Chevron Left
An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
140件の評価
29件のレビュー

コースについて

A food system encompasses the activities, people and resources involved in getting food from field to plate. Along the way, it intersects with aspects of public health, equity and the environment. In this course, we will provide a brief introduction to the U.S. food system and how food production practices and what we choose to eat impacts the world in which we live. We will discuss some key historical and political factors that have helped shape the current food system and consider alternative approaches from farm to fork. The course will be led by a team of faculty and staff from the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future. Guest lecturers will include experts from a variety of disciplines, including public health, policy and agriculture....

人気のレビュー

RD
2018年4月28日

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

YF
2017年8月27日

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

フィルター:

An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health: 1 - 25 / 29 レビュー

by Andrea B

2017年12月31日

This was an interesting course and wasn't what I expected when I first signed up. I think I was expecting a more dry course on the US food system, but it actually ended up being quite interesting and focused a lot on different aspects of the food system which are problematic. For an introductory course into the food system it covered many different topics without getting too focused on any one thing, and I hope they decide to add more courses that focus on these different topics so we can learn about them on a deeper level.

by Milonee

2018年3月15日

Excellent primer into the history of the U.S. Food System, the problems associated with industrial agriculture, and the efforts which are currently underway to address these problems. Highly recommend for someone who has little experience in this field and wants to learn more. Lectures are engaging and taught by a variety of experienced professionals, many of whom have books/essays which you can follow up with if you find their lectures engaging.

by Nehleen A

2017年11月28日

One of the best classes I have taken in Coursera. Amazingly informative and comprehensive lectures, yet understandable to the lay person. I learned a lot and grateful for all the information about our food systems. This class gave me a broad perspective and understanding of our food system, something that I need

by Reshama D

2018年4月28日

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

by Nancy Y M

2020年8月11日

Thank you for the insight into the present state of our food system and for showing me the opportunities for advocacy. I loved the course !

by TIgba T C

2020年11月10日

Wonderful experience. Impactful and so exposing to importance of a transformed global food system inferred from the US food policy

by Beatriz E

2020年7月14日

This has been one of the best courses that I have encountered as it provides a lot of information. And this information would help me apply the concepts to my field, as well as raising awareness to positive and negative impacts of food to nutrition, public health, agriculture, aquaculture, economics, society, and the environment.

Thank you to this course! I am hoping for more courses relating to food.

by Matthew L

2020年10月31日

This course is an excellent series of lectures that provide essential information to anyone who is interested in understanding how our national food system developed over time. Moreover, the instructors provide recommendations for how we can thwart further harm and rebuild our food system into a more resilient one.

by Ava R

2018年1月13日

This course contains a wealth of information concerning the U.S. food policies from the history of the Farm Bill to cultural and subjective norms that determine our food choices. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in environmental sustainability,

by Molchanova A

2020年12月21日

First two Modules are great! Inspiring, that this things are taught in Universities. The module about fish is missing information about where all nutritional benefits of fish are coming from - nothing about algae.

Worth of doing anyway!

by Claude C

2020年1月9日

Excellent course for both the uninformed and those familiar with food system work. Highly recommend to anyone seeking to deepen their understanding of the relationship between food and health, climate and equity.

by Yotam F

2017年8月27日

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

by Eleonora N

2019年4月20日

Great course full of deep, provocative and sometimes even shocking insights about the subject. We all should now these things!

by Biswajit D

2018年4月18日

The learnings from this course will me more healthier and I will apply these concept to my family members .

by Gedaliah R

2018年4月11日

life changing subject matter - excellently presented. highly recommended

by Josh L

2018年9月7日

Great introduction to an extremely complicated topic

by Rachel B

2017年11月21日

A great foundation for thinking about food systems.

by Candace T

2020年4月20日

So very interesting.. particularly the Farm Bill

by Milan S

2018年2月1日

Thank you -I learned a lot

by RUKEN Z A O

2021年1月7日

Thanks for training

by Mohamed A e N A S

2021年2月20日

It's good for me

by Besto J

2020年10月6日

Loved the course

by Emanuelle L

2017年5月30日

Very good!

by Mona A A

2020年7月1日

good

by Javier M

2017年8月1日

The course was comprehensive and interesting overall. I do have some criticisms: genetic engineering is viewed in a very negative light as well as conventional farming. The arguments that were presented resemble rhetoric from certain consumer groups, instead of sound science. I think it's important to get rid of this false dichotomy between scientific innovation and sustainability as these can come together to provide actual solutions to the problems facing the food system today.