Chevron Left
Essentials of Global Health に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Essentials of Global Health の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
658件の評価
144件のレビュー

コースについて

Essentials of Global Health is a comprehensive introduction to global health. It is meant to introduce you to this topic in well-structured, clear and easy to understand ways. Much of the course will focus on five questions: What do people get sick, disabled and die from; Why do they suffer from these conditions? Which people are most affected? Why should we care about such concerns? What can be done to address key health issues, hopefully at least cost, as fast as possible, and in sustainable ways? The course will be global in coverage but with a focus on low- and middle-income countries, the health of the poor, and health disparities. Particular attention will be paid throughout the course to health systems issues, the linkages between health and development, and health matters related to global interdependence. The course will cover key concepts and frameworks but be practical in orientation. ESSENTIALS OF GLOBAL HEALTH WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Course Learning Objectives By the end of the course, learners should be able to: • Articulate key public health concepts related to global health; • Analyze the key issues in global health from a number of perspectives; • Discuss with confidence the burden of disease in various regions of the world; how it varies by sex, age, and location; key risk factors for this burden; and how the disease burden can be addressed in cost-effective ways; • Assess key health disparities, especially as they relate to the health of low-income and marginalized people in low- and middle-income countries; • Outline the key actors and organizations in global health and the manner in which they cooperate to address critical global health concerns; • Review key global health challenges that are likely to arise in the coming decades. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Value Added of the Course The course seeks to add special value by being comprehensive, by handling each topic in a consistent framework, and by helping learners gain an understanding of well grounded approaches to assessing global health issues and what can be done to address them. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Readings and other materials for Essentials of Global Health For almost every session of Essentials of Global Health, you will see: - Required readings - Recommended readings - Recommended videos We have selected a small number of readings for each session that are central to understanding the content of the session. We have put these under “required readings”. For each required reading, we have also indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. In addition, we have selected some additional readings that would be very helpful to your understanding the content of each session. The first is a textbook, Global Health 101, third edition. This is a comprehensive introductory textbook that closely follows the content of this Essentials of Global Health course. We have indicated for each session what part of the book you should read. Using this textbook can be very valuable to your mastering the content of the course. The second set of “recommended readings” is some additional readings, mostly from journal articles and reports. For these, too, we have indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. Learners should note that to access articles from The Lancet they will have to register with the Lancet, if they do not have online access to a library that has The Lancet. Once they are registered, they will be able to sign into The Lancet and access all of its free articles. We have also indicated for most sessions one or two videos that relate to the topic of the session. These are meant to help the learner get a better feel for the topic which is being covered. Most learners will find the videos brief, easy and enjoyable to watch, and very enlightening....

人気のレビュー

MM

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

DT

Apr 25, 2020

The course is exceptionally wonderful for those who are not familiar with health background. It really helps to me to equip better knowledge of health issues in the world. I strongly recommend it.

フィルター:

Essentials of Global Health: 1 - 25 / 149 レビュー

by Benjamin M V

Dec 05, 2017

This is the BEST course I've ever taken on Coursera! It's very complete, covers a very wide range of topics, has tons of mandatory and additional references for reading, the Prof. is very good at teaching, the visual production and materials are impeccable and the fact that it almost makes you feel like if you were sitting there in the very same classroom is an aspect that other courses should try to implement. It would be awesome if peer reviewed essays were required for this course.

If you want to learn about global and public health, this is the best way to introduce yourself to those topics.

by Prompiriya P

Apr 26, 2020

Magnificent course! I enjoyed every lectures by Professor Skolnik because the course was designed to be very rich in detail and scientific research from WHO, but with warm atmosphere and very simple/forgiving Quizzes for knowledge check through-and-through. Taking this course during the pandemic lockdown really helps with understanding of the disease and its implications and effects to our world and health. Even for someone like me who is not in scientific workfield.

One thing to be fixed would be that some Reading material link either does not work or, in Professor's Skolnik's text cases, does not exist on that website anymore.

by Egoabata O

Aug 01, 2017

This course was very informative and easy to follow & understand. I have no background in global or public health but taking this course really helped me understand the topic better and grow m interest in the field. I definitely recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in global health.

by Maitreyee

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

by Noime L

Apr 28, 2020

By far, one of the best course I have taken. I like how Professor Skolnik discussed each lesson throughout the whole course with vignettes in relation to the topic. Only the problems are some of the links to the readings are dead. But overall, still a great course to take. I learned a lot!

by Norma A B H

Feb 28, 2018

Me parece un curso excelente, abarca muy bien el sistema de salud, sin embargo, me gustaría que abarcaran el tema de protección al planeta y cómo afecta económicamente, socialmente, y obviamente en la salud. Gracias, quedo muy satisfecha, y muy enriquecedor.

by TAMARA O

Oct 25, 2017

Very engaging course. I have gained in-depth knowledge on addressing issues that affect health globally. I recommend this course anytime, anywhere.

.

by aamani

Aug 24, 2018

The course offered a detailed view about general health problems on a broad areas. From the course, we gain experience in some strategic thinking materials to design better health systems and take decisions to improve global health

by Bernardo C P

Dec 20, 2017

It is a comprehensive course, covering a broad range of topics and you can get a glimpse of nearly every subjects concerned with Global Health. Yet, the classes are very monotonous, not dynamic at all. The information is transmitted in the the same way every single class and after 3 or 4 classes into the course it starts getting boring and repetitive. Besides, in my opinion, many of the recommended articles are not relevant. The time dedicated to each reading is always way over underestimated as it will take you much more time than planned to go through everything if you wish to go that deep. The recommended book is very good though.

by Mariama S D

Aug 27, 2018

Essential of Global Health is an interesting and cross cutting course of all aspects of global and public health.

I have learnt amazing issues ranging from what people get sick, disabled, and die from to some topics on communicable and non communicable diseases, and lots more.

Most importantly, it is very crucial for anyone interested in working within the field of global health, especially in low and middle income countries, where the epidemiological transition is growing very high and communicable diseases are also issues of both public and global health concern.

Thank you Professor Scolnik for your efforts in ensuring that we gain up-to-date knowledge and skills in the field of global health.

by Francisco F P

May 05, 2020

Definitely a 101 course on Global Health which you should take in case you're interested in the topic and want to kick-start that enthusiasm. Or maybe if you just want to dedicate several hours to the topic in order to have a global awareness of such a relevant matter in Health.

I applied for Financial Aid due to my interest in the course and, after knowing I had been accepted, I took some 7 days of intensive learning to complete the course, while also reading the suggested Global Health 101, which I believe was very positive.

I can't enough to Coursera and Yale University for this opportunity, which I will surely share among people with similar interests!

by CHUKWUKELU C I

Apr 06, 2020

I am glad I got through it despite my tight schedules. It was very helpful in keeping my mind updated with the events and challenges that face our daily lives. With the knowledge I have acquired, I'm ready to apply them anytime I come in contact with a problem. Thank you Yale university for this awesome privilege, I never in my dreams believed I will have this opportunity to conclude a course in one of the ivy league institutions

by Rozemarijn E v d J

Apr 15, 2020

I really liked it a lot, I didn't know I would be interested in the whole Global Health bizz. yet I was drown to it. I couldn't stop studying, I might pursue another career. I think as a human you are obligated to take care of other people. If I can make an impact like this, I would. So thank you for this opportunity, I am ever so grateful that thanks to you I have found more knowledge.

by Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

I cannot praise this course too highly - it is simply superb. The lecturer is brilliant - very knowledgeable, and someone who puts the material across with great clarity and enthusiasm. The 10 weeks are well arranged and providing one works hard, you come away feeling quite an expert on the subject. I have enrolled in quite a few MOOCs over recent years, but this is by far the best.

by Pascal P

Jul 26, 2018

Overall a good course with a very broad coverage of many different topics. However, there were certain things I did not like, such as the bad quizzes (when there was an answer "all of the above" it is almost always the correct one and I didnt even had to read the question.) and the faked conversations between the professor and the students. Not a fan of it.

by Anton R

May 28, 2020

I wish to especially thank the professor. He explained a lot of difficult concepts well and I was enthused to continue and finish this course because of him. This course gave an excellent overview of the salient points pertinent to global health and this serves as a great primer to topic.

by Daniel M

May 16, 2020

Mr.Skolnik kept the course very engaging and light while still being able to deliver key details. The setting in which other students are included in the online course immerses the viewer, making the transition from a regular traditional classroom to an online course as very easy.

by Abigail S

May 17, 2020

A really comprehensive overview of the different areas of health - not just limited to the physical (diseases), but including accidents and injuries, mental health, nutrition, etc.

Really enjoyable course, good content, well-paced and excellent range of assessment materials.

by AYSHA S

Oct 28, 2018

This is more informative , convenient and Easily available course That is best in a lot of aspects of life either personal, financial or behavioural life. If ever i would have a similar opportunity to get it i will definitely try to approach it in my first possibility.

by Redvers F C

May 11, 2020

This course was extremely informative, well presented and enjoyable. I feel that I have a lot more knowledge about global health after taking part in this course and I'd like to thank Coursera and Yale University for allowing me to take part in this superb course.

by Jonathan G

Feb 22, 2018

learned a lot about global health but it seems a lot of these concepts and trends are a no-brainer. Of course, there is a huge problem with obesity globally, but it doesn't state the obvious about how to fix the problem i.e. getting more exercise, nutrition etc.

by Nino G

Jul 07, 2018

One of the best courses I have ever taken. I'm doing MPH at Essex University and Richard Skonlik's "Global Health 101" is the essential reading throughout the first module. This course is very supportive, relevant and essential for health care specialists.

by Atiene M T

Feb 21, 2020

Engaging professor , great visual aid and world class content. I'm now anble tom decipher public health issues, identify top industries and organizations and also suggest solutions to Public health issues.

You SHOULD take this course.

by Nuno M V M d S d J

Apr 09, 2020

This course needs more, more information, I didn't learn much, a lot of the things that are explained here are very common knowledge

It will look good on the cv, but be much better structured and it could be more interesting

by Marlene S

Jun 04, 2017

Altough the Course was a bit to fundamental for me and my Knowledge, I think it was perfectly outlaid. Everything worked so well - the videos, the reading material, the communication. Thank you very much for that insight.