, this course was a little waste of time. I entered the course to learn how to optimize content of websites for SEO. Week 4 covered this a little bit with insight into keyword semantics. The weeks 1-3 were not so interesting for me because they cover the job-role "SEO", history of search engines in general and give an overview of major Google search algorithm updates of the past 15 years. This course is great for people who do not have any IT-background and pursue a new career.

by E. W

2017年2月11日

This course is an overview of SEO and doesn't go into a lot of detail of how SEO is actually implemented on the site. What it does do is offer a snapshot of the industry as a job outlook, discuss Google's algorithm impact on SEO practitioners, offers interviews with current SEO analysts and experts, and describes how content affects SEO. I recommend taking the more practical courses in the specialization to get skills needed unless you're an absolute beginner and have no clue what SEO is.

by Laila S D

2018年3月21日

It was an OK course but I didn't think that starting with a whole week on a career in SEO is a good idea. How can I be interested in a career in a field I still know nothing about? Teach me something first and then maybe at the end add some information on how to pursue a career in this area. I skipped almost all of the first week simply because I didn't sign up for the course looking for a career, and couldn't have been convinced to consider it without having taken any other lessons.

by Allison M

2020年4月12日

Very good overview, though it is specifically targeted to those who want an introduction to SEO because they plan to pursue a career in it. I took the course to brush up on basic SEO practices. I'm established in my marketing career though I believe in continuous learning so this was helpful. The job search information wasn't useful. I would love to see a course called - "Basic SEO for the marketing professional" or something to that degree. Thanks.

by Emily T

2020年7月4日

This was a nice introduction to what SEO is and how it is used in the real world. I liked the short format of the videos and readings that helped orient learners in current dialogues. I wasn't a fan of having the "careers" week first, before we really even knew what SEO was, and I would have liked more hands-on projects or questions to put us in the shoes of an actual SEO professional, but on the whole, I liked the course!

by Tenille G

2020年10月14日

This course provided a holistic review of SEO. The content was interesting and informative, and is a good beginners guide to SEO. Although, the course description said beginners level, there are a lot of technical terminology and concepts that needed expanding on in simpler terms. More real world examples could have been touched on as well. Overall a good course for dipping your toes in the digital marketing landscape.

by Malcom L

2019年11月2日

needs more hands on material to drive lessons home. Mindlessly watching videos while robotically taking notes is not going to help in job interviews... the people teaching the course you can tell are highly skilled at what they do.

I love the integration of philosophy and tying in Ludwig Wittgenstein. That was super insightful. Overall I think this course could be better but not bad.

by Erick G

2017年7月7日

There is a ton of great information in this course if you are wanting to learn the theory and history behind SEO. Professor May dumped tons of her knowledge and others' to make this course a great resource for anyone wanting to now the basic "why's" of SEO. The reading assignments can get lengthy at times, but worth sticking it out for.

by Alvaro G

2020年5月5日

I liked how the course introduced the SEO concepts from a historical perspective. However, the quizzes were based on memorizing the names of the updates and numbers. This might work from some, but for me it did not provide extra learning value when you fail quizzes because you didn't memorize, rather than conceptualized knowledge.

by HUIBERT F J A

2018年1月3日

The course is interesting and gives you a good understanding of what SEO is and how search engines work. That said, it does not get into the technical details on how you should build your HTML pages to help search engines better understand what your site is about, which, in my opinion is also important.

by Maleah M

2019年4月3日

It was nice to hear some basics, but it was a lot of subjective information, didn't feel like I was learning as much as I was being sold. However, again, there were some decent basics sprinkled through out. Also, the instructor videos were not super engaging, how scripted they were was very obvious

by Fadoju O

2020年4月26日

There were a few topics that i felt were not totally relevant to the purpose of this course- the history of the internet especially . The whole course was also too theoretical . I think it can be modified to better . Overally, I enjoyed this learning and I hope to continue the process .

by Muhammad U K

2020年9月1日

The video content was great. I learned a lot about the SEO and how numerous factors affected the visibility of a website. But in my humble opinion, the reading material was more like an aggregate of different articles that I could have found online through my research.

by Kwei Q

2020年9月5日

One of the issues I have with this is that it doesn't seem to have been updated since 2018. The links are up to 2018, but between then and 2020, there must be things that must have changed.

The course quizzes for me were moderate to moderately high level of difficulty.

by Suchithra P

2017年8月2日

It really gives you an insight into the world of SEO and the best practices involved. Before signing up for the course, I had zero knowledge about the search engine and keyword optimization, but this course really helped me enhance my knowledge.

Suchithra Pillai