Chevron Left
Kotlin for Java Developers に戻る

JetBrains による Kotlin for Java Developers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
578件の評価
139件のレビュー

コースについて

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

人気のレビュー

MA

Jun 29, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

YY

Feb 11, 2019

This course is a very comprehensive and detailed introduction to Kotlin. However, it would be even better if it could include the generics part which is the most difficult but quite frequently used.

フィルター:

Kotlin for Java Developers: 1 - 25 / 139 レビュー

by Ciro

May 13, 2019

This course is good to learn Kotlin basics, well structured and the exercises are not trivial. But the speaker in the videos has a terrible accent, it's quite hard to get everything she says, I had to use subtitles which is annoying especially because they partially cover the text in the slides.

by Chuck D

Mar 05, 2019

Excellent coverage of core Kotlin concepts with plenty of good exercises. I look forward to the advanced Kotlin courses mentioned in the conclusion, covering DSLs, generics, coroutines, and more.

by Karel v D

Jun 07, 2019

I like Kotlin as a language.

I very much dislike the tests given in this course.

The tests are more about reverse engineering games and doing maths than about learning a new language.

I spend a lot of time just trying to understand the assignments.

Overall a disappointment.

by Jesus G S

Nov 27, 2018

Very interesting course where you will learn a lot about Kotlin.

by Jeni R

Jan 04, 2019

I believe that when we learn a new language, we should try to isolate the learning objectives and teach those. This course offers many complications along with attempting to explain syntax differences; and the other complicating factors are making it really tough to figure out what the learning objectives are. The content is not clear. The accent of the instructor and speech impediments make it challenging to follow and decipher. Once we do decipher the content, the exercise are obfuscating algorithm learnings with syntax. This is not a good course and I will choose another way to learn this language.

by Juan M R

Jun 20, 2019

The course was very well organized. Instructor clearly explained not only the language features, but also how they works under the hood. This allows the student to take full advantage of Kotlin.

by Fredrik R

Nov 20, 2018

Nice course. I liked the level. I really missed discussions on the assignments. It would have been really nice to see a solution with comments and compare it with my own to learn from my mistakes.

by Karpenko A

Nov 17, 2018

She doesn't know English. It is terrible lector!

by Marcin I

Nov 18, 2018

It was fun to play with Kotlin for the first time. The course is short but seems to cover everything I need to start writing code in Kotlin. The material is well-structured and the exercises quite entertaining. Svetlana is active on the forum and helps to solve all technical difficulties one might face. Highly recommend everyone who wants to take their first steps in Kotlin. Thank you very much for the course! I enjoyed it a lot. PS I'd love to see more courses like that from JetBrains i.e. covering coroutines and Kotlin Native.

by Thomas W

Nov 18, 2018

I overall enjoyed the course and found it very helpful for a Java developer starting with Kotlin. I'm looking forward to more courses from JetBrains, especially one on coroutines.

At first it bothered me a little that Svetlana was speaking freely (i.e. not reading a script), because she often interrupts mid-sentence and starts over. But in the end I'm thankful that she did it that way, because it's a refreshing difference to the often sterile presentations found with other courses. You can almost "hear" her thinking. There's this one moment somewhere in week 5, where you can hear her frustration over not being able to transform her thought into speech at first try. It feels authentic.

For me, the time estimates given for the assignments in Week 4 and especially 5 was too low. It took me more time. The assignments were not too difficult, but the pursuit of finding an idiomatic solution took more time.

by Gyorgy A

Dec 03, 2018

Excellent course, thanks! Clean explanations, right to the point, good for java developers looking for a modern approach. Thanks for both teachers!

by Jade F

Dec 07, 2018

This is a course featuring explanations by Kotlin's core designers! It utilizes an educational plugin for intellij that allows for you to submit assignments from the ide.

This course is fun, the videos are concise and concrete, and the insight you gain from Andrey Breslav about the design philosophy of Kotlin is valuable. I would recommend the course, but be forewarned that it requires some investment in study so you understand and remember the language syntax.

by MD A H Z

Dec 22, 2018

I would like to thank the instructors and Jetbrain to provide such an great course. This is the best kotlin course for java developers.

by Ivan Š

Dec 09, 2018

Great assignments!

by walid w

Dec 11, 2018

great

by Mihai L

Jan 27, 2019

This course was interesting and way more approachable than functional programming in Scala course for instance. However it seems like Kotlin is still advancing very fast so there are some small issues in assigments (buildSequence is deprecated and replaced with sequence). What I noticed is that trying to implement things in a functional way was not always easy so sometimes I went with imperative approach

by James P

Jan 29, 2019

Wonderful introduction to Kotlin for people who know something of Java.

by Mykhailo D

Jan 30, 2019

Nice but easy, waiting for 2nd and 3rd course

by Herman P

Jan 28, 2019

I learned a lot of things!!! despite I have been using kotlin in my work. The materials and explanations are really good. One of the best courses I've taken in Coursera definitely!!!

by Mykola D

Feb 04, 2019

This is an excellent introduction to Kotlin. I really like the way it was presented. It has a nice balance of theory and practice. The coding part was a lot of fun, especially implementing games in week 5 coding assignment. I highly recommend it to all my friends.

by Eliezio O

Feb 04, 2019

Excellent approach to teach Kotlin, always showing how the compiler works under the hood.

by Aakarshit U

Nov 24, 2018

Really good course even for those who know the basics of Kotlin and need a refresher. Svetlana, the instructor, is amazing with great examples for everything. The programming assignments are also great in really cementing the things learned. Looking forward to the next course!!

by Hanson C

Nov 26, 2018

Very useful material. Can't wait for the sequel!

by Jan V

Nov 26, 2018

Nice course, you get the basics. Appropriate level of assignments.

by Gianluca A

Nov 27, 2018

Great course with great challenging assignments!