Chevron Left
The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking に戻る

Google による The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
10,008件の評価
1,965件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

人気のレビュー

JP

Jan 26, 2018

A lot of information, but i feel like i fully understand core networking concepts. A lot of this info has helped me comprehend what will be required for me when I take my Network + certification exam.

BC

Jun 24, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

フィルター:

The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking: 1 - 25 / 1,950 レビュー

by Kelley F

Oct 26, 2018

As a complete and utter beginner to IT, I feel like all of the information presented in this course is in a backward and awkward way. Everything feels so segmented that I'm having a lot of trouble putting it all together in the correct way. There doesn't seem to be a natural flow to any of the lessons and it feels more like a professional stating something than actually teaching it. I've had to completely use outside sources for how to actually do the Peer Review assignment. I feel like all the learning I've done is from hearing about it here and researching it elsewhere.

by Yongyi W

Feb 20, 2018

Poor designed course with lots of meaningless talk, lack of example and practice, key to pass the test is memorize terms.

by Kwesi A P

Nov 12, 2018

Too much detailed a topic to just have some body narrate the entire course. A few visual displays with audio and activities helps make the course more enjoyable and easy to absorb and understand material

by Saurabh K

Dec 15, 2018

The course videos are so awkwardly robotic. Maybe if the instructors were not made to read it like that and say it in a more relaxed manner it would be better.

by Yat M L

Apr 06, 2018

The delivery format needs dire quality control. I don't want to see some random guy talking and would rather see some actual slide to show calculations and step by step guide

by Devon G

Sep 16, 2018

Not explained well and could use more visual aids to help explain.

by MATEJ M

Jan 17, 2019

I can just say that at the beginner level this is really hard material to comprehend, they assume some parts of the network bits that you understand, which as you will notice that is not the case, now for someone who has some network background this might come off more familiar. Very often I would refer to other sources in order to understand the lesson better, which is always welcomed, but here I couldnt understand nothing on the first try.

Suffice to say it will give you good knowledge and fundamentals about how network/networks work but be prepared to review same lessons multiple times and to use google on certain occasions to make things easier to understand.

by Matt D

Mar 08, 2018

Reading a teleprompter is not exactly teaching.

I find myself using other sources since everything is so badly explained.

The quizzes have questions about things we are told about in passing.

Many of the workshops do not work at all or require a special work around to get working at all.

Very disappointed in this course.

Do not pay for this.

by Ben C

Jun 24, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

by Ian I

Jun 12, 2018

Definitely teaches you the basic of networking that are needed to understand how it works as a whole. Would recommend anyone who is interested in learning about networking to enroll in this course.

by Greg W

Sep 20, 2019

The first course on IT Fundamentals felt way to easy, but at least had some hands-on labs. This second course had way more challenging information, but zero hands-on. I would like the courses to be balanced more between the two, but all-in-all this was a really good, informative course.

by Irene C

Dec 07, 2019

For me, it was difficult to understand and grasp the technical aspects of the content. I wish there were more metaphors or infographics to better explain the heavy technical content.

by Tyler S

Aug 06, 2019

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

by Jonathan P

Jan 26, 2018

A lot of information, but i feel like i fully understand core networking concepts. A lot of this info has helped me comprehend what will be required for me when I take my Network + certification exam.

by YELOGNISSE D

Feb 13, 2019

i learned a lot of things about this course , how computers are connecting to each other, and the real mechanism which happen inside the computers when two or more nodes is interconnectes

by Sebegha G F

Dec 08, 2018

This course is exceptional, so much modern day knowledge in IT.

by Dariia L

Jan 15, 2019

A lot of new and useful information!

by Lee A B

May 11, 2018

While I think that I have learnt a great deal of acronyms in this course, I feel that it has in NO WAY prepared me to be able to troubleshoot network issues. There is absolutely no practical knowledge & no virtual hands-on troubleshooting. There is no "steps" on how to do anything. For example: a section on Host Files. I spent 10 minutes trying to find host files on my home computer. nothing! All these tools were are told about, but the information on how to use them is sorely lacking. I was hoping after the vague knowledge that was given to us in the first course, that the second would be more in depth. Not. This has been a big disappointment thus far.

by Mohammad O

Dec 03, 2019

Quiz in subset is very confusing, not clear how to perform quiz.

by Brandon M

Mar 02, 2018

Some of the interactive quizzes could have been better explained and administered in a more efficient way. For example, the final quiz converting IPv6 to IPv4 shortened address - you should not have to continually redo answers that you already had correct. The way the quiz is administered is 10 random IPv6 numbers. It should have been done in such a way that once you get one correct, it won't generate again. A lot of the interactive quizzes were given this way and it just made them more time consuming. Imagine getting 9/10 right and you make a small error on the 10th. You then have to redo all 10 again despite having gotten 9 right previously. It's just inefficient. Other than that everything else was great. I'd like to see a mix of multiple choice and fill-in-the-blank on the quizzes instead of just one way or the other but that's not that big of a deal because there are flaws with both types of questions. I'd also consider doing away with the peer graded essays. I get the purpose for them, but I also don't think people were grading them fairly or thoroughly. I know for a fact that I did not include one of the items that was asked and 2/3 people gave me a passing mark on that particular item which shows flat out that they did not take the time to read through my submission. Overall great job, I'm enjoying the courses so far.

by Rachel M

May 15, 2018

If, like me, you don't have much of a tech background, there is a very steep learning curve between the first and second course of the specialization. This covers a lot of information, but breaks it down in what I found to be a manageable format. Not easy by any stretch of the imagination (if you take notes and study them, you will easily hit 8-10 hours of work per week), but manageable. I found the material interesting and the instructor clear and engaging (albeit corny at times). I picked up a CompTIA Network+ book on a whim about halfway through the course and already knew quite a bit of the material, which was a nice little confidence boost.

The only thing that bothered me a bit was the grading--almost everything is 100% or failure. Honestly, I probably would have retaken things until I got 100% anyway, but when you're doing a module mid-quiz and have to start from scratch 10 problems in for one mis-click, it's a little annoying. The grading rubric for the peer graded assessment also really doesn't address the prompt at all. Very few of the papers that I read were anything more than a list of definitions with no attempt at explaining how the layers interact with each other.

by Amanda C

Apr 15, 2018

Great course and a great instructor! One of the tests didn't want to load on Firefox, but loaded properly on Chrome. There have been a few technical difficulties in this and the first course with some loading of material, but if you're having trouble there is a solution to be found on the message boards. I haven't found the issues to be too troubling when I refer to the boards to work them out.

The course instructor is very engaging and the delivery of material is excellent. Some have mentioned the material moves quickly. A tip I would offer is to not just watch the videos straight through and expect to get it. Transcripts are available to read through, or I've found pausing and replaying to take notes while I watch to be considerably helpful. The tests are finicky in that minor spelling errors will give you a wrong answer. Since testing yourself is one of the best ways to solidify material, I didn't find taking retakes for this reason too frustrating, it was just an opportunity to get the material better ingrained.

by Stevens, T

Sep 27, 2019

This course like the first one I took is very well done. The way the Google has presented the course is amazing. The videos do a really good job of laying things out in a way that makes the learning fun. At no time do I feel that I cannot do something because they are always rooting for you to succeed in the videos. To be honest it is almost like a good book that I do not want to put down. I just want to keep going in the course to learn more. It is actually kind of sad it is over in a way. Getting started on my next course has me pretty excited after going through this one. Completing my Google IT support certificate will be something I am looking forward to with eager anticipation. Thank you for putting together such a wonderful course.

by Matthew R D

Feb 05, 2018

The teacher really cares about the content they're teaching (and it shows). The background teachers also did a great job.

My favorite part of this section is that the quizzes have fill-in-the-blank (for almost the entirety). I've done pretty much every class/module and this is the only teacher that did that. While sometimes I disagreed with memorizing certain question/answer pairs (proprietary or trivia questions) and lamented the lack of multiple answers (LAN vs local area network + link-local unicast vs link-local unicasts), I still felt that I learned far more from it. I'm sure some students had tons of trouble from this section's tests but I still feel that some number (maybe not 100%) of open-ended questions should be included.

by Sudheera S

Jan 15, 2019

I have 15+ years experience in IT. Back when I started my career, I did not have access to online courses. I discovered this course and immediately enrolled. Although, I had a good understanding of most of the topics covered in the course prior to enrolment, the course served as a good refresher. The quality of video lectures, well thought out quizzes and assignments delivered a good learning experience. I recommend this course for anyone starting their career in IT support. Even if you have some experience in IT, don't hesitate to enrol to learn the things you might have missed earlier in your career and prepare to take your career to the next level! This is an exemplar course. Thanks to Google and Coursera!