Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,407件の評価
279件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 1 - 25 / 287 レビュー

by Pablo A R T

May 13, 2019

Es un curso excelente, permite al interesado captar distintos puntos de vista políticos, puestos en contexto temporal.

by Kirsten W

Jul 11, 2019

In video discussions distract from the message. I'd prefer to be able to listen to the instructor talk about what he knows, rather than be forced to sit through fumbled questions and unrelatable conversations. There is a discussion forum to address people directly that tends to have higher quality conversation as a result. This method of shoehorning students into the video is frustrating and unnecessary.

by Louis S

Jul 10, 2019

I found this course very interesting and I thought that Dr Shapiro's lectures were very engaging. I feel that my understanding of politics past and present has been deepened. My only criticism might be that the course content goes so deep into different names and details that I would sometimes forget my place in the overall course.

by Ketevan K

Jul 09, 2019

Amazing course and an amazing professor!

by Arthur M

Jun 21, 2019

Enlightening course - this course allows me to appreciate the different value systems.

by ORTHION

Jun 21, 2019

PERFECT.

by Denisse S T

Jun 11, 2019

I have no prior knowledge of political science and I just took this course to have an idea about politics. I learned more than I expected! Kudos to Professor Ian Shapiro, his explanations were thorough and very easy to understand. The students he's talking to were also bright and I learned from them as well.

by Wan K J W

Jun 08, 2019

Good course

by Shivam P

Jun 05, 2019

Its explained well but gets a little boring towards the end.

by Ana L L

Jun 03, 2019

Excellent course, a great opportunity to learn about the main political theories and to reflect upon current political systems and practices in regards to their legitimacy. I recommend it

by GUSTAVO A J M

Jun 03, 2019

A very nice course. Highly recommended.

by Francois C

Jun 03, 2019

Great content with much reference material provided to allow you to deepen your understanding. I would prefer a more standard lecturing approach than the intimate discussion setting used.

by Bernard G

Jun 02, 2019

This course introduces you to the variety of philosophies and political ideologies. It has left me with a much better understanding of political arguments as well as the ability to analyze better interrupt many current issues.

by Anna L K

May 15, 2019

The content is relevant and interesting but could be more linked to today's time. The videos are not engaging which makes it very hard to follow the lectures. A changing style or more expert interviews would have been nice.

by Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

by Wilhelmus C M L ( L

Apr 16, 2019

I like the course. It goes deep in the matter. the theories are explaind good and graphs are easaly understandable. Thanx for the course

by Zakaria G

Apr 05, 2019

loved the course, would have just loved more videos and discussions about democracy, where it fails and how to deal wit that

by Paulo E G d S

Apr 04, 2019

O curso é muito abrangente, bem estruturado, elaborado e aplicado. A plataforma é pratica, simples e objetiva. O professor domina o assunto e incrementa as explicações com uma didática bastante focada no conteúdo e na finalidade de entendimento. Também trouxe um referencial teórico bastante amplo e pertinente.

by Laxmi M H S

Apr 02, 2019

Very Good.

by SURESH G

Mar 31, 2019

This is one of the outstanding courses on Political Philosophy and Practice,and a best starter for beginer in the field.

by Aaron K

Mar 31, 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

by Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

by Jose C

Mar 22, 2019

Preeeeeetty good

by Natalia B

Mar 20, 2019

Thank you for your work!

This course made me think a lot, showed a new facet of philosophy. At first I didn't like the course, but now I think it is one of the best.

by Dante E L V

Mar 18, 2019

Good