Chevron Left
How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC に戻る

ロンドン大学(University of London) による How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
397件の評価
120件のレビュー

コースについて

Who? If you’re an entrepreneur at any stage of your journey, or even an aspiring one, and you need money to start or grow your business, this course is for you. What? This course will introduce, and help you put to use in your startup, the five models through which your customers can – and will, if you ask them! – fund your business. These five time-tested models have been put to use by entrepreneurial superstars like Michael Dell, Bill Gates, Richard Branson and more. Sadly, though, the five models are rarely talked about and not widely understood. Until now! The five models will be brought to life by the real-world stories of an inspiring collection of incredibly creative entrepreneurs from around the world – including successes and failures – through a series of captivating no-holds-barred interviews with founders and others, and investors, too. Why? More than two generations ago, the venture capital community – VC’s, business angels, incubators, and others – convinced the entrepreneurial world that writing business plans and raising venture capital constituted the twin centerpieces of entrepreneurial endeavor. They did so for very good reasons: the sometimes astonishing returns they’ve delivered to their investors and the incredibly large and valuable companies their ecosystem has created. But the vast majority of fast growing companies never take any angel or venture funding. Are they onto something that most of today’s entrepreneurial ecosystem has missed? Indeed, should a business angel or VC be seen as the first port of call for getting your nascent entrepreneurial venture off the ground or growing it faster? Perhaps not. How? You’ll be asked to do a series of exercises – out in the real world – to put your growing toolkit to use in your business or the one you hope to start. Hands-on, practical tools to help your business start and thrive – without venture capital. You’ll join our discussion board of fellow participants, if you like, and learn from others who are putting the tools to work, just as you are. And to suit today’s fast-paced lifestyles, we’ve broken what you’ll get – short lessons, interviews, thought-provoking questions, even some optional things to read – into bite-sized chunks, so you can log in and grab them whenever and wherever you are. And what else? If, after checking out and perhaps completing this course, you find your company in a position where seeking venture capital turns out to be the right thing to do next, John Mullins leads an inspiring and hands-on executive education course at London Business School – this one face-to-face – called Financing the Entrepreneurial Business. There, among a room full of investors and entrepreneurs, you’ll study a series of captivating real-world cases and learn everything an entrepreneur – or an investor, for that matter – needs to know to handle the person who sits across the deal table and take an entrepreneurial business from start-up to exit. See https://www.london.edu/education-and-development/executive-education/topic/finance/financing-the-entrepreneurial-business#.WIVY_FyTQ-0 for info....

人気のレビュー

SK
2020年7月18日

A beautiful and well oriented course which helps proving your concept of business by customer funding and no external venture capital. Thank you so much to the course instructor and the whole team.

KK
2017年5月12日

It was an amazing opportunity wherein we had a great chance to both learn about various customer funded models through interviews, guest talks and practice them through assignments in parallel

フィルター:

How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC: 1 - 25 / 115 レビュー

by Jaret P

2020年2月25日

Good content but MOOC format fails due to lack of participants doing the assignments. The problem is I complete my assignment but not enough participants are available to peer-review the assignment. I follow coursera guidelines and post messages to the forum. The expectations Mullins sets forth for the assignments are good in practice (you work for your grade) but unrealistic for a MOOC format where I assume time is of a premium. For this course, I actually peer reviewed assignments from 2016! (It's 2020!) That is how long those assignments were waiting to get reviewed. THIS COURSE SHOULD NOT BE OFFERED FOR CREDIT! TAKE AT YOUR OWN RISK! I have not found a way to contact coursera for a refund. I have not tried reaching Mullins or the London Business School to somehow take action. It's not worth my time and $49. Of course the London Business School or Mullins could be laughing themselves to the bank but they will lose reputation because of not having a contingency to manage MOOC quality control. I think coursera loses reputation as well for not publicizing a notification process for courses like this one that have quality content but not the controls in place to deliver the final product (a certification) in a timely manner. I stopped doing homework for this MOOC because what is the point if no one else is grading the assignments? Ridiculous, rubbish. I ended up listening to most of the remaining interviews. I still learned something. But I PAID for the opportunity to get a certificate and COURSERA, London School of Business and Mullins did not hold up their end of the bargain. Yes, these are legal words. Now, I'm not about to sue over $49 but I do have a case as do other MOOC participants before me.

by Marco P

2019年4月17日

This course is very well organised and entertaining. Most of all its content is extremely useful and well backed up by theories (although they are explained in simple terms like the Porter's 5 forces framework) and resources (books, articles, interviews). As a mentor of start ups I already advised this course to some mentees and I myself will get back to it expanding through the main text book. Thanks

by Christian R

2019年6月18日

The course is excellent but some parts of the curriculum are a little outdated so I think it needs to be refreshed.

by SHASHANK S

2019年5月25日

The course is good but the peer-graded assignments are a headache. There is too much work and the given time is very less, this is something which I didn't like about the course.

by Martin R

2017年2月16日

Brilliant course, I got a lot out of this. Covers the main revenue models for customer funding. A great counter to the fashionable way of starting a company (business plan + VC) and a course I'll recommend to those looking to start their own businesses.

The assignments were genuinely challenging (not quizzes) which had me out speaking to entrepreneurs about their perspectives - something I honestly wouldn't have done if not encouraged to do by this course.

The course does assume that you have at least a rough idea for a business before you start. If you're just vaguely interested in business this will be less relevant for you.

by Pradeep N

2018年5月14日

It's a great course. Really loved it. No ready to use solutions, but certainly helps you unlock your potential to be a successful entrepreneur. At least that is the way I found it. The brief moments of pause John had given to the participants asking to think through, is a marvel. It made me come up with many ideas, which never happened in that rate before. If you patiently walk along, rather trying to finish it quick, may be you may find it the same way as me or even better. Best of luck to all of you with your projects and plans!

by Mihai E

2016年11月13日

Very interesting and useful. It was a pleasure to take this course, by professor John Mullins. I read one of his books, "The Customer-Funded Business" which bring some valuable insights to topics revealed during this course. The assignments were useful ass well, and support me to better understand the concepts taught during the course. I recommend this course for everyone that want to have a deeper understanding of the Internet business models and some of the necessary entrepreneurial skills.

by Daria M

2018年1月17日

John Mullins, thank you for creating such an amazing and compact course, that I believe every start up founder should do! All the truth and advice hidden in all the interviews is just priceless!

The rich content and easy to follow tips, provide easy to implement knowledge! The variety of business models discussed make the course relevant to majority of the start ups.

I can't wait to put all that valuable knowledge into practice now!

Daria Marczak

by Jens S

2016年6月29日

I have done a few courses on entrepreneurship and venture capital, so I was quite curious to see what this course had to offer, taking the opposite approach.

And I must say, that it has been the most valuable learning experience so far for me on Coursera. It's really good and it gave me confidence that I'm on the right track, because I will much rather work with my customers than investors, and then bootstrap until I have to money to grow.

by Jorge G

2016年5月2日

As a recent MBA graduate, I can only recommend this course. So far the course is based on diverse and interesting interviews to know first hand the opinion and experience of some of the best players of the sector. These interviews are complemented with optional and mandatory readings to allow any student to catch up with the needed knowledge to take advantage of this MOOC.

by E. S S

2016年8月16日

I have taken a course about VC, and this course is about not needing VC. It's great to have different opinions, and this course offers an easy-to-understand format which consists of introductions of concepts and interviews from startups and investors. Very good course for moving past theoretical ideas and implementation of solutions in real business situations.

by Vas M

2016年6月6日

A great set of ideas, strategies, and examples on how to grow without Venture Capital. I personally love the interviews with experts and successful entrepreneurs. Plus, it has some of the most interesting homework assignments ever; example: talk to at least five entrepreneurs about their experience with VC. Excellent!

by Bianca M S C

2020年8月3日

You are my mentor, I really appreciate your dedication, this course has the most advance technique for entrepreneurship, I have obtained an extensive understanding of business architect, I recommend this course to make a master course or be part in an MBA module.

by Daria Z

2017年12月11日

Very useful course for start-uppers seeking for VC. It gives many insights on DO's and DONTs through the whole process of building you business.

Happy to discover it exactly on the stage of the beginner. I think this course will help me avoid many stupid mistakes.

by Felipe V

2017年1月8日

Truly inspiring course, very dynamic and with a lot of useful tools as the interviews and the recommended readings. I feel that i learned a bunch out of the course how the VC ecosystem works and some key facts to give a new life or perspective to my business.

by Danai M P

2018年12月10日

Excellent, snappy presentation, very relevant and engaging interviews, good assignments that signify in the real world. Very helpful explanations of the five customer funded models. pitfalls to avoid as important as success stories. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

by Alejandro C

2017年11月12日

This course is mandatory material for those wanting to start a business. I am surprised to learn of things i am currently doing without being told, and discovering other things i should be doing and did not know of.

by Sandheep P

2019年6月11日

It is an amazing course in terms of how it ca help with setting up business without getting funded. It gives a glimpse of journeys of many startups which went the customer-funded way. Must need for an entrepreneur.

by Samyuktha H

2016年4月24日

This course is very helpful to all those aspiring entrepreneurs who have an idea but are not sure of sorting the financials out. Thanks a lot to University of London, London Business School and Prof. John Mullins

by Fardin A

2017年3月4日

It was a really insightful course elaborating on each customer funded business model so that you both understand and enjoy learning. The content of this course are highly functional and useful for a startup.

by OLIVIER D

2020年6月19日

Thank you very much for this course. I will change my approach to customers. Besides, I have already started to request payment in advance and I feel that it is the best method for really positive actions.

by Annette D

2019年7月2日

Very informative and engaging, the interviews and case studies in particular with their wide variety of perspectives provided rich and detailed insights of value to anyone interested in business models.

by Salman W K

2020年7月19日

A beautiful and well oriented course which helps proving your concept of business by customer funding and no external venture capital. Thank you so much to the course instructor and the whole team.

by Krishnarjunarao G K

2017年5月13日

It was an amazing opportunity wherein we had a great chance to both learn about various customer funded models through interviews, guest talks and practice them through assignments in parallel

by Emi H

2018年4月2日

I can not recommend this course highly enough. It literally has changed my life and is from my perspective a must take for every aspiring entrepreneur and also for those already on the path.