Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,268件の評価
567件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

AN
2021年5月22日

Excellent. The course was very educational, extremely well put together and Corey´s instruction was excellent. One really needed to put time and effort into it but is worth every second of time spend.

DB
2020年7月25日

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 251 - 275 / 560 レビュー

by Shane T

2018年1月14日

I am almost half way through this course and am enjoying it immensely. The videos are excellent and the lecturers are knowledgeable and engaging.

by María d L O R

2021年3月30日

Estoy muy satisfecha con el curso In Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting, es muy completo y abarca los temas de una manera dinámica e inteligente.

by Florence L

2020年3月22日

The course is very interesting with materials and videos of very high quality. I learnt a lot on those artists and I highly recommend this MOOC.

by Sinisa

2020年3月15日

Many thanks to teacher and Coursera, course open my mind and after course i buy oil colors and start to paint, realy thanks !

Best regards Sinisa

by IJE

2017年8月8日

enjoying this, well presented, easy to follow; love the practical insights re painting & how/why artists used the materials /techniques they did

by Jim G

2020年6月22日

I loved this course. Corey D'Augustine was a great teacher and many of the artists that he showed us their techniques I knew very little about.

by Robert D D

2021年11月29日

I​ loved this course from beginning to end, and it resulted in me feeling confident enough to try some paintings of my own, thank you so much!

by Elena C

2021年4月9日

Enjoyed the course, very good organized, learn a lot about materials, techniques, history about postwar abstract painting. My recommendations!

by Miranda M

2020年6月9日

I LIKED THE COURSE SO MUCH!! AND LEARNED A LOT ABOUT THE GREAT PAINTERS. THANK YOU WHO MADE THIS POSSIBLE!!!!

HOPE TO VISIT MomA ONE DAY !!!!

by lei w

2017年12月10日

Best class I have ever taken. It is a rare opportunity for me who lives in China to be able to take a class from MOMA. I truly appreciate it.

by Pol M C

2020年6月14日

This course was nothing short of inspiring. Corey's insightful demonstrations paired with the comprehensive resources were truly enjoyable!

by Leila B N

2018年1月16日

Amazing, I would love to continue to have the same Professor and course style about more contemporary artists. The best online course ever

by Barbara K

2018年5月21日

Great experience, I learnt a lot about artists, techniques, composition and more. I already recommended this course several times! Barbara

by Megan E

2017年8月28日

loved this course. Even though they show how to do one painting of each artist's, I wish they did a couple from different periods. So good

by maria f l

2017年6月24日

muy buen curso ... ayuda a adquirir conocimientos mas especificos sobre los artistas , como son los videos en estudios . me ayudaron mucho

by KIRSTEN M

2017年11月4日

Excellent - one of the most interesting courses I have done. The practical demonstrations make this a very unique experience - thank you!

by Mary C

2017年6月20日

A fantastic course that is greatly presented and instructed. A fantastic way to discover and learn the techniques used by the artists.

by Stanislaus G

2017年4月3日

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

by Joan S P

2018年2月19日

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Very informative. I loved in particular the videos demonstrating the techniques used by each artist.

by Brittany T

2017年12月27日

From both the art history side and the studio side, this is a simply amazing class! I learned so much and enjoyed every minute of it.

by Jacopo

2019年5月1日

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.

by James S

2017年6月12日

Excellent course! Having the opportunity to paint like the artists adds so much insight and meaning to the experience. Thanks Corey!

by Danielle L D

2020年7月18日

it was awesome taking this class waiting for certificate. I received the Certificate this morning I learned a lot from the class .

by Marion T

2017年8月9日

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class

by Lisa M H

2017年5月22日

Enjoyable course. Postwar Abstraction is fascinating and this course does a great job presenting these artists in an exciting way.