Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
706件の評価
175件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 76 - 100 / 170 レビュー

by Alexandre Z R

Oct 25, 2017

I did in my local university a course in Monetary Economics and then I did this. This course it's not a traditional course, if you know previously something about it, you will recognize this is a lifetime work of investigation, theorization, of a academic passion about how this trully work in markets. It's not a easy course, I have to repeat many weeks to get along. But Professor Mehrling structured the course with reading materials that give you a broader understading, he uses real data to explain and exemplify, he reads FT and discuss. I'm so grateful for this course, before that I used to think I knew monetary system. Now that I know much more I'm aware of my ignorance. Hope some day he make another course, or just update this one with the new events in the central baking world.

by alex h

Dec 03, 2016

I found this to be an excellent introduction to how modern banking works. If this class grows increasingly popular, go long whatever company sells chalk because the professor consumes quite a bit as he sketches out a seemingly infinite number of T-accounts to illustrate the trading of money through multiple markets, including Fed Funds, EuroDollar, Repo, Swap and FX. By the end of the class, you get a good sense for the plumbing behind markets, and develop an alternative and practical view of what drives asset prices than what you perhaps learned studying economic or financial theory. You also gain an appreciation for how big shadow banking is globally, how all money is not created equal, and how the value of any asset can change drastically through the mechanics of the dealer system as investors discover this point.

by Yiannis B

Aug 27, 2017

One of the best courses I have followed!

I am expecting an update on the course.

Thank you for this wonderful experience.

by Bojie S

Jan 07, 2017

The content and idea provided in the course are simply amazing! The best ever I had on Coursera and I really appreciate all the research effort made by Professor Perry Mehrling. Hope many more people using Coursera could have a look at the innovative ideas explained by Professor Mehrling in money market and finance.

by Parth G

Sep 20, 2017

Mind Blowing approach to teach. Got the new angles of the economy and banking. Expanded the vision significantly on the subject.

by Robert C

Oct 25, 2016

Very thorough and great course!

by Brad H

Dec 13, 2016

Professor Mehrling is fantastic. I found this course supremely interesting, and I learned an incredible amount from it. I would venture to say that most have not taken an economics course like this one before. This definitely felt like a real college course.. 13 weeks of lecture, 2.5-3 hours of lecture each week. I believe Professor Mehrling said in-class that the two prerequisites for this course (for Columbia University students, not Coursera users) are Intermediate Micro and Intermediate Macro, so the course is definitely fairly high-level. To put it into perspective, I was an Accounting/Finance major with Econ minor and have CPA/CFA. So while not "trained" in economics, I've had a fair amount of exposure, but I definitely felt intellectually challenged and frequently had to relisten to parts of lectures. Definitely recommend this course! Learned something every minute of every lecture.

by Gudmundur O

Jan 12, 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.

by Dhruba D

Sep 10, 2017

Economics and Finance have always been explaining theories and concepts to students. Often when thought back/pondered upon, the theories are unable to explain all the queries of real life.

This course stitches through all the theories and present a very well thought out and a complete picture of the financial world. A very unique perspective and a rare perspective at that.

Highly recommended that you register and pay for this course. As it makes the learning so much more interesting, intriguing and gives us so much understanding of the money view of the financial world.

by Mikhail D

May 11, 2017

Excellent lecturer! Very informative and easy to understand.

by Jagannathan I

Jun 21, 2018

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

by SAURABH K

Nov 09, 2017

The course extremely helpful for people who are interested making their career in Banking.

I like this course.

by Denis M

Jul 11, 2017

This is a really good course tackling a very difficult subject.

Though my brain still hurts when I engage with the subject matter, I feel the lectures have shone quite a lot of light on the obscurities of money and banking. The lectures are clear and thorough and I particularly like the way the concepts we learn are brought to bear on current news (e.g. examining FT articles).

by Thoshitha

Jan 02, 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!

by Luc M

Oct 13, 2017

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

by Ricardo C

Sep 18, 2016

Great course! Essential for anyone working in finance and economics.

by Roussille A

May 06, 2017

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

by alexgesch

Jan 29, 2017

Great course with a lot of insights!

by Kevin T

Jul 18, 2017

Outstanding presentation all around !

by MAURICIO W

Aug 02, 2017

Very interesting

by Richard H

Nov 28, 2016

Thanks Dr, Mehling

by Herve Y

May 19, 2018

Thank you professor Mehring for this great course. Understanding Economics under the lens of Money is not very taught. This course gives us a starting framework analyze money impacts on Economics, based on number of years of experience and studies. Thanks so much!

by Holger R

Sep 04, 2017

Very good.

by Pramanshu R

Jul 29, 2017

Quite exhaustive course covering details about banking and finance. Amazing Professor, good content. The focus on current events is good too.

by Varun N

Sep 21, 2016

Great material ... unlike any other course.