Chevron Left
Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions に戻る

アルバータ大学(University of Alberta) による Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
306件の評価
154件のレビュー

コースについて

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

人気のレビュー

SM

Feb 05, 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

CS

Mar 27, 2020

Professors are knowledgeable. I obtained so much information about my future career in this one course! I honestly plan on taking it again at some point to refresh my memory and hone my skills.

フィルター:

Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions: 26 - 50 / 157 レビュー

by Cynthia H

Apr 30, 2020

This was the most comprehensive course! Not only did I get a very in-depth education about arthropods, but learning about Integrated Pest Management was enlightening and opened my eyes to the many ways in which we can avoid using chemical pesticides in favor of nature's pest control. Loved it. Planning on returning to the lectures many times in the future to cement this knowledge in my mind.

by Thomas J A

Sep 16, 2019

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot -- I've had a lifelong interest in insects, but have never studied entomology and don't work in the sciences. Even in sections I thought I already knew a lot about -- the honeybee module, for instance -- I always ended up learning something. Also, when my kids were younger, they/we were big John Acorn fans -- glad to see he made an appearance!

by Madness

Sep 11, 2019

I began the course with an interest in bugs but I had no idea just how fascinating they are. I can't pick any one module as my favourite since they were all well presented and really helped build on the course as a whole. I've never been a great student but the material and presentation made me excited to dive in. Special thanks to all of the instructors and experts interviews.

by Joan L L

Jan 14, 2020

I loved this course! I found the modules, instructors, and guests informative, fascinating, and fun. And, I love insects even more after completing this course. It took me awhile to finish due to other obligations, but, I'm so glad I persevered.

I can use this knowledge in nature courses and outings I offer as well as in insect photography, which is a passion of mine.

by Evelyn P A

Mar 28, 2020

Excellent course for beginners!!! It is a well-planned 13 weeks of information, with plenty of visual aids and up to date topics. I particularly enjoyed the interviews of professionals employed in different areas of entomology. To my surprise the week of “insects in human culture” was my favorite, with amazing myths and stories about insects and human begins.

by Jennifer T O

Nov 18, 2019

Informative and engaging! Entomology is a hobby for me. Sadly there's not much interest about bugs in my area. I bought several books on the subject but found some of the terms to be too hard to understand. Being able to have instructors who can explain these terms and concepts is amazing! Thanks for making this course available for people like me!

by Sahara A M

Oct 12, 2019

I've always been fascinated by "bugs," so when I saw this course was available, I immediately knew I wanted to take it. There's a lot of neat information and I like how this course was put together. I hope it does help to give people a better perspective of insects! They are so beneficial and honestly, such cool little creatures!

by Shawn T D

Oct 22, 2019

OUTSTANDING So well put together, subject mattered varied but forming foundation of Entomology. I enjoyed the variety of instructors and it was a good mix. Some of the interviews were mehh and a few questions were a bit tricky only because I did not read carefully and select two instead of three or something along those tracks.

by Mary H

Mar 28, 2020

Bugs 101 is well organized, well presented and engaging. I learned a great deal about insects, their physiology, morphology, adaptations, conservation and uses. I enjoyed each of the presenters, including those who work in different insect related fields. Thank you to everyone who put this course together. I may take it again.

by Camille C

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent course, I enjoyed every part of it and learned a lot. The videos and illustrations are of very good quality. Everyone can take this course because all biological concepts are explained very clearly. Personally I really liked the interviews with professionals and the beautiful pictures used to illustrate the course.

by Mauritius X

Sep 06, 2019

I have followed quite a few courses in Coursera offered by University of Alberta. They were all good. This one is at the same level. Lessons are well prepared. Instructors are good and easy. Topics are various. I learned a lot about insects and, as a biologist, this is not a minor accomplishment for a course like this.

by Ricardo j m n

May 15, 2020

Great course, with very good lecturers. managed to compile so much information and keep it interesting and focused. the course is very well structured and allow to advance at our own pace. Really well done. it would be great if there are some more specific follow up courses and a bit more on arachnids.

by Mohammed S

Apr 22, 2020

Excellent!!! Glad i took this course. The subject was taught slowy and all four of the tutors made themeselves very interesting to listen to. Subject was quite expansive but really worth it. Could have gone little bit more into the different species as well. Appreciate the effort of the whole team.

by Nancy M

Mar 10, 2020

Excellent course! I really enjoyed the lay out of the material and the freedom to complete each module through out an entire week. Makes it enjoyable and practical for anyone working while taking this course. The information was educational and up to date. Good Job delivering this course.

by Jessica B

Jan 02, 2020

I was hoping to develop a understanding of the little creepie crawlies and gain some appreciation for them which I did - still not a huge fan yet more gratefull we have them. A very insightful course and nicely spread out not overwhelming to digest. Thanks to those involved. very well done

by James B

Oct 25, 2019

Excellent and in-depth summary of the many ways in which insects impact our daily lives. I found the portion of their effects on crop management both as pests and biological controls particularly exciting! Highly recommend to anyone with an interest in expanding their knowledge base.

by Fran S

Aug 19, 2019

Although I've always rather liked bugs, after having taken BUGS 101, I have a much deeper appreciation for the value of insects in my daily life and for the importance of insect life in the entire ecosystem.

The course was well-organized, well-presented, and absolutely valuable.

by Dorothy J

Sep 29, 2019

Very informative and interesting. I liked the topics from what bugs are, to how they are managed, and then cultural aspects. It is giving me a new way to look at what is in my backyard, where if I need to do a little pest management, I don’t need to use strong pesticides.

by Melanie d M

Dec 23, 2019

Thank you so much for such an informative and fascinatingly awesome course! I've learned so much and gained an even bigger appreciation for these amazing creatures! I would highly recommend this course to everyone, from beginners to professionals working in conservation.

by Georgios K

Dec 21, 2019

I totally enjoyed this course! It was a great experience! All the instructors had done a great job and everything was understandable and clear. I learned a lot of new things and I am very happy that I had the opportunity to obtain this knowledge! Thank you very much!

by Carol M

Dec 20, 2019

A very interesting course. It really opened my eyes to the fascinating world of insects and our interactions with them. The myriad adaptations that insects have made is mind boggling. Another very well done course from the University of Alberta! Thanks Coursera!

by Tiziano G

May 06, 2020

Amazing

I really loved this course, easy to understand and awesome video-lectures. It was my second course with this university and I will definitely do more courses with them.

If you love insects, both like an enthusiast or an expert, this course is a must do.

by Sandra L

Oct 09, 2019

This was an excellent course. I was fascinated by so many aspects of the lessons, and learned a great deal about insect life, and the relationship between humans and insects. I really appreciated the obvious fascination that the lecturers have for insects.

by Jingtian Z

Apr 26, 2020

I used to lack the knowledge of insects more than any other animal groups, but with this couse, insects have a different and more important role in my knowlegde. It made me know and respect the largest (in species) and The smallest (on size) on Earth.

by Shruti G

May 11, 2020

It was a phenomenal experience to learn so much about the little creatures that seem so insignificant, yet play great ecological roles. The study materials, tutorials and tutors were amazing. There was a lot to learn and the journey was exciting.