Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part One の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
724件の評価
190件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

人気のレビュー

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part One: 126 - 150 / 188 レビュー

by Shirley J

Oct 30, 2017

This course has given a good explanation of the inspiration behind Rock, as well as a perfectly understandable explanation of why things were the way they were.

by Neloufer P

Sep 10, 2017

I enjoyed the whole course, from start to finish. As a life-long fan of music, I already had most of the pieces of the puzzle, but this course helped but it all together and illuminate a few areas I had not explored before. I can't wait to delve into Part II!

by 동현 김

Jun 17, 2017

Learned so many things.

by Maris

Aug 12, 2017

Excelent

by Ramiro M F

Jan 04, 2017

Sheds a lot of light on this fascinating subject! Highly recommendable, amusing talks and nice quizzes. A defintely must-try.

by JO Y J

Jun 19, 2018

It was a great course

by 任欣雨

Dec 04, 2016

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

by Jon S

Oct 10, 2016

really fun and educational

by Monika F

Oct 22, 2017

Excellent course and great teacher.

by MR P O C

Jul 17, 2017

Very interesting!

by Celine T

Oct 09, 2016

This is an excellent course that I would highly recommend to any music and history lover. The professor is wonderful and is obviously passionate about the subject matter.

by Phil G

Jan 17, 2017

I found the course to be very interesting. I enjoyed learning about the artists and songwriters that shaped the birth of Rock and Roll and made it into the genre that so many are great fans of.

by anam

Aug 19, 2015

If you always have been insterested in rock music you must do this course. In Mr.Covach lectures, you can find out in a dinamic fun way artirts that you never have noticed before and also see what´s behind of big hits. So, I encourage you to do both parts of History of Rock!

by 晁庚

Apr 14, 2016

what a great course

by Kelsei L P B

Apr 03, 2016

I love music and this course changed my life! More than just learn some music that I didn't know about, I learned its evolution through years I have not lived.

by fei y

Sep 19, 2016

非常值得一选,上完这个课程对1950s,1960s时期摇滚乐的发展算是有一个比较全面的了解

by Amber M

Sep 30, 2015

Very enjoyable and well-taught.

by Корцуб П П

Oct 14, 2016

A great course that tells not just about history of rock, but about history of american popular music and about interceptions between different styles and approaches and how they formed rock music. It also covers topics about influence of technologie, people attitude, economy and business on it`s evolution. Don`t miss it, if you want to know about history of music more, or, as me, just to broaden your horisons. Interesting and entertaining in the same time.

by Guillermo F

May 30, 2016

I´m amazed with the detail of the course. Absolutely marvelous. Thanks!

by Phyllis S

Jul 31, 2016

Delivered by an instructor whose lectures are knowledgeable, well-paced and dynamic.

by french b

Apr 15, 2017

Thanks a lot for my best experience so far with a MOOC course. I'm taking the course from Germany and got a lot of information on the cultural background, which help me enjoying my music collection even more. A must do course for anyone interested in music and/or 20th century culture.

by Anuj P N L

Apr 04, 2019

It was an awesome experience of Learning history of Rock. Thank You Prof. John Covach. I learnt a lot of stuff from your Videos.

by SONU K

May 07, 2019

NICE

by Maksym H

Apr 28, 2019

Very cool! I'd like to thank everobody who have created this course.

by Ricardo T G S

Apr 14, 2019

Good.