Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
651件の評価
191件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 76 - 100 / 188 レビュー

by Nikolay M

May 16, 2018

Great introduction to get to speed fast. I didn't know anything about command prompt, terminal, bash and Git before starting the course, and I have mastered it after completing the course. Highly recommended.

by DEVESH K J

May 04, 2018

Great Course .This will help you from beginning to advance level.

by arin w

Oct 28, 2017

interesting

by Bongani N

Jun 25, 2018

Great course

by Rahul M

Jun 26, 2018

Learned all the basics of Linux with examples.

by Kenyon S

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

by Carlos A

Jan 02, 2018

Nice course to get started. Most of the time when you might think "hmm, but what if..." you just keep reading and you will get the answer. I liked the course format and the selected examples. Thank you :)

by Ajeetkumar V

Dec 31, 2017

Nice content to get you started with Unix and it's power. It would have been good if it would have covered symbolic links and file structure. those are anyway covered in the book

by Vipul G

Jan 27, 2018

Not only the course covered the Linux from basic to advanced but also gave a brief insight on cloud computing as well as GitHub which proved essentially useful and practical giving it an edge industrially over other courses. Thanks Sean Kross! :)

by 刘洋

Apr 08, 2018

Perfect course

by Bahar P

May 13, 2018

Very Useful and thorough and very well taught.

by Trevorr M

Jan 28, 2018

Very comprehensive and hands-on! Great to get an understanding of the subject matter and gives you enough information and knowledge to build on.

by Valerio M

Jan 01, 2018

Very helpful!

by Ajeet P

Feb 15, 2018

Excellent

by Pieter F P

Jun 07, 2018

Very good course. I had a fair working knowledge to begin with, but the course expanded my understanding and skills to where I can actively apply them in my work. It comes highly recommended.

by Matthew A S

Feb 21, 2018

Awesome course for people with no experience.

by Karan A

Nov 10, 2017

Good teachers! Simple explanations!

by Fazeel G

May 08, 2018

It was a very educational course, and I would recommend it for beginners.

by Peddi A

Jun 21, 2018

It's vrey good for Git

by Bruno C

Sep 03, 2018

It was a great introductory course, which has helped me in my current work environment. That being said i felt that the last part regarding cloud computing was a bit rushed (from learning to sue a API to suddenly being asked to create a bot)

Overall i recommend the course to any colleague

by Jorge L R Z

Sep 11, 2018

Amazing course!

by Vladimir M

Sep 12, 2018

It's a great course!

by Claudia K

Sep 27, 2018

Great course to get familiar with Unix and bash scripting.

by Leo

Oct 23, 2018

very clear and useful course. Thank!

by Jorge N

Aug 27, 2018

Very good!