Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,644件の評価
331件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 1 - 25 / 328 レビュー

by Pablo A R T

May 13, 2019

Es un curso excelente, permite al interesado captar distintos puntos de vista políticos, puestos en contexto temporal.

by Denisse S T

Jun 11, 2019

I have no prior knowledge of political science and I just took this course to have an idea about politics. I learned more than I expected! Kudos to Professor Ian Shapiro, his explanations were thorough and very easy to understand. The students he's talking to were also bright and I learned from them as well.

by Wilhelmus C M L ( L

Apr 16, 2019

I like the course. It goes deep in the matter. the theories are explaind good and graphs are easaly understandable. Thanx for the course

by Narmin S N S

Jan 19, 2019

I really enjoy Professor Shapiro's methods of explaining, I don't have much knowledge about politics and some concepts were new to me, but he explained them in such a way that I had no trouble understanding!

I also really appreciated the idea of having two students present discussing and arguing with the professor, it added so much to the course and they asked many questions on behalf of many of us I am sure.

by Petra P

Dec 16, 2018

An excellent course. The lecturer was engaging, the course was well-paced and well-structured. Excellent readings, and useful revision quizzes. Highly recommended.

by Daniela Z R

Dec 18, 2018

LO MEJOR!!!!

by Danielle M

Jan 09, 2019

What a mind Dr. Schapiro has. Incredible course. Take it!

by Paul M

Feb 20, 2019

This course is a must try.

by manuel e v s

Feb 21, 2019

Excelente curso que analiza en profundidad grandes temas relacionadas con la política y el pensar filosófico de algunos autores

by Jairo G P

Mar 03, 2019

O professor é incrível. Suas explicações são claras e sua críticas são acertadíssimas. Parabéns Yale e Coursera, por nos proporcionar esse curso maravilhoso. Adorando!

by Berna ö

Mar 04, 2019

thank you for this course İt was really so enlightening to compare the period of political thought on public policy . I really appriciated Shapiro's guide for understanding with the examples of everyday life.

by Umesh S

Mar 05, 2019

Good

by Luís G S

Mar 07, 2019

Shapiro is GREAT

by Carlos A M

Mar 07, 2019

Great and acknowledging course!

by shri r

Mar 07, 2019

Good

by Subhash G G

Mar 11, 2019

Very good

by Paz O

Mar 12, 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.

by Mohit k

Mar 12, 2019

content awsome

by Gabriella F

Mar 18, 2019

This is such an interesting and useful course! It presents many possible paths to explore political philosophy and increase knowledge in the field. I am glad I had the chance to take it.

by Dante E L V

Mar 18, 2019

Good

by Jose C

Mar 22, 2019

Preeeeeetty good

by Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

by Bhupendra S R

Mar 14, 2019

good course

by Minseo P

Dec 22, 2018

Thanks for the amazing professor that made me understand deeply