Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,249件の評価
383件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

RW
2020年4月29日

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
2018年1月28日

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 76 - 100 / 377 レビュー

by Bashar A

2021年11月25日

The course is really nice to start learning UNIX shell from scratch and the book is super easy to read. I had so much fun. Big thanks to the creators for their effort.

by Haseeb Q

2018年12月15日

Excellent introduction to the command line and github. Great as it goes past superificial introductions and teaches programming and manipulation of the command line.

by Aprende & c

2019年12月12日

Good intro, I recommended see documentation for each command using in bash: $ man [command_name] for better understanding and to see the arguments you can pass in.

by Sai T V

2020年6月14日

The Unix Workbench book has helped me in gaining knowledge on bash(unix shell), shellscripting, git, git hub and cloud computing basics. This course is beautiful.

by Lotachukwu I

2020年7月4日

Brilliant course. It's mostly text based so you have a lot of reading to do. But if that is not a problem for you (99% reading, 1% video) I would recommend this.

by Zhizhong D

2018年10月1日

Very useful course, I am using lots of remote high performance computers. This class definitely improves my understanding on Unix Shell and working efficiency.

by Umar K

2017年9月19日

Great course for beginners. Proves to be a great reference for people who are working on multiple platforms and tend to forget syntax of different languagess

by Tomas F G

2020年12月13日

Loved this course. I learnt so many incredibly useful things. I so glad I took this course. To Sean Kross, Johns Hopkins University and Coursera: Thank you!

by T T

2020年11月9日

Great Course. Really learned a lot from it. The moderators and the teachers are really helpful,and the content is just outstanding. Would recommened 10/10

by Ana M H G

2017年10月8日

It's been a great course to refresh my Unix knowledge and to begin using all of the Unix tools all over again. Thank you for this course, it's great! :-D

by Nawaz R A

2017年8月17日

Coming from Unix background myself, I would recommend this course to every newbie in Unix field and any IT/Operations/Development professional as well!

by Jason H

2020年4月26日

This is a great foundation course for Linux. I knew one or two things before coming in, but getting a refresher on SSH, SCP, Git etc. is very handy.

by Shanila A

2020年8月3日

This course was very helpful, it is perfect for any beginner like myself. I would recommend this for anyone who is looking to enhance their skills.

by Santos S M O

2021年8月23日

It's a very useful course if you are a principiant in the terminal and you want to use it for many things. It's really clear with all the terms.

by Trevorr M

2018年1月27日

Very comprehensive and hands-on! Great to get an understanding of the subject matter and gives you enough information and knowledge to build on.

by Akshata D

2020年8月31日

This course is perfect for beginners who want to learn UNIX . Also you can learn about git and GitHub and basic concepts of cloud computing.

by fabian87

2019年3月7日

es un curso hecho bien, en el cual llegas a aprender con grande facilidad.

Gracias a todos los profesores que han hecho este hermoso trabajo

by Јован П

2018年6月5日

Not too easy, not too hard. Gets to the point quick, concise. I learned quite a few tricks about UNIX. I recommend this course to everyone!

by Xiaoxuan W

2018年2月21日

This course was extremely helpful to my CS studies. I think a course like this should be a required intro class for every college CS major.

by Swarnava G

2020年8月7日

Wonderful and an essential course for anyone in any field of computing. Would recommend it to everyone I know would be benefitted from it!

by Thomas B

2021年5月10日

Exceptionnal... Very efficient and complete course on the Linux command line. Highly recommended to noobs, and even to intermediate users

by John J

2020年7月13日

Excellent.course. Demanding but doable.

Well designed for Online Learning.

The Instructors definitely put in serious thought and effort.

by Jenny C

2018年1月9日

Great course! More text-based than lecture-based which works great. No large "jumps", but gives a great introduction to UNIX. Thanks!

by Dmitriy K

2017年9月17日

This was one of the best courses on Coursera. I really liked it's open-minded structure and nice introduction to unix environment.

by Prasang G

2020年5月25日

The Course is simple and efficient for the beginners. The concepts are taught in simple yet effective manner. Highly recommended.