Chevron Left
The Unix Workbench に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Unix Workbench の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
852件の評価
258件のレビュー

コースについて

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

人気のレビュー

RW

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

フィルター:

The Unix Workbench: 76 - 100 / 258 レビュー

by Tom M

May 15, 2020

Highly recommend it for those starting to learning programming and those who want to brush up on shell scripting!

by David M

May 04, 2020

Concise presentation with hands on reinforcement of useful concepts. Great course to improve or practice skills.

by Karthikrajasekar G

May 11, 2020

This course concepts were conveyed in a simple and good way. easy to understanding the concepts.

Thanks Coursera

by Arjun S

Nov 09, 2018

Really helpful and informative. Even for an absolute beginner! Thanks a lot for this awesome course. Cheers!

by Kacy C

Mar 10, 2019

It was great because it allowed me to go at my own pace rather than watching and listening to someone talk

by Daniel P

Jun 27, 2019

Great resources, book, plus module, and exercises were challenging but good learning experiences. Thanks!

by Éamonn Ó N

Aug 24, 2017

Very good course, especially for beginners to get relevant and broad overview of tools (bash/git/cloud).

by Ahmed E

Jun 28, 2018

It is concise and practical course for getting your hand a little dirty with linux..I enjoyed my time

by Anmol L P

Feb 19, 2018

Good course for all of us who want to explore unix and are new to it. The course design is wonderful.

by Juan S M F

Apr 01, 2018

Excelente curso para comenzar con Unix, los ejercicios me resultaron interesantes y muy desafiantes.

by sukrita p

Nov 06, 2019

Very concise course to get started with shell scripting. Well drafted and good exercise questions.

by Josué R G S M

Feb 01, 2018

If you want to learn the basis of Unix/GNU Linux, this course is for you. It won't dissapoint you!

by Adonis J C G

Aug 15, 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

by Matthew A

Apr 05, 2018

A great overview of the Unix command line. Including a glimpse of software development with Git.

by Yohannes d

Aug 26, 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.

by Mrinmay B

May 29, 2020

It was a good course , helped me build confidence on UNIX and got familiarised with terminal.

by Kashish M

Jan 02, 2020

I really liked the course structure. It was a brief and practical course. I enjoyed doing it.

by Tushar A

May 12, 2020

This course is very helpful for the begginers and will teach you everything from the scrach.

by Andreu C P

Oct 19, 2017

A well structured course that serves as a clear initiation to Unix. I will recommend it!

by Bruno A M

Oct 08, 2017

Great content with accessible language and good challenges. Will definitely recommend!

by Jörg S

Dec 31, 2017

You really learn something by doing. And the provided learning path really makes fun.

by Ben Z

Feb 25, 2018

Great way to get an overview of the fundamentals of working with Unix-like computers

by Abhishek k

Aug 29, 2019

I have learnt all the basics of linux and unix commands. Its helped me alot.

by Jose C

Apr 06, 2018

Pretty interesting approach and broad useful content course. I recommend it

by Vinko B

May 26, 2020

A well crafted and easy to follow introduction to Unix. Highly recommend.