Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,272件の評価
569件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

AN
2021年5月22日

Excellent. The course was very educational, extremely well put together and Corey´s instruction was excellent. One really needed to put time and effort into it but is worth every second of time spend.

DB
2020年7月25日

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 76 - 100 / 561 レビュー

by Alejandro I A L

2021年4月5日

Fue muy gratificante profundizar y ampliar conocimientos acerca del grupo de Nueva York, sus motivaciones, lo genuino y particular de cada propuesta, inspiradores testimonios de vida .

Descubrir dentro de las lecturas y recursos temas relacionados, fuentes fidedignas e inagotables de información, a sido también una luz que ayudo a mitigar algunas horas de encierro forzado.

by Cheryl B

2020年7月24日

I have loved abstract art all my life... I have Kandinsky and Miro and others on my walls. I decided that it was time to learn somethimg about the art and this course was fabulous. It introduced me to techniques and processes that i knew nothing about, and introduced me to a few artists in ths movement that i was not familiar with. I'm sorry that the course is over!

by Uma H

2017年8月4日

This course is EXCELLENT. I have been following many tutorials but this one is the unique: show you in a dry ad efficace way different painting techniques combine with the history of the painters who invented it. More you have a critics presentation of the most interesting abstract paintings of the century. Thanks for sharing your studies and your experiences with us.

by Silvestar D

2021年4月5日

I enjoyed attending your course and I’m sure I learned a lot about many things. I am especially pleased with Mr. Corey d 'Augustine because everything is much clearer after his lectures. I would love to be live at his lectures. Mr. Corey'd Augustine teaches and explains excellently.

I hope there will be more similar painting courses.

Greetings,

Silvestar Dragoje Shomi

by Robyn L

2021年11月10日

A comprehensive and fascinating investigation of Postwar Abstract Painting. Features seven key artists who work using a range of techniques and represents the diversity of these artists. Presenters are very engaging, interesting, informative and enjoyable to watch. I really enjoyed the demonstrations and explanations of the artists' methods by Corey D'Augustine.

by Plácida

2017年8月14日

This course has provided the opportunity of knowing better each renown artists from Abstract Expressionism in United States. I've learnt in depth and discovered other personalities I've ever seen throughout my degree in Art History. The contents are actually instructive and teaching. Hope to enroll in more courses like that in a soon future. Congratulations!

by Donna R

2020年4月24日

I have taken and completed a couple of classes and others are in process. That said, this was my very favorite course that I looked forward to each day. I would like to take it again.

Cory is an amazing instructor and very inspiring. I recommend this course to everyone I know and it is especially good for frustrated artists that simply need a jump start.

by Claudia D

2019年1月28日

Course is outstanding. Very well presented and demonstrated by the instructor, pacing is excellent (a little video, a little reading, a quiz) and hugely informative. Time spent was well worth it. Can't wait to travel to NY and see the paintings in person. Would recommend this course to anyone interested in the subject. I took the non-painting option.

by David C

2017年9月11日

I enjoyed taking this course. I didn't know a lot about abstract art before going into it, and it was full of great learning. Getting to try the techniques too was a lot of fun and gave me an appreciation for how hard it is to make something look so easy.

Corey D'Augustine is a great teacher. He has a great style, and makes everything feel approachable.

by Cristi Z

2020年5月27日

The course of Postwar Abstract Painting offers in depth knowledge about the New York School artists, their techniques, material understanding through videos, and articles from the artists. I thought I knew these seven New York School artists but this course has further my knowledge about the time period and meaning of the art created by these artists.

by Houssam E H

2017年12月31日

i would like to give special thanks for the Moma museum Volkswagen and all the team behind the camera,for letting this hapend,the language is so easy to understand, and i had that chance to get to know all these artists and their technics, i would like to learn more and master my studies is posible

you guys are mazing

best regards, Houssam HAFDI.

by brenda g

2019年5月30日

Provided that you like abstract painting, this course will give you insights in abstract painting techniques and work of art that you can use yourself, while making or enjoying art. The demos are great, and never give you the feeling that you cannot do such a thing (but if you do the studio exercises, you'll discover that it's not that easy...).

by Sally M

2020年6月29日

I learnt a great deal from this course and thoroughly enjoyed it. These artists have always impressed me but now with more knowledge of their techniques and processes I feel armed to use it in my own work. I have already recommended the course to a friend and hope they will join up. Thank you for a very well run and interesting time.

by Marjorie B

2019年1月11日

This course provided an excellent overview of the selected artists, unique explanations of the artwork by museum professionals, and great studio assignments to paint along with. I had so much fun learning and painting! If you are looking for increased art appreciation or some inspiration in the studio, I would highly recommend this course!

by Laura A

2021年6月19日

I enjoyed and learned very much in this past weeks. The design of the course is very creative in the way one artist is revised not jus by the art pieces but, the history, and individual technique involved in the art making process. The reading, videos and different resources are fantastic. Thanks a lot for offering such a wonderful course.

by Fay v B

2020年12月29日

I very much enjoyed this course, as art history is combined with making art yourself. Showing which techniques the artists used, helps to understand their process. Furthermore, the teacher explains very enthusiastically and the information you are given is really interesting and gives you a deeper insight into the artists and their process.

by Jane W

2020年11月13日

I learned much about artists in the postwar period. I also learned to appreciate abstract painting, and I was fascinated to watch the studio lessons. I did not participate, but still enjoyed watching the process. It reminded me of the days in college, back in the 70s, when I would hang out at my sister's studio and watch her as she worked.

by Nora A

2018年2月26日

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. I was only familiar with one artist, Jackson Pollack. came to admire all the artists, as they faced various "life" challenges, and put their energy, pain, and souls into their paintings They overcame so mucThe course was very informative and helped me learn about various painting techniques,

by Nora R

2020年7月2日

Excellent course any way you see it. I learnt a lot fantastically motivated by instructor Corey DAugustine and the course contents. High-quality information. I also enjoyed In the Studio painting exercise very much, had a lot of fun trying to paint like the artists seen. Thank you so much to MoMA for making this course possible

by Helen C

2019年8月6日

A wonderful course. Corey D’Augustine is a captivating teacher whether hands-on in the studio or discussing artworks in the gallery. I learned so much, not just about art but about the artists and social history of the time that shaped their self-expression. It also illuminated my own motivation for making art. Highly recommend.

by Anita g

2020年8月20日

I thoroughly enjoyed the course , as I came know the process , techniques , and concept building of great masters. Corey is a wonderful instructor , going into every small detail ,Ihad watched his videos on you tube before the course also ,. I learnt a lot , the course is very well planned , and gives a lot of flexibility too.

by Steven R

2020年7月23日

Corey D Augustine an excellent teacher especially considering my minimal layperson knxwledge. Made it very interesting by talking about the Different Strokes each artist takes and why they do it as well as the different mixes of paint and the reasons for it. Could go on and on.

Definitely will be taking more courses from MoMA

by Cassandra C

2021年8月28日

Hands-down my favorite course on Coursera! The instructor was great, the videos engaging, the discussions relevant, and the studio prompts amazing. I loved learning by doing in such a comprehensive way- reading, watching videos, painting, writing, sharing.... very fun and very educational!! Highly recommend for art lovers.

by Baruch M

2021年5月24日

It was a very important course for me, emphasizing knowledge and experience. Learning in deep these artists, from the abstract expressionism movement, in their special journey of each one of them, is fascinating in their special part and role in the history of modern art. They are so different and alike in the same time.

by Alberto A

2020年6月8日

Thank you!

I would like to know about this course some years ago, because it was really what I needed.

Excellent explanations about technics of painting. Seven different artists!

Excellent videos of curators.

Good documents to read.

Unhappy the platform online is not quite friendly sometimes failing or giving wrong messages.