Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part One の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,038件の評価
300件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

人気のレビュー

BL
2018年3月12日

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM
2016年10月1日

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part One: 251 - 275 / 301 レビュー

by Maris

2017年8月12日

Excelent

by zfan

2016年1月9日

Amazing!

by Javier G

2015年12月11日

Excelent

by Pat

2020年5月7日

Awesome

by Akshay M

2019年3月29日

awasome

by Mario M

2017年5月18日

Great!!

by James B

2021年8月28日

g​reat

by Ajit S G

2019年3月14日

ghghgh

by Ricky T

2017年11月29日

Great.

by Greg P

2020年4月11日

great

by Ricardo T G S

2019年4月14日

Good.

by Jhoan S B A

2020年4月22日

Good

by SONU K

2019年5月7日

NICE

by Kiyotake S

2016年6月3日

Very

by 米勒

2016年9月16日

u

by Jeanie S

2016年6月21日

I

by James G R

2015年11月5日

A

by Denise M

2017年12月3日

This course is a great overview of modern rock music. I think it is greatly enhanced by using the text which is a nice reference to have on its own. One thing that really needs to be improved are the written transcripts for the videos. Sometimes I preferred reading the transcript as opposed to listening to the video but I found that the transcripts were at times very garbled, inaccurate to what was actually being discussed by Professor Covach (names, places, etc.), and need general editing for grammar. I know that transcription has probably been done on a very basic volunteer basis but it should be reviewed again in comparison to the actual video discussion because frequently, the two media are not aligned.

by Jan-Willem J

2015年8月27日

This is a great course that is very informative. It brought many performers to my attention that I had not heard of before or that I had not appreciated before and has enriched my appreciation of music. The course focuses mainly on the history and development of rock music, rather than the technical side of the music itself. It is a pity that the course itself only discusses the music, but does not feature the music itself. I suggest that you keep a streaming service, such as Spotify or Deezer, open in a separate window on your browser, so you can pause the lectures and listen to the music as you go along.

by Debra M

2021年9月4日

The quiz questions could use some work; many are based on obscure details rather than conceptual learning. The professor seemed genuine and was very informative. His love for music showed through his presentation of information. If any criticism could be offered on delivery, it would be to have the professor SLOW DOWN his delivery a bit. He "gets going" and goes faster and faster. Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone who might be interested in American rock history, the British Invasion, and Psychedelia.

by Marcelo F

2020年7月9日

Until what I have seen today it is a great course. However it is in many ways "too american". It should be rebranded History of American Rock. Despite that, it is very informative and have quite a good insights of what has been happening in America at the time and how Americans perceived themselves their culture and the British Invasion. Congrats. To this extend I am loving it!.

by Angelina W

2016年2月4日

Excellent general course about the history of Rock in the Western World. Lots of names of musicians, companies, and music make the course seem to revolve around memorization. Even so, the professor does describe the historical element in logical chains of events and biographies.

The quizzes could have been offered every week. There's no need to clump the quiz material.

by Bertha L D G

2021年11月11日

El curso es excepcional. No solo aprendí más sobre musica tambien aprendi un poco de la cultura social que se vivía a la par. Fue muy interesante conocer la sociedad de esos tiempos. Únicamente coloco 4 estrellas porque -segun desde mi perspectiva- siento que falto hablar de los grandes exponentes del Jazz. Despues de eso, el curso es excelente y critico.

by Sam A

2015年12月4日

Really enjoying this course (nearly done).

The subject is perfect for my age (about 50) as I grew on much of this music and play guitar.

Wish there was a way to incorporate the music.

I am pausing, going to youtube and back constantly but it is worth it.

by Albert M V

2017年4月21日

It was a great course. I love the professor's explanations and it was quite well organized. It would be good to have a document with all the links to songs and albums on Youtube or whatever, so you don't have to manually search for each track.