Chevron Left
Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンタクルーズ校(University of California, Santa Cruz) による Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
198件の評価
54件のレビュー

コースについて

This is the second of a two-course sequence introducing the fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. It builds on the course Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis, which introduces Bayesian methods through use of simple conjugate models. Real-world data often require more sophisticated models to reach realistic conclusions. This course aims to expand our “Bayesian toolbox” with more general models, and computational techniques to fit them. In particular, we will introduce Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) methods, which allow sampling from posterior distributions that have no analytical solution. We will use the open-source, freely available software R (some experience is assumed, e.g., completing the previous course in R) and JAGS (no experience required). We will learn how to construct, fit, assess, and compare Bayesian statistical models to answer scientific questions involving continuous, binary, and count data. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development, explanations of the statistical modeling process, and a few basic modeling techniques commonly used by statisticians. Computer demonstrations provide concrete, practical walkthroughs. Completion of this course will give you access to a wide range of Bayesian analytical tools, customizable to your data....

人気のレビュー

JH

Nov 01, 2017

This course is excellent! The material is very very interesting, the videos are of high quality and the quizzes and project really helps you getting it together. I really enjoyed it!!!

B

Jul 08, 2018

This is a great course for an introduction to Bayesian Statistics class. Prior knowledge of the use of R can be very helpful. Thanks for such a wonderful course!!!

フィルター:

Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models: 1 - 25 / 58 レビュー

by Brian K

Apr 01, 2019

Excellent course! This covered a large amount of material, but it was well organized, with a good number of problems to solve. Matthew Heiner does an excellent job with the lectures and explains things well. Coming from the frequentist worldview, I found this course to be a definite challenge, but well worth the time.

by Georgy M

Apr 01, 2019

The second course of the great series. The knowledge and skills gained in this course allow to actually do statistical analysis on scientific data. The course is very clear, systematic and well presented. Thank you!

by Jonathan

Jan 01, 2019

Just finishing this class now......it is very good. Much better than the first one in this series. The videos and examples are better explained, and you leave with a solid understanding of Bayesian Analysis. When I signed up for this class I really wanted to know how I could use tools like MCMC to perform real analysis, and I feel like I got what I signed up for. Well done!

by Arnaud D

Dec 08, 2018

Really interesting course. The coding session are useful and can be use cases for lots of various situations.

by dhirendra k

Jul 15, 2019

Very good part II course in continuation with course I. The trainer provided good and detailed explanations throughout the course. Also lot of scenarios covered with help of practical examples. Very much recommended course in Bayesian Theory

by Eugene B

Jun 26, 2019

The course provided a lot of very helpful tools. However, I believe it was a bit too fast paced. Furthermore, there were certain topics which were not explained clearly -- for example, the discussion of the Metropolis-Hastings Algorithm and Gibbs Sampling was extremely confusing.

by Luis A A C

Jun 06, 2019

Excellent course.

by Yahia E G

Jun 06, 2019

Really good intermediate introduction to bayesian analysis. I really liked how hands-on the course is. The last project was very useful as one will likely to face challenges and try to solve them especially if you use a rich dataset.

by Stephen B

May 30, 2019

Best course done to date. I wish they had one in STAN too!

by Harshit G

May 09, 2019

Great course.

by Tibor R

Apr 20, 2019

Very good and useful course, and hard as well.

by Chunhui G

Apr 19, 2019

This is a great course. Although the first course of this series is lack of organization. But this one is fantastic. The lecturer is great. Although you have to pay money to do the quiz, it is worthwhile.

by Lau C

Apr 15, 2019

Super clear and easy to follow. Thanks so much.

by Chen N

Apr 08, 2019

Amazing, super cool!

by Nikola M

Apr 07, 2019

one of best stats courses I had

by Stephen H

Mar 18, 2019

Fairly good introduction to basic Bayesian statistical models and JAGS, the package to fit those models.

by Stéphane M

Feb 25, 2019

Good balance between courses and codes exercises

by Juan C

Jan 29, 2019

Muy recomendable para los investigadores y profesionales que quieren desarrollar productos y procesos nuevos.

by Cardy M I

Jan 29, 2019

This course helped me to get some experience at building Bayesian models and how they are applied.

by Wangtx

Dec 11, 2018

Great materials and well organized lecture structure. But in the meanwhile, it requires quite a lot preliminary knowledge.

by Ahmed M

Nov 12, 2018

If you want to become good in modelling it is recommended to enrol.

by Dongliang Y

Sep 30, 2018

Great class.

by Ilia S

Sep 24, 2018

I found this course very interesting and informative.

by Nicholas W T

Sep 06, 2018

Very thorough instruction. Excellent feedback and support on forums.

by Hsiaoyi H

Jul 31, 2018

Great course to learn both theories and techniques!