Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
3,005件の評価
622件のレビュー

コースについて

In this first course of the specialization, you will discover just what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization story from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

人気のレビュー

HR

May 02, 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

NL

Oct 05, 2017

I think I loved everything about this class. It wasn't easy, but it was fun and enlightened me on better ways to tell stories and tell stories with data visualization. Can't wait for class 2.

フィルター:

Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau: 351 - 375 / 613 レビュー

by Irvin Y D M

Mar 22, 2018

Great

by Parul G

Jan 04, 2020

best

by Hussain M I

Jan 03, 2020

good

by mahendra s

Nov 05, 2019

nice

by Bhanu V P

Apr 09, 2019

good

by 张越

Apr 01, 2019

good

by prasad k k

Jul 05, 2017

good

by poojasingh8

Aug 27, 2019

t

by Sue C

Jun 19, 2019

E

by Farah T I

Jul 29, 2018

N

by Amilkar A H M

May 10, 2019

Pros: The explanations are clear. The instructors seem knowledgeable and the lectures are well organized. The are several quick questions embedded in the lectures, which is great to help you remain focused on what is being taught. Great for people without a tech background.

Cons: The course is really basic. If you have a technology background (fro example if you are a programmer) this course might seem too basic for you. I'm a commercial intelligence analyst and I could complete the course literally about 5 days working about one hour per day even though I had not used tableau before. I'm glad I didn't pay for this course myself (my employer did) as I think that the content-price ratio is not very good for someone with my profile. I'm still giving it 4 stars because the limited information shown in the course, is well taught.

by Luca N

Mar 19, 2017

The course covers all of the relevant parts, however it does not go deep enough. It is highly recommended for complete beginners, but not for those who already have some knowledge in the field.

In particular, more content should have been provided for the following topics:

(1) Data connections, e.g. include a real example for connecting to odata and web data connector, also create a sheet with the data;

(2) The context of data visualisation (who, what, how, big idea), e.g. walk though two additional examples in different fields.

I particularly appreciated:

(i) The historical introduction (and I would have liked to read more about this)

(ii) Live Connection vs Tableau Data Extract

(iii) How to prepare an Excel sheet for import

(iv) The strategy for making a story (but as I said, this is partial)

by Amod S

Jun 04, 2019

Good class. There are a few big stumbling blocks, however. The instructions for peer-graded assignment in Week 3 are, to put it mildly, horrible! After spending hours trying to figure it out, I wrote a revised version of the instructions which can be found in Week 3 Discussion - "Clear and Easy to follow Instructions for Week 3 Assignment". I hope these instructions will be used to replace the current ones which have confused many. Week 4 peer-graded assignment instructions are a bit long winded, leading many to miss providing the one-sentence summary. But for these issues, it would be a 5-star.

by Jessica E

Jul 21, 2019

This section seemed to be more about the logistics of data connections and setting up your workbook than it did actually focusing on visualizations themselves. I think maybe changing the title to "Fundamentals of Tableau" or "Intro to Visualization with Tableau: Visualization Theory and Pre-work" might be more encompassing of what this section actually focuses on. That aside, it is still all very useful information and I do appreciate learning about the ideology behind visualization as a tool for telling a story with data. It really grounds the principles.

by Mark D

Apr 03, 2017

I like the balance between learning the principles involved in creating effective visualizations and practicing them while learning to use Tableau. I was happy with the visualization I created for my final assignment. It would NOT have been as good had I not taken this course and learned to make use of pre Gestalt principles, attentive attributes and decluttering techniques to reduce the cognitive load involved in viewing my visualization.

by Laura K M A

Apr 12, 2018

It is a good course but more real life examples would be useful. It touches very little Tableau so maybe if someone is looking for fundamentals on how to make a visualization in Tableau this is not the right course because it goes more into theory of visualization rather than hands-on the tool.

by Oksana B

Nov 02, 2017

Great introductory course, but could be improved by providing more of step-by-step instructions on navigating the Tableau and its menus, addressing some typical error messages the user might receive, etc. If you have a prior working knowledge of some Tableau, this course could be a refresher .

by Rachel F

Nov 17, 2017

Overall this course was a very good introduction to Tableau. The instructions for the first peer-graded assignment were VERY confusing, and almost counter-intuitive. Instructors were very pleasant to watch and listen to, and they do a good job of discussing real-world examples.

by Linda

Mar 11, 2019

Enjoyed the course. This is a good starting point for engaging in the thought process behind how to present data and thoughts in a meaningful and catchy way. Would have liked to work with more samples of sets of data and arranging it into a viz, based on certain criteria.

by Shiou-Shiou D

Sep 09, 2017

It is a good start if you did not have any knowledge or experiences with Tableau. I would recommend the course since I truly learned fundamentals of Tableau. However, if you already have some basic knowledge or experiences, the course would be too simple for you to learn.

by Victoria S

May 31, 2017

Great beginner course for Data Visualization and beginning concepts with Tableau! Note: this course is more focused on the whats and whys of data visualization - about 50% of this course is dedicated to that content. Using Tableau accounts for the other 50%

by Sunil s V

Nov 27, 2017

This is a good course to get yourself indulged in Tableau Public software. Its an eye opener. Only issue is that some of the course instructions are not clear. For beginners it could pose a problem as I've struggled to get a grasp of it.

by Katya P

Jul 08, 2018

A little on the light side with regards to software use and data processing skills, but overall good introduction to Tableau. Definitely beginner level (although some experience with Excel and general computer knowledge is necessary)

by Erin R

Nov 24, 2017

Not as in depth as I expected, but good enough for the bare basics. You'll know how to make a chart after this course, but you might not know how to make it do all the cool things you see on the Viz of the Day from Tableau's website.

by sagar c

May 24, 2017

An excellent introduction to Tableau and more generally, visualization as a field. Talks about some of the essential prerequisites for any visualization. All in all a very interesting and well laid out course! Does what it says! :)