Chevron Left
Story and Narrative Development for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Story and Narrative Development for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
723件の評価
173件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you will examine how storytelling acts as a vital mechanism for driving video gameplay forward. Looking at several historical and contemporary games, you will be asked to evaluate and interpret different story styles with the goal of identifying themes and procedures for your own game ideas. We'll examine traditional narrative story processes, such as three-act structure, and how they fit into game story flows and the strategic elements of gameplay. Ultimately, you will learn how to define character, setting, and structure to create a compelling game concept....

人気のレビュー

CS

Dec 31, 2015

This is my favorite course ever. Dariush teaches in such an engaging way and it shows you how to have a creative yet objective and analyzed mindset for creating a story and narrative for a Video Game.

DA

Nov 07, 2017

This is so helpful. It covers all the essentials of developing a good story, applicable in any form of media, then it focuses on converting the story to a game by adding interactive gameplay elements.

フィルター:

Story and Narrative Development for Video Games: 126 - 150 / 163 レビュー

by Ramon M L

Mar 09, 2016

I learned good stuff. i gave four star because there could be more content some parts were written instead of a lecture. But i will recommend this course.

by sean o

Jul 16, 2017

At the end of the course I'm happy with it. I learnt about structure of stories and how they can be implemented in games, how to help people connect emotionally with a story and characters. I think the beginning was a little weak. I didn't like any of the example stories and I know there are a lot of great stories out there.

by Tania A

Nov 22, 2015

The contents were comprehensive, and the assignments helped reinforce the theory. By using pre-existing references to other works, they were tighter, which I think is useful to focus on the objectives set for a particular week. Some additional creative freedom would also have been interesting.

by Mikiodelg

Nov 17, 2015

Really nice way to know hot to present a Story!

by Sérgio C C

Mar 22, 2016

I liked the course. To improve, could become more dynamic , but the teacher is to be congratulated .

by Paul R

May 22, 2016

Enjoyable content and presentation but the coarse seemed very short compared to others I've taken. Not a criticism but rather and observation. If it was short on purpose that is one thing but I believe there is more to be said on this topic fundamentally and hope to see this course expanded or a second one produced.

I would like to that those involved int its creation.

by John L N d S

Oct 28, 2016

It was a great course and I`ve learned a lot with him!

I recommend for all student who want to get start on game design area.

by Mehmet Y

Nov 25, 2015

Assignments are good-intended, but I am not sure how helpful they are, as they are really boring and unnecessarily time-consuming. I do not know how could one make them better. In contrast, the videos are really good, they are worth your time even if you know your way around these things.

by Sarah P

Nov 19, 2015

I really enjoyed this course, The only thing I would have liked to have learned more about was how to do Game Design Documents and how they are made. I would have liked to have seen more examples as well as how to do these examples as well.

Thank you, I learned a lot.

Sarah Prewitt

by Daniel

Feb 24, 2016

This course gives actionable ideas about design characters and story lines.

by Paul B

Dec 04, 2015

Fun, interesting, good pacing and case studies. Instructor was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and presented material well.

by Antonia P C

May 30, 2017

I enjoyed a lot this course, showed quite well technics and tips to write

by 万锦阳

May 04, 2017

The course was good!

by Jenny F

Sep 23, 2016

I feel that the course was great but I felt confused on the last assignment, we covered a lot of things during the last week but then I was unsure if I should've applied that on our assignment... Also I'm not sure if it is possible but if we could have a chance to ask the teacher questions would be great. I know that there is a lot of people going this courses and maybe it is not possible but still there are things that I feel only the teacher could answer. Overall the course was good :)

by Petros K

Dec 03, 2015

quite enjoyable :)

by Mateus F

Apr 02, 2016

Makes you think. Interesting for any developer or anyone intested in narratives as a whole. Really nice exercises and lists too!

by Marina Z

Aug 01, 2016

Course materials are a little bit obvious, but I really like the original version of The Shooter and Jane's personality

by Jorge T

May 16, 2016

The course is fun, but as the previous part of the specialization a bit simple for what it charges for the certificate.

by Fernando B B

Sep 29, 2017

Great course!

by E. C C

Aug 14, 2017

Great course for expanding your writing skills in relation to storytelling in games.

by Carlo S C

Sep 10, 2016

A nice course, but there is lack of teachers participation.

by Alexey Z

Mar 14, 2018

A very good course to a beginner with no education in script-writing. A good relation to game industry. Interesting methods of organizing your work. Good cooperation with classmates

by Julian A

Oct 30, 2018

I love the material on this course, it really helps to improve. However, the peer evaluation system is the worse option for this course, only one person evaluates your work, and sometimes you must ask for help for the evaluation because no one will do it for default as its supposed to happen. Coursera needs to find a solution for this.

by Ruaan G

Nov 30, 2018

Best part of this specialization

by Eduardo B M

Jul 30, 2019

This really makes you work hard. Lots of writings. Definitely a good way to practice how to create a Game document.