Chevron Left
Critical Issues in Urban Education に戻る

シカゴ大学(The University of Chicago) による Critical Issues in Urban Education の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
66件の評価
23件のレビュー

コースについて

Urban school reform in the United States is characterized by contentious, politicized debate. This course explores a set of critical issues in the education and educational reform space, with a focus on aspects of the field that have sparked controversy and polarized views. We will dig into these debates, situating them within the larger history of public education and school reform, and considering the viewpoints, the evidence, and translation of issues into educational policy. We will consider three broad topics in this course: 1. Federal Strategies in School Reform: How has the federal government legislated and incented public school reform? 2. School Choice: How does school choice aim to improve schools? 3. Accountability: What is the history of accountability in American public schooling? What are the policies and practices associated with accountability? Learning Goals This course will enable participants to: 1. develop an informed historical perspective about public schooling in the United States; 2. understand the unique contextual elements of the American approach to public schooling; 3. analyze and assess divergent viewpoints about American public school history and school reform policy. Teachers may be able to receive continuing education credit for successful completion of this course. To earn continuing education credits students must purchase and earn the Course Certificate, which they can then submit to the credit-issuing agency in their state. Students should also fill out the requisite paperwork stating that the affiliated provider is the Graham School at the University of Chicago, and that average time for certificate-level course completion is 18 hours. Students outside of Illinois should contact their state’s accreditation board to determine whether this course is eligible for continuing education credit. Note that it is up to the schools or districts that employ teachers to decide whether this course meet their requirements....

人気のレビュー

ML
2017年3月9日

Logically organised, informative and enjoyable. This was an excellent introductory course to Urban Education Issues and provided me with a solid starting point for exploring the subject.

BC
2019年1月26日

Help a lot, got to learn a lot from this course. As I am student-teacher, this course is really helpful to reflect upon the concerns and issues in the education.

フィルター:

Critical Issues in Urban Education: 1 - 23 / 23 レビュー

by Kerry N

2017年3月30日

I thought the course was very interesting and the videos were great. One criticism I have, though, is that the name of the course is misleading; it really should have been called Educational Reform in the US. I don't think we studied specifically urban issues at all.

by Terry L L

2018年5月2日

Good course. I have spent over 40 years working in major research universities, but my knowledge of K-12 education was inadequate. This course helped to fill a major gap in my understanding of the vast U.S. system of education. The professor's lectures were well-organized and informative. I also enjoyed the panel discussions. My only complaint--and this applies to many of the other Coursera courses that I have completed--are the long waiting times for the peer review process.

by Gabrielle D

2017年7月4日

I find this course very well done and particularly well explained for people like me who work in Education in the US but did not grow up here. Sara Ray Stoelinga is very clear and interesting. I am on week 2 out of 10 and decided to upgrade to get the certificate because her teachings are so worth it.

I am not sure that the course has been updated to include the new Trump administration. In any case, this is a great course and I recommend it.

by Jason M

2016年12月5日

I am thankful for the opportunity to learn. I promise to use this information to help empower and develop urban schools across Ohio and hopefully this nation. I believe all kids can learn but not all practices are productive to bring about hope to all young people. I found the professor to be brilliant and insightful. Thank you again for the opportunity to learn

by Mohammad O A

2020年6月27日

Thorough coverage of various topics related to school reform. A great introduction to this subject for me. I really appreciated the effort which went into getting together an expert panel, whose members shared their complex opinions in a heartfelt respectful manner. I enjoyed this course!

by Michael S

2020年10月7日

I enjoyed the course very much! Professor Stoelinga gave us great factual information as well as informative lectures. She also provided excellent panel discussions that gave us great insight . I look forward to taking additional courses with her!

by Alyssa H

2017年2月18日

The topics were very thorough and covered everything I was wanting to learn more about in this area. The videos were done well. I also really liked the opportunity to comment and interact with other learners throughout the course.

by Muhammad i

2019年12月30日

i am happy to complete this course because i have learned a lot of positive information about the education learning methodologies and tacts. i need fully awarded course free of cost.

idreesiub7@gmail.com

by Martha J L

2017年3月10日

Logically organised, informative and enjoyable. This was an excellent introductory course to Urban Education Issues and provided me with a solid starting point for exploring the subject.

by Baseera K C

2019年1月27日

Help a lot, got to learn a lot from this course. As I am student-teacher, this course is really helpful to reflect upon the concerns and issues in the education.

by Terrell J

2018年3月20日

Very informative and entertaining. Learning the true requirements that makes up the no child left behind reauthorization is ver

by Denise M J

2018年9月12日

Great course with great information to help me in my daily job but also with my non-profit and community advocacy work.

by Francis M

2020年3月12日

Enjoyable course with manageable requirements. Great ability to access the information around a busy schedule.

by Yin Z

2017年8月31日

Great Introduction to US education system, especially the Urban Education. The teacher is great!

by Esaite L

2017年6月6日

I loved this course. A great introduction to so many facets and perspectives of urban education.

by Antonio A G L

2019年10月24日

Excellent course to get the foundations and history of U.S. public education

by Gaonkar R M

2017年1月4日

Awesome course. A little difficult but worth it.

by Daniel C A

2020年5月19日

Very good indeed! great teacher

by Alicante, R F

2020年9月30日

Recommended course.

by Abdul H

2018年8月13日

Great

by AMJITH S

2020年6月12日

Good

by Monisa A

2021年10月10日

This class needs updated videos to address the issues in current times and the progress that has or hasn't been occurred through the research and applications of the featured speakers. The course videos are from 2014 without updates. As with all of the courses I have taken through Coursera, individual universities should be more actively involved with "grading" and feedback for individual students inquiries.... potential to ask questions, etc.