Chevron Left
Understanding Violence に戻る

Understanding Violence, エモリー大学(Emory University)

4.5
109件の評価
30件のレビュー

このコースについて

We are so pleased to have you join us as we investigate this crucial topic. Violence is a leading cause of death, disability and health care use worldwide. Violence is a complex problem and can only be understood and reduced though a multidisciplinary approach. This course introduces you to experts who study different forms of violence and we will discuss the various causes of violence. You will also learn about efforts to reduce violence and engage in a day of compassion. We are very fortunate that PRESIDENT JIMMY CARTER is participating in our course. He delivers a lecture on the efforts of the Carter Center to end violence around the world, and he engages in a discussion with us about his life and work in human rights. Do join us for short videos, readings and discussions. And also see our coffee chats, where we (Pamela and Deb) summarize and reflect on each module. And we want to hear from you! Feel free to reach out via Twitter or through the course, or through our Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/understandingviolence01/....

人気のレビュー

by SP

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

by A

Sep 20, 2017

Very informative and interesting. Learned some great new concepts and how different types of violence impact others.

フィルター:

30件のレビュー

by Shampa Iftakhar

Feb 12, 2019

This course is truly meant for me. I did enjoy every lesson I got here. All videos,lessons and assignments are so thoughtful . I am grateful for offering such dynamic that is helpful for future pursuit, too.

by Simona Mencinger

Feb 05, 2019

The title of the course is misleading, focusing almost exclusively on GBV, gang violence and shooting incidents in the US and leaving out other important forms of violence, like war, terrorism and some general historical, statistical and global dynamics. Gang violence or shooting incidents are relevant in the US, but not in most other countries. While gender based violence is incredibly important, it is not the only type of violence and in this case the focus should be added in the title of the course. The title promises a global perspective on dynamics of violence, but the course adopts almost exclusively a public health approach, which is by far not sufficient for discussing such a broad phenomenon as is violence.

by Juan G. Figueroa Carrer

Jan 04, 2019

Excellent well prepared!

by Robert Coskrey

Nov 26, 2018

I enjoyed this course. I would have liked to see more about prevention. Many of the lectures focused too much on causes and statistics. I would be so bold to say it seemed like an overkill. There also should have been more about violence in different cultures. More exploration of movies and Television programs in this decade. Especially a look at the morals that cause a society to accept violence in video games and movies. There are much deeper explanations behind violence.

by Sean brown

Apr 24, 2018

A good basic course on the ideas and understanding of violence. Beginners in the study of violence can learn much from this course

by Shobhraj Singh Parihar

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

by Karin Cobos

Feb 17, 2018

This course gave me the tools for a better understanding of violence. Thank you for this opportunity!

by Mohammed Tanvir Mosharraf

Oct 22, 2017

Great course to reflect on human nature.

by MAMBA LWABONGA Michel

Sep 27, 2017

This is a wornderful course as it teach what violance is and what can cause violance

by Ashlee Meakings (Crocker)

Sep 20, 2017

Very informative and interesting. Learned some great new concepts and how different types of violence impact others.