Chevron Left
English for Journalism に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による English for Journalism の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,341件の評価
422件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

人気のレビュー

A

Dec 12, 2018

I was looking for this kind of course and this is a perfect online course which inculde everything from journalism , I have learnt a lot of things from this course and will look for similar courses

AB

Nov 26, 2016

Excellent course for people for whom English is not their mother tongue! Very well paced.\n\nThe course also provides a good insight on what journalism is suppose to be, its principles and values!

フィルター:

English for Journalism: 1 - 25 / 402 レビュー

by Teferi A G

Dec 25, 2017

This course is very essential for both professionals and non professionals. It raises essential points on the subject matter and builds english language ability. I thank the university very much!

by Amit S

Oct 17, 2018

I took this course during my summer vacations. My journey was wonderful, I learnt a lot. The mentors are great. No prior knowledge of journalism is required. The each week is roughly divided into two parts, first part is about journalism practices like interviewing someone, how to begin an article,styles of print media,broadcast journalism etc. Second part is about language focus it helps you in understanding - simple past, reported and quoted speech, present perfect, past progressive, present simple, present progressive etc. In the week 5, you will learn about journalism in digital age. Citizen journalism, intellectual property and ethics of digital journalism are discussed in this week. If you want to explore the field of journalism as a fresher, this course is for you.

by Igwe D O

Feb 24, 2019

The course has helped stay relevant in my career. The knowledge I got from the course not only has helped me a great deal in my work, it has equipped with relevant skills needed for survival in digital age.

by Anushka c

Dec 12, 2018

I was looking for this kind of course and this is a perfect online course which inculde everything from journalism , I have learnt a lot of things from this course and will look for similar courses

by Jesus R

Mar 03, 2017

One of the best courses I have finished in the last years. A very well organized and dynamic course. Teachers with a lot of experience and good expertise in the area of teaching. 100% recommended!

by Alex B

Nov 26, 2016

Excellent course for people for whom English is not their mother tongue! Very well paced.

The course also provides a good insight on what journalism is suppose to be, its principles and values!

by Sergei M

Apr 25, 2019

Awesome course with very rare vocabulary about journalisms. I strongly recommended this course for every journalists who want to study English of work abroad.

by Adrián A M

Feb 13, 2019

Recomiendo el curso ampliamente ya que te ayuda con el lenguaje y el periodismo. Las lecturas y las habilidades que te da el curso son muy buenas.

by Pedro L M

Feb 10, 2019

I learned some journalism stuff and some english in this free online and massive course. Congrats to the organizers.

by JUAN C F F

Mar 29, 2019

Excellent , it's a great tool to improve the english skills and to learn about journalism

Thank you

by Shreya G

Apr 14, 2019

It is a very nice course and I recommend it to many students

by leyla c

Apr 08, 2019

Really enjoyable thank you

by Van C V

Apr 28, 2019

nice course

by KRISHIA M D A

Apr 30, 2019

thanks!

by Iami G

Mar 31, 2019

The quizzes could be more creative sometimes, they can get a bit boring.

by Aditya J

Apr 17, 2019

Its a good course

by ilaria s

May 29, 2019

the course was fine, but definitely too slow and repetetive for me.

Is it really necessary to start every single video lesson with a recap of the previous video lesson, and end it with a recap of the current video lesson? We are talking about 5 minutes long videos, what should I need a recap for?

by Prabhu L

Oct 10, 2016

Journalism’s crucial role in helping democracy function is sometimes forgotten amid the clamor of partisan debate and the messy nature of the news business. But anyone who stops to examine recent examples of journalistic success — and the substantial civic impacts of various news media investigations — cannot help but be impressed by the vital role of the press.

Six examples from the past year that show journalism’s impact are enumerated below. These stories helped root out corruption, create better laws and practices, and changed the way we live for the better. They make for a powerful reading list, whether for average citizens, aspiring journalists or anyone concerned with the press and public policy.

As many journalistic outlets continue to struggle financially — and the news media contracts as an industry, leaving many statehouses, public agencies and local governments under-examined — there can be little doubt that many problems in society might be forgotten were it not for some smart, persistent and courageous news professionals. These stories speak to that truth.

Although the Internet can help as an investigative tool and platform for engaging the public, it takes professional reporters to initiate and follow-through on everything from interviews to document requests. Further, turning raw data and information into easily digestible knowledge for public consumption — putting it into narrative story form or making it clear through visual means — takes painstaking, creative work. Of course, it takes the will of public officials to act on these investigations and formulate concrete policy responses.

by Bairma

Sep 06, 2016

I am having deep pleasure to have classes of this course! I am from Russia, Moscow city and this course is followed and controlled by the American Center volunteers under support of the Embassy of the U.S. in Russia. Teachers and the way they teach listeners with the Journalism concepts and its principles are very clear, interesting and fun! Now I am on the 4th week and we have already written a small article that was assessed by the same listeners as you from all over the world. It is really great platform not only to get knowledge but also share your ideas. I really appreciate hard working attempts of speakers who lead the course! A big thank you from Russian listeners!

by Michael w

Dec 23, 2017

I have no words to witness, how penn university organized the course peerlessly.

The course is well thought, designed and delivered in its syllabus, course content , methodology and evaluation. It was very friendly ,interactive up-to-date and relevant .

from now on wards, Every good article i write ,Every news story i break ,Every comments and opinion i forward, Every news program i rated, Every shocking, frightening and exciting news story i made.

john cotton and Eve litt , you are in to it. Well done keep up the good work!! you are in ,one in million category in your fields of expertise.

HAVE PEACH OF THE HOLIDAY !!

by Bonnie W

Jun 12, 2018

The syllabus was awesome. The two professors were amazing. They could convey concepts in a way you could retain the information long after the course. That was a major feat. When I watch a news program on CNN or BBC now, the terms I have learned from the course literally jump at me, such as, "the 24-hour news cycle is presenting a human interest story on the untimely death of Anthony Bourdain". I appreciate news reporting with new eyes and ears. I never thought I would need a refresher course on grammar, but I picked up a lot of useful pointers from the language use section. It is a brilliant course!

by 雷凯虹

Nov 30, 2016

I think course has a great influence on me because I am a student majors in journalism and communication,so I need to improve my skills on it.The course has tought me a lot of professional skills about pitching,writing,broadcasting and so on,I had a complete learning about news.But there is an error through checking others' homework which is someone give grades freely and have no responsibility baout others,so I think it is necessary to rigid some rules to restrain somenone's behavior.

by Verónica B

Mar 26, 2017

El curso es bastante completo, las actividades por unidad son muy buenas, interactivas y me parece excelente que tenga actividades y lecturas extras para practicar un poco más. Propongo un nivel dos de este curso de inglés en el que se traten temas como periodismo de investigación, de datos y de análisis. El vocabulario sería más extenso y técnico y ayudaría a personas que ya llevan tiempo en esta profesión ¡Gracias por permitirme formar parte de este curso!

by Ibtihal A B A Y A

Jul 30, 2018

A highly informative, applicable& easy to follow course by absolutely knowledgeable professors. The thorough, well-organized& engaging course content reflects the the professionalism & the extensive knowledge of the professors in this field. Really looking forward to enrolling in other courses by the same professors & University of Pennsylvania. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn from you.

by Giulia Z

Oct 17, 2017

I think this is a really good course for those who want to be introduced to the world of journalism! It helps you to improve your english language skills and to develope your journalistic skills and knowledge. You can really learn a lot. The two instructor are really competent and they teach you this world in a way that is very understandable. I really enjoy this course and I recommend it very much!