Chevron Left
Dairy Production and Management に戻る

ペンシルベニア州立大学(The Pennsylvania State University) による Dairy Production and Management の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,147件の評価

コースについて

With the world's first MOOOOO-C, you will gain a broad and comprehensive understanding of all aspects of dairy management such as genetics, nutrition, reproduction, animal health, farm economics, and sustainability of dairy production systems. There's something here for everyone whether you are just looking for the basics or have years of experience in the dairy industry. This is an eight-week course. Each week consists of four to nine video lectures, additional reading materials, and a multiple-choice questions quiz. Estimated study time is between three and five hours per week. Learners have the option to purchase a Course Certificate for 49.00 USD. The certificate can be purchased at any time, but you must verify your identify before taking the course quizzes in order to be eligible. For those who cannot afford the certificate fee, financial aid is available through Coursera. Why is producing milk efficiently and sustainably so important? Milk provides humans with over 16 essential nutrients, such as: Energy, Protein and Essential Amino acids, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, several B vitamins, including B12, Pantothenic and Folic acids, and essential minerals such as Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, as well as other minerals. Did you know that one glass of milk provides a 5-year old child with 21% of his/her daily protein requirements and 8% of their energy needs? Most milk in the world, about 85%, is produced from cattle. However, water buffaloes, goats, sheep, and camel are also dairy animals. The United States, India, the European Union, Brazil, and New Zealand are among the largest dairy producers in the world. Yet among these dairy-producing countries there are varied methods to generate milk with highly variable productivity and efficiency. Dairy production is vital for the survival of billions of people. Globally, around 150 million small-scale dairy households, equivalent to 750 million people, are engaged in milk production. The number and size of dairy farms varies among countries, but in India alone, there are estimated 78 million dairy farms! In the United States, one of the leading milk-producing countries in the world, total milk production has been steadily increasing in the last decades, reaching over 205 billion pounds (93 billion kilograms) in 2014. This was accompanied by a steady increase in average milk yield per cow, reaching 22,260 lb (over 10,100 kg) per lactation in 2014. How has this efficiency been achieved? What methods are necessary to ensure production of high quality milk? How do we balance milk production efficiency with animal health and environmental protection? This course will provide the student with information to better understand dairy production systems and their role in feeding the world population. In this MOOOOO-C, you will learn about the dairy enterprise from internationally recognized dairy science professors who have delivered highly regarded dairy education programs within the United States and internationally. Course lectures are translated into Portuguese and Chinese; PDF files of these translations can be found under each course week. The Dairy MOOC team thanks Dr. Antonio Branco (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil) and Ms. Yuanyuan Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for translating the lecture materials. Course Sponsors This course was supported by the generous contributions of Innovation Center for US Dairy at Silver Level and Pancosma North America, RP Nutrients, Inc. and Arm and Hammer, which provided funding support at a Bronze Level. The Pennsylvania State University has final responsibility for the academic content of this course....

人気のレビュー

MF

2021年7月30日

Overall good but in health sections more diseases should be discussed with their treatment. Feed management should be simplified like how much forage, grain, feed needed for per 100 kg of weight etc.

AC

2020年11月14日

The course gave a clear and detailed view of all the compartments of the dairy industry with specific number and studies that give a clear message of the development and the cycle of the industry,

フィルター:

Dairy Production and Management: 26 - 50 / 358 レビュー

by Maria s

2021年1月10日

This was an excellent course. It was extremely well thought out and contained a wide range of material at an appropriate level, with some excellent extension resources. The professors were engaging and knowledgeable and the modules were well broken down and well timed. Nice work and thank you very much. Very inspiring.

by Muhammad B

2020年8月22日

It is great privilege for me to review for this course. During the situation of Covid, it is excellent opportunity for vetnerian, farmers and all stack holders linked with dairy industry. This course covered all aspects of dairy farming. I will highly recommend this course for all persons working with dairy sector

by Adiba A

2020年6月17日

The entire course was really amazing. It provides plenty of information about the dairy industry and management. The professors really taught well with proper understanding of each and every topic. This course has enhanced my practical knowledge regarding this industry which will surely help me in future.

by Syed M A R

2020年8月2日

It was really one of the best learning experience I ever had. Thanks to all of the experienced professors, I learnt a lot from you people. I hope to see you again.

I am also very thankful to Penn State University and Coursera Team for arranging such a great platform for learning.

Regards

by Misbah A C F

2021年7月31日

Overall good but in health sections more diseases should be discussed with their treatment. Feed management should be simplified like how much forage, grain, feed needed for per 100 kg of weight etc.

by Martin J E G F

2016年5月4日

Good course, teaches how are actually big dairy enterprises, in a country with unlimited resources, it`s not usefull in develeping countries, and doesn`t teach how to understand the way to start a business and the differences in small, medium, big and gigantic business in diary production. Aren`t there any small diary farm en USA ? It`s not feaseble to start a small diary business in USA? How different in costs and profit are diary in different countries?, How USA government helps diary business in USA? Thanks for your teaching and Sharing your experiences.

by Jessica P

2016年10月25日

Lots of information, but could be presented in a more learner-friendly manner. Not a lot of information for someone who wishes to learn about organic/holistic dairy management.

by Swati J

2021年10月19日

This was my first course with Coursera, and I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire course, along with the videos and the material. I wish it was a little longer. I recommend going through the reading material immediately after the video lesson and taking notes from both videos and pdf as it has helped me so much with the quiz at the end. I would like to thank everybody at PennState for creating this course :)

by Vladi S

2022年5月22日

This is really one and only MOOC on dairy that is quite comprehensive, well-structured, relevant to needs and necessities of the whole dairy industry. It helps you understand markets, management, farming, vatinary and biology of the herd full and wide. In case all that practical information was not enough you can find more working through abundance of relevant material in supplemental reading.

by Andrew K

2021年7月9日

Learned a lot. The perfect course. Well structured with clear lectures and good production quality. Wish I had passionate Professors like this when I was at College. Much thought has gone into making this course an exemplary example of what can be achieved with a MOOC. Knowledge is power and I am sure this course has empowered many. Thank you.

by DAVID A

2022年4月30日

This course is helpful for professionals in the dairy industry from developing nations like me. It provides information on how genetic selection was instrumental in improving dairy production in the United States. I also learnt about the technologies necessary for enhancing the genetic gains of dairy cattle.

by Waqas M

2022年5月3日

Content of this course is so strong and up to the modern world. This course will surely help me to achieve my goals with an optimisitic and professional apporach with the help of all the knowledge I have learned in this course. Thank you Penn State University for providing us with this opportunity !!

by Yusuf T

2019年1月17日

Dairy Production and Management course is a well-designed and prepared course. I highly recommend to professionals who want to learn comprehensive methods of modern dairy farming. Thank you so much for all the instructors for their great work on course content and teaching way.

by Peter J S

2020年8月27日

The Dairy Production and Management course provided me with an incredible opportunity to learn about dairy farming where I would not be able to learn outside a University or a dairy farm. Thank you to all of the instructors and Penn State University for providing the training.

by Eddy L

2016年5月5日

Excellent course.

It is a really good overview about Dairy Production and Management. It does not bore with too much detail. However provides enough additional material to work with and get as far into the subject as one wishes to.

Thank you so very much for this online course.

by Erik F

2016年11月26日

Excelente curso, con videos de alto nivel técnico e información actualizada, excelente todo el material en cada uno de los módulos, recomendados a aquellos les guste la producción lechera. Espero que sigan sacando cursos de este tipo. Recomendado a la comunidad de Coursera.

by KACEM N

2021年12月23日

Very interesting course, it's cover all the subjects related to dairy science, I fill my gap of knowledge in dairy breeding, pasture management, nutrition, diseases, economics and environmental management. Thanks to instructors and all staff contributing to this program.

by Utibe M O

2020年7月28日

Thank you Coursera for this opportunity. This course has really opened my eyes to many things I had little or no idea about. I can now speak boldly on the subject of dairy production and management. I am very excited that I enrolled for this course. Thank you!

by Johanna C

2016年5月2日

Very interesting course covered a number of different areas I was particularly keen on the sustainable and environmental issues. I don't have any farm animals but it still taught me a huge amount of what is involved in getting a pint of milk to ones doorstep

by Edwin J T

2020年7月9日

What a fantastic course. I have learned more to bring me up to date with modern practices.

The knowledge from the Professors on the course and how the course is structured and delivered has been excellent.

Well done for giving this opportunity within reach.

by Hussaini S M

2020年1月29日

Very interesting and educative course indeed. I have just started Dairy Farming and the course has given me a lot of insights and best practices in Dairy Management from Breed Selection to Nutrition, Reproduction / Farm Management practices and Economics.

by Lenin A

2020年7月24日

This is a wonderful course for beginners. Provides valuable knowledge to people like me who are looking into change of career. I thank the professors and all faculty members profoundly for imparting much needed knowledge in Dairy farming and management.

by Vanessa S D

2018年1月13日

I really liked the course, the very complete topics and the doctors who gave it with very useful information. The app works for me perfect because it reminds you of the dates and you can take it at the moment you have time no matter the place. Thank you.

by Jayaprakash T

2021年7月3日

I liked the detailed information and presentation about the different aspects of Dairy Farming.

Every module is presented in a very simple and detailed manner. Appreciate the efforts of everyone who have taught me through this course.

Dr. Jayaprakash TG

by Sara S O

2016年4月16日

It is an excellent course! Thanks to it I have learned lots of things I dind't know about dairy farms. Also about care, food and needs of cows. The videos are so great and professors make lessons easy and accessible to all levels. 100% recommended!!