Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,273件の評価
569件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

AN
2021年5月22日

Excellent. The course was very educational, extremely well put together and Corey´s instruction was excellent. One really needed to put time and effort into it but is worth every second of time spend.

DB
2020年7月25日

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 176 - 200 / 561 レビュー

by BEATRIZ M V

2020年6月15日

Amazing experience. I loved the course , I can not wait to start another one. The material, the resources, everything was just great. I really did not expect to learn so much as I actually did. I would do it a thousand times.

by Natalya S

2017年7月19日

Thoroughly enjoyed the videos and course content. Lecturer was a knowledgeable and engaging speaker. Highly recommend to anyone interested in learning about techniques and concepts of well known abstract artists from 20th c.

by luca s

2018年1月23日

Please spend time on this course, it is not only about the artists' ideas, the practical side is how the different painters created their style very interesting. Even when it looks simple there is a lot of craft behind it!

by Jan P W

2020年8月6日

A very interesting course about the process of many famous paintings by the Abstract Expressionists. Its good to learn how these paintings are made and under what circumstances. I learned a lot and recommend this course.

by Phil D

2021年1月2日

Absolutely brilliant. The perfect combination of teaching painting techniques together with insight to the artists and their paintings. For those interested in abstract art, I cannot recommend this course highly enough.

by Cheryl

2017年5月18日

I felt it was really helpful to get to know and practice the artists' techniques, even if for the ones who don't paint and don't intend to paint. Contemporary art needs guide and explanation more than other kind of art.

by Ashley R

2020年6月6日

This course was incredible! If you want to learn more about art and really dive into specific artists' works definitely take this class. I've learned so much and can't wait to try some of the techniques in my own work.

by Laura P

2021年5月7日

I really enjoyed this course and the way in which it was designed. The videos and demonstrations were very helpful. The course allowed me to explore different painting techniques and styles. I highly recommend it.

by Ronald R L

2021年1月16日

One of the great learning experiences.I wish I had taken this finely produced course years ago .Great teacher fantastic choices of art and artists.Comprehensive education covering so many facets .Well done indeed.

by Andrew E

2017年12月1日

Excellent course. Material was concise. Videos were truly excellent and to the point. Easily manageable across a busy week and I learned much more than I anticipated. Heartily recommended. Look forward to the next!

by Lucía M E P

2021年3月28日

I enjoyed the course, I loved it, I learned a lot, I appreciate the opportunity given by MOMA to learn from them and grow. I put my artistic skills to the test. I learned from other people and got great feedback!!

by Smita S

2020年6月13日

Very useful and informative course on Postwar Abstract painting. Learning from the comfort of home and flexible timings were added advantage. Thoroughly enjoyed the videos and learnt a lot from Corey d' Augustine.

by Pamela J R

2017年5月15日

This is one of the best courses I have done. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates art. I will never look at the work of these artists in the same way again, this course has certainly opened up my eyes!

by Rosa P

2017年7月22日

I loved taking this course. I learnt a lot about the artists, mediums and techniques. Corey makes it really interesting and easy to follow. I would definitely take another class like this in the future. Thanks!

by Douglas N

2020年3月31日

In this course, you learned about the materials, techniques and approaches of seven New York School artists. I honed my visual analysis skills and I made my own abstract paintings inspired by what I learned.

by LU H

2020年3月9日

This course provides me a good perspective to look into abstract paintings. The videos in the studio are quite practical for me to learn the underneath techniques of the artists which is also very inspiring.

by Melinda B

2017年5月23日

The course was inspirational! I loved learning not only the history of Postwar Abstract Painting, and an appreciation of the art works, but also the techniques used by many of the artists. Great instruction!

by Ifigenia L B

2021年3月6日

The course is so organized. It is giving you all information needed to get to know Abstract Expressionism and its most Important Artists. Thank you so much for this interesting 8 weeks. I really enjoyed it.

by KEIKO M

2021年10月16日

Thank you so much for offering this course. It has changed my life. I love you and who ever came up with this course is a genius! I worked for Walt Disney standing up all day, frozen and hot humid weather.

by Petra C

2018年4月22日

This was a fantastic course, so interesting with superb resources. I particularly enjoyed the painting demonstrations and the film clips of discussions about the art works. A first rate course. Thank you!

by julia k

2020年6月23日

I got a huge amount out of the course, really coming to understand Post War art and AbEX.

I learned about methods and styles and influences and feel familiar with the movement and confident to discuss it.

by Cindy W

2020年5月27日

I have a better understanding on the works of art introduced in this course. Moreover, I tried to practice on the ways followed by guidence that gave me a deep understanding on the ideas behind the art.

by Mikiko N

2020年7月13日

Thank you very much.

I really enjoyed this course.I learned about 8 abstract artists very well.

The curriculum , videos, text, teacher ,feedbacks and homework are amazing.

It is very good. Thank you again.

by Marcia G

2018年3月9日

This course is an incredible investigative journey of materials and processes which leads to a greater appreciation for the context in which Abstract Expressionist were working in the mid 20th century.

by Valerie L V

2017年5月22日

Amazing course, precise but deep at the same time, beautifully designed with a really interesting selection of painters. Corey is a GREAT teacher, very clear, very smart and inspiring. I enjoyed a lot!