Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
259件の評価
61件のレビュー

コースについて

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

人気のレビュー

CM

Mar 12, 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC

Oct 25, 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

フィルター:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2): 1 - 25 / 61 レビュー

by Mamoon H

Aug 29, 2017

It is one of the best courses in Liberal Arts that I have ever taken. Not only did it offer me the opportunity to catch up with what I hadn`t studied in my student days, but offered me the opportunity to see the world from different perspectives. Thanks to the clear, well-explained and sometimes humorous lectures by Professor Michael Roth, I was able to grasp every bit of the course. Thank you Professor Roth. I was also fortunate to have met classmates from different strata of the society and nationalities whose contributions, through the various assignments we did, have tremendously helped me go through the course with accolades.

I would like to recommend this course to anyone who really wants to understand what Modernism and Postmodernism is about

I would, however, like to suggest that the certificate awarded by Wesleyan University have the university`s original crest on it like the one issued by university of London for Teaching EFL/ESL Reading etc. Though what matters is the substance of the course, I also believe that making the certificate more appealing to employers` eyes will enhance the certificate holders` chance of employment.

by Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

Excellent course from an accomplished scholar, presents insights about his subject matter from all different points of view.

by Mohammad A

Mar 12, 2019

It was a pleasure completing this course and listening to Mr. Roth. It is beautifully structured and perfectly intertwined with applications in Literature and Arts. To summarize, I'd say it is easy enough for a non-philosopher like me to embark and yet intellectually challenging to keep you excited.

by Dunja T

Feb 03, 2019

Great choice of subjects and authors and fantastic lectures.

by Olga M

Aug 16, 2018

Thank you for this inspiring diving into modern and postmodern philosophy. It helped a lot with filling gaps and providing new leads to develop and research

by angela

Mar 12, 2017

Fantastic course

by Daniel Z

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures.

by Hamzeh A

Jun 14, 2016

Amazing lectures! Just one comment which is I saw the first part of the lectures and when I first registered to the second lecture I was hoping for different and new material and although there were new videos the rest were the same as the first part of the lectures.

by James C

Oct 25, 2016

I can't get enough of Michael Roth's courses! I've retaken this course and the other two. I get more insight each time! No attitude, just insight and learing!

by Anne F

Sep 18, 2015

I love this course. The enthusiasm of the teacher is wonderful. His choice of works and their treatment are excellent. I learned a lot, even though I have an MA in Literary Studies.

by Everardo G

Mar 19, 2016

This is an amazing course. I´m really happy. I had a really good time with the bibliography, the topics, and the teacher. ¡THAKS A LOT!

by Cristina D

Jul 11, 2017

Excellent! Looking forward for more classes like this one, and if they are with the same Professor, even better.

by penn w

Apr 11, 2016

This class is wonderful and i'm looking forward to taking it again when it becomes available.

by Jenifer S

Aug 09, 2015

Pulls together a number of important readings to introduce the basic concepts of the title. Taught by an expert with grace and style. Stimulating assignments challenge the student to think comparatively and deeply.

by Wendy S

Oct 15, 2016

The course for you If you want to find out how philosophy is relevant to the way we live in this complex and ever changing world. A brilliant on-line course. I got to the end of it with lots of regret; Michael Roth is such an engaging guide. I chose not to complete the written assignments which is why this will show I didn't complete the course. But I did in fact study all the material and it was great.

by Rahul R

Apr 22, 2016

Very well presented and planned.

Lot of learning opportunity . Interest generating to learn more.

by Chemezova K R

Aug 31, 2016

Thanks for amazing lectures!

by sandra s

May 15, 2016

I love this course. The tutor is fascinating.

by Didi L

Nov 23, 2015

Follows a fascinating line of inquiry linking major cultural viewpoints over more than two hundred years of western culture. Well paced, great video component and interesting assignment. This is one of the best courses yet.

by Maria T F

Feb 01, 2016

I want more. It grew in me like when you manage to bring out a splendid salad.Everything connects and relates but what really matters is the chewing.

by Laura L

Feb 11, 2016

Michael Roth is an excellent teacher! I loved this class!

by Rebecca L R

Nov 16, 2015

I loved this course. Michael Roth was superb in repacking the challenging content in an engaging and enthralling manner.

by Sankar V

Jan 07, 2018

A very enlightening approach showering rich content through diverse methodologies. Thanks a lot

by Remington C

Mar 29, 2016

Phenomenal instructor, great material, and I loved the reading. This was a challenging course, and that's needed more in online courses like this. Changed the way I look at the world.

by Clarissa P

Nov 17, 2015

brilliant and illuminating course, covering complex ideas in a friendly and understandable manner.