Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
726件の評価
180件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 126 - 150 / 175 レビュー

by Erik M

Sep 06, 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

by Jimena M M

Oct 14, 2018

AS an economist working in external statistics at the national bank of Belgium

by Benjamin F

Aug 19, 2018

Really good, but because English is not my mother tongue I will maybe go trough the course a second time. The second half of the course is more demanding, but nonetheless interesting. To be honest I did not read all the articles by due time, some of them are quite long. This is the best course I finished so far on coursera.

by Jesus S

Sep 17, 2018

Great course, substantial breadth. Explains many details usually left out in standard International Finance/Money courses. Thank you Profr. Mehrling

by David V

Sep 19, 2018

Professor is incredibly knowledgeable, class is taught at a good pace, and videos are broken down into an order which makes sense. I really enjoyed my time with this course, despite not having a math background.

by Pablo S A

Oct 06, 2018

Incredible teacher. A lot of useful information that provides you with an eagle view of monetary and financial markets as a whole.

by Gustavo G

Oct 29, 2018

Es excelente. Por su teoría, por su fundamentación y por la metodología de enseñanza.

by Panchio R

Apr 04, 2019

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.

by Jean-Charles G

Apr 29, 2019

Very interesting

by JOSHUA R

Apr 30, 2019

Wonderful & insightful take as to how the world works

by Alan F

May 03, 2019

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

by Jeremy A

Apr 28, 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

by KARTHI

May 11, 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO GAIN NEW KNOWLEDGE AND HELPS ME TO IMPROVE MY PROFILE

by Abdelrahman M I T

May 25, 2019

Great course with great Information & materials

by Abdullahi H A

May 30, 2019

this course is career development

by Sydney D L

May 31, 2019

A good class to know about the subject

by Borja P O

Jun 05, 2019

he content of the course is very complete and rigorous and the teacher is excellent. Very good additional resources.

by sarah a m a a r

Jun 07, 2019

An amazing course that show the light on many economic monetary polices and banking and many more overall very usefull

by Iván A L P

Jul 02, 2019

Excelente curso.

by Jin S

Jul 08, 2019

great course and professor

by Daniel Z

Jul 13, 2019

This was an excellent course. I really enjoyed the way it was delivered and the was the Prof explained the concept. He is extremely knowledgeable and communicates very well.

by Oleg

Aug 05, 2019

Unbelievable course, one of the most enlightning! Thank you very much!

by Agustin P

May 10, 2019

Excellent course, new and insightful approach on the subject matter. Highly relevant for modern day finance and economics and the challenges ahead.

by Sebastian A H

Sep 09, 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

by Jesper o D

Sep 07, 2019

Brilliant, a constant source to think!