Chevron Left
Introduction to Imagemaking に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Imagemaking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,561件の評価
564件のレビュー

コースについて

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

人気のレビュー

LC

2017年10月8日

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ

2018年8月18日

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

フィルター:

Introduction to Imagemaking: 426 - 450 / 563 レビュー

by Mark H

2020年9月8日

This course really got my creative juices flowing. The assignments, however, lacked structure or a certain level of technical proficiency that I was expecting.

by Maya R

2019年5月24日

Really liked the course, because it is very oriented to practical work. It would be great if there was more substantial exchange with other learners though.

by Samuele R

2017年9月2日

Quite engaging, I improved my knowledge of Illustrator thanks to the assignments, but I think a few lesson videos are too few/short, especially in the end.

by Kelly J

2016年12月5日

This course was a fun one that encouraged experimentation and making a lot of images. I would say the assignments could have been more challenging though.

by Anastasia O

2018年6月17日

I learned a lot about imagemaking but I wasn't sure what the point was about making a book. It was fun but I felt "bookmaking" should be another class.

by Levi O

2021年11月23日

Wished the assignments had more emphasis on style, reviewing the assignments was begrudging trying to find kind constructive feedback on bare minimum.

by Fergus N

2016年6月14日

Very enjoyable and encouraging course - I haven't used watercolours since I was a child and this course prompted me to go back out and try them again!

by J-Man

2019年3月25日

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

by Sarah N

2016年11月3日

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

by krystal G

2020年5月5日

It's a good course that introduce me to art and design. Anyway, it take a lot of time and might not suit for who didn't have basic in art.

by Lana

2019年3月24日

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

by Chimdiebere A

2020年9月21日

The course was a very enlightening one. I liked every bit it. I would like it if the course could cover digital image making in details.

by Seung H L

2020年9月9日

I did not like how less people contribute to the course.. some people neglect the comment and don't read some comment about the artwork.

by Mihaela-Lucia M

2020年8月25日

great course for learning and practicing your skills. I gave 4 stars because some of the assignments were unclear and a bit confusing.

by Anita G

2020年12月28日

i really enjoyed the course, however more insight in imagemaking would be great. Some assignments also were a little confusing

by Ana A

2016年5月14日

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

by H. A

2020年6月9日

The course is incredible, it gives a wide range of options to execute the assignments beautifully! I learned a lot

by Jelome C

2017年1月14日

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

by Kelly L

2018年4月7日

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

by Beverley H

2016年10月25日

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

by Justyna B

2019年7月12日

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

by Susan M

2017年3月24日

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

by Kasturi K

2020年5月30日

very very interesting , highly recommend if u looking for a good course to do during this quarantine

by Eumorphia K

2016年7月20日

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

by Stacey J J

2020年6月11日

fun course - lots of hands-on assignments and the videos did a good job explaining the concepts.