Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,436件の評価
350件のレビュー

コースについて

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

人気のレビュー

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

フィルター:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910: 1 - 25 / 346 レビュー

by Anne M

Apr 25, 2018

I am giving this 3 stars for one reason. Although the instructor was terrific and the subject matter interesting, you cannot take the quizzes/tests without purchasing the course (I like to test my retention of the material). As I am an elderly and retired audit-only student and have NO interest in getting a certificate or using the course for college credit, I found that off-putting and dropped the class. Hopefully, other Coursera courses are not going to adopt the same requirement.

by Ann-Maree W

Jul 18, 2019

This was a very interesting course! Philip Zelikow is a very good storyteller, who teaches you how to ask questions around these historical events. And he included a lot of nice maps and illustrations that I hope to use in the Global Art History class I teach.

by Nadim M

Jul 09, 2019

Talented professor. Amazing course.

by Angela M

Jul 07, 2019

Really enjoying the course content, thank you

by Ricardo C

Jun 27, 2019

Course presentations are very, very interesting. However, quizzes only very poorly assess the knowledge of the participants.

by Hasan R C

Jun 27, 2019

Wonderful course from a wonderful professor.

Thank you for your efforts.

by

Jun 18, 2019

smooth and clear delivery. excellent info. very enjoyable!

by WMChen

May 04, 2019

The lecturer and course materials are excellent! Very well organized and explained. Thank you very much, Prof. Zelikow.

by JG

Apr 25, 2019

Philip is a god.

by Petko E

Apr 19, 2019

Interesting topics

by Frédéric D

Apr 18, 2019

A very useful (and actually very rich) overview

A true talent to make it simple (honestly emphasizing that the interpretation grid is to some extent chosen by the professor !)

Great

by Abdurrahman

Mar 15, 2019

Great course, nice community, much engagement. Thank you for this.

by leslie c

Feb 28, 2019

Amazing course, great professor! I can´t wait to begin Part 2

by Fernando H U

Feb 25, 2019

This is a very good course with one of the greatest teachers I have ever seen.

by Manjula g

Feb 20, 2019

The course is very informative and useful , and easy to understand the concepts.

by Dimitris S

Feb 15, 2019

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

by Raissa L

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

by Ulises A

Jan 31, 2019

Increíble síntesis de los hechos que definen el mundo moderno.

by Richard K

Jan 29, 2019

The course is good, but requiring a purchase to do the quizzes is not.

by Afshin

Jan 06, 2019

Great professor!

by Charmaine L

Jan 05, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

by Kelvin L

Dec 31, 2018

Very informative course. Highly recommended.

by John H

Dec 22, 2018

Awesome high level view of history.

by Vinayaka H

Dec 22, 2018

I was interested to learn History but books were so boring for me, so I chose Coursera and now I can explore World History, how global forces interact with each other and influence lives of people in the community through this course.

Throughout the course Dr. Philip will not only explain about the history but he also tries to reason "Why it happened ?". In some of the videos, he even decodes the message hidden in art works of the past.

It is indeed a fascinating subject which is beautifully narrated. I look forward to take the second part of World history.

Thank you

by Oscar T

Dec 16, 2018

Muy bien presentado. Una perspectiva esclarecedora de una época esencial para comprender nuestro presente.