Chevron Left
Data-driven Astronomy に戻る

シドニー大学(The University of Sydney) による Data-driven Astronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,178件の評価

コースについて

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

人気のレビュー

SK

2020年9月10日

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

2020年2月28日

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

フィルター:

Data-driven Astronomy: 176 - 200 / 346 レビュー

by Abhijeet B

2020年4月23日

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.

by Timothy J N

2020年4月16日

This course really gave me an understanding of the methods of modern astronomy as well as the basics of working with data.

by Dhruv P

2019年12月2日

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

by Jeremy J

2020年7月24日

Clearly presented overview of necessary techniques in data wrangling with real world, astronomy sourced, coding examples.

by fouchereau r

2020年1月15日

Was a pleasure to take this course, It is well balanced between astronomical information and Machine Leargning concepts.

by Aayush K

2017年7月1日

A great course that helps one understand the basics of data analysis and how they are used in observational astronomy.

by Carlos N

2018年4月19日

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

by Ted S

2017年5月24日

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

by Steve B

2018年6月19日

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

by Diogo S

2017年9月3日

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

by Gonzalo B

2018年8月7日

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

by Ahammed A

2018年5月9日

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

by Christopher N

2022年5月7日

Great content and exercises. I learned more about modern astronomy and techniques for working with big data.

by Ka W P N

2022年2月1日

A high quality course. You could learn not only Astronomy, but also practical application of Python and SQL.

by Ishita -

2020年3月26日

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

by SHUBHAM K

2019年7月20日

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

by Martin R T

2020年10月26日

An amazing course that everyone interested in Astronomy and programming must take!! I highly recommend it!!

by Caden G

2020年11月21日

Very relevant, topical material and some good actual hands-on practice with highly applicable techniques.

by John O

2019年7月11日

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

by Omar R T C

2022年1月25日

Superb course. Learned a lot about astronomy, programming, algorithms, and the role of data in science.

by Daanish P

2020年5月1日

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

by Alexandra B

2021年12月10日

G​reat course! It covered a lot of relevant topics, but was still light, interesting, breezy and fun!

by Terence

2020年5月15日

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

by Daniel N H

2020年9月19日

Absolutely gorgeous! It has exceeded my expectations in so many levels that I can't even explain...

by Cecilia G

2019年7月5日

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.