Chevron Left
Predictive Modeling and Analytics に戻る

コロラド大学ボルダー校(University of Colorado Boulder) による Predictive Modeling and Analytics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

3.9
234件の評価
68件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

人気のレビュー

AD

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

HA

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

フィルター:

Predictive Modeling and Analytics : 1 - 25 / 66 レビュー

by William C

Jul 03, 2018

I was very disappointed by this course. The professor was knowledgeable, but was difficult to understand and spoke quickly. Even the transcript had the words [INAUDIBLE] listed multiple times because he was so difficult to understand. There were no slides, so note taking was difficult. The course also requires paying $25 for an Excel Add-In, which was not mentioned before enrolling in the course. The Excel Add-In is a different version from the version used in the video, so it was very difficult to follow along because the screens and outputs were different. I also had an issue with the Excel Add-In that made some of my work late because the issue could not be resolved quickly. The Analytic Solver (the Add-Inrepresentative said the problem was on their end, and had to fix the issue himself. Overall I was extremely disappointed and would not recommend this course to anyone. If this had been the first course in the specialization, I would not have continued. In my opinion UC-B needs to rethink if they should even offer this course.

by Rohan G L

Jan 29, 2018

This class doesn't even deserve that one star.

It is easily the worst class I've ever taken on Coursera. The data in the final does not match the description. There are mistakes in the lessons and on the quiz. There is no feedback to forum. The instructor's English is of a very low level and he speaks entirely too quickly.

Coursera, please delete this class. Look at the comments below.

by Yvonne G Q T

Sep 16, 2018

This module is badly organised and taught. The lecturer goes through the concepts with no explanation or illustration. As a result, it was hard to understand the significance and applicability of the concepts taught. It was also very hard to catch what he was saying as his voice was not clear and no slides were provided. Further, no answer key was provided for the assignments and quizzes - we wont even know why we got the question(s) wrong and what should be the correct step(s). The final assignment/quiz was kind of a repeat of the first four quizzes/assignments using a different set of data. While I appreciate that this is to give us more practice, it wasn't very useful as the lack of answer key for the first four assignments/quizzes meant that we couldn't quite know the reason for getting certain question(s) wrong earlier on.

by Jennifer Z

Jun 05, 2018

Lots of info in 4 short weeks... the instructor did a good job of getting through it. I had issues with neural networks in XLMiner -- particularly, boosting and bagging; my in-Excel XLMiner wouldn't run models without terminating with an error. Using the in-the-cloud version of XLMiner was better because the menus matched what the instructor was showing in the videos (my desktop version did not). However, I never was able to get the right answer on any neural network boosting or bagging questions on any quiz, though I got all the other questions right - creating decision trees or logistic regression models through XLMiner, even boosting/bagging decision tree models, both Classify and Predict. There was zero traffic in the discussion forums (people were begging people to grade their peer assignments so they could get a grade) so there was zero response to my pleas for assistance. It was pretty frustrating. I finally got through the class because getting everything right except neural network boosting/bagging questions enabled me to squeak through with a passing score. I hate not knowing what I was doing wrong though. Perhaps the instructor's version had different default values than the version I was using. Oh well. It's in the past :)

by Pooja

Jan 02, 2018

The instructor's accent is difficultto understand. The subtitles are also not helpful as sometimes it also misintreprets what the instructor is saying or writes(incoherent). The instructor is too fast and has explained concept too briefly. Many times I had to google to understand the concept and pass the quiz.

Being a part of the specialisation, it is necessary to pass this course. However, the answers of the quiz are also sometimes not correct.

I wish this course is thoroughly revised with some other instructor as it is very hard to understand with the present Instructor.

The forum is also completely unresponsive.

Please update this course.

by Abhishek U

Aug 03, 2017

I liked the course information but it moves too fast. Week 4 module is too complicated to be covered in a 5 minute video. Many concepts should be explained in detail with examples. The teacher doesn't have a very easy accent to understand and there are many occasions when some really difficult concepts are covered in less than a minute.

This course is fine to get basic understanding of predictive modelling but you need to study a lot on your own to truly understand the statistics behind them and concepts described in this course.

by Chinmaya M

Nov 20, 2017

Its my individual perception about this course, reason of poor review

1) The instructor is very quick, not sure what is intended to present

2) The whole concept is based on XLMINER tool, which is free for 2 weeks. The tool is upgraded but the course material didn't.

3) Quiz questions and answers, not sure if those are ever verified. Its very specific to older version of XLMiner tool.

4) Not much support from moderator.

by Yihan W

Mar 10, 2017

Week 3 application assignment is buggy. If you input correct answers they will be marked as incorrect. You must use trial and error to find the wrong answers the quiz is looking for. It's a badly designed assignment that wastes students' time and creates a lot of frustration. Would not recommend the course because of it.

by Lance R

Jan 02, 2018

This course gave me a good understanding of the typical analytic tools used when doing predictive study. It has helped set the direction for my future business analytics study (don't expect to master all the topics in one short course!). If you don't already have a background in basic statistics you will probably struggle to understand much of the material. By basic I'm speaking of things such as basic hypothesis testing, error types, z scores, measures of variation and central tendency, confidence intervals, basic probability, basic understanding of logarithms and exponents.

by Arushi

Aug 12, 2019

Got to many techniques like boosting, bagging, Neural networks, regression tress etc.. Useful and informative course

by Shivam S

May 16, 2019

Really good course, The videos are very precise and short, lot of learning, Loved this course

by Mark S

Jan 02, 2017

The instructor speaks too quickly and I think this will make it difficult for non-native English speakers to understand the material. This material will also be more understandable to individuals with a statistical analysis background, not enough time is spent on explanation and it will be necessary to supplement the class if you don't have the proper background. Passing the class by rote following of the examples will not give you the proper proficiency.

by John T

Mar 30, 2017

This course has great content and I believe the professor is very knowledgeable about this subject matter. However, at times, it can be very difficult to understand what he is saying. I believe he knows the English language very well but, between his deep accent and speaking very quickly, there are a number of times I cannot understand what he is saying. This is reflected at times when reading the transcript below each video. I found it better to slow the video down to 0.75X the regular speed to hear him but that did not remove all of the difficulty.

by Rachel S

May 16, 2019

There are a lot better courses for the time. This course mostly teaches you how to use XLMiner which is a paid Excel add on that I am 99% certain I will never use again.

by roshni r

Jul 09, 2018

I don't mean to criticize and I believe the content your courses offer is always great but I had difficulty with the instructor's speech delivery and his accent.

by Amol K

Jan 15, 2019

More Banking & Financial Industry Related Examples can be covered...

by Ivan Z

Jul 29, 2018

Dan Zhang is a very good teacher.

by sandhya k

Jan 03, 2017

Well explained

by Tanay C

Nov 27, 2017

its really good

by Harliano A

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

by Ameerah R A S

Sep 09, 2017

awsome

by Avinash T

Aug 28, 2017

Very nice course

by Sankepalli S K

Feb 16, 2017

Its an excellent course and thanks to Professor for making this course so practice oriented.

by Aqil K

May 10, 2017

It was an amazing learning experience with a very high reputed university.

by Shiyu D

May 19, 2018

it's really good, but this course is very fast and hard